FlightScope Mevo (original) vs FlightScope Mevo Gen2
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 is the current model; the original FlightScope Mevo is the value pick at $800 less.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
The original Mevo against today's Gen2 — what two generations of FlightScope's portable radar actually changed.
Buy the FlightScope Mevo if…
- You want to spend $800 less ($499 vs $1,299)
Buy the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 if…
- You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the FlightScope Mevo's game-improvement class)
- You want club head data at all — the FlightScope Mevo doesn't offer it
- You want more genuinely measured ball data (8 of 9 ball metrics measured vs 5)
- You play GSPro — the FlightScope Mevo doesn't support it
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | FlightScope Mevo $499 | FlightScope Mevo Gen2 $1,299 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $499 | $1,299 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors |
| Marked balls | Metallic stickers | RCT balls or stickers |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Simulator-grade |
| Data points per shot | 8 | 20 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Not reported | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Not reported | Measured |
| Carry distance | Measured | Measured |
| Total distance | Not reported | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Measured |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Offline distance | Not reported | Measured |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Club path | Not reported | Measured |
| Face angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Face to path | Not reported | Measured |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Measured |
| Impact location | Not reported | Measured |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Basics included; full set paid ($1,499) |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 4 | 7 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | — | 8 |
| Min room depth (ft) | — | 16 |
| Lefty / righty | — | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✕ No | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | Native |
| E6 Connect support | No | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | No | Native |
| TGC 2019 support | No | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | none | FlightScope FS Golf |
| Sim software | — | Creative Golf 3D |
| Included sim content | — | 8 E6 courses owned for life (iOS + PC): Kiawah Ocean, Torrey Pines South, Kapalua Plantation, Valderrama, Sea Island Seaside, Pelican Hill, Chateau Whistler, Latrobe CC. Optional 12-course E6 premium upgrade $250 one-time. GSPro, Awesome Golf and Creative Golf connect with no device-side usage fees (FlightScope 2026 comparison blog). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | None |
| Works without subscription | All 8 parameters, app data upload to MyFlightScope, and swing video with data overlay are free - no subscription exists for the original Mevo (Breaking Eighty review + reader comments, 2026-01). | All 20 base parameters, FS Golf app (iOS/Android/Windows), firmware updates and the lifetime 8-course E6 bundle are included with the hardware - 'no subscription required' (flightscope.com). Pro Package/FIL are one-time unlocks, not subscriptions. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Watch app | Apple Watch | Apple Watch |
| Built-in display | None | None |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | WiFi |
| Offline mode | — | ✓ Yes |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.45 | 1.1 |
| Dimensions (in) | 3.55 x 2.76 x 1.18 in | 6.9 x 1.2 x 5.6 in |
| Battery life (hours) | — | 6 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | — | USB-C |
| In the box | Mevo launch monitor, USB charging cable, carrying case, 50 metallic stickers | power supply, USB-C cable, carry case, quickstart guide, 100 aluminum stickers |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | — | 12 |
FlightScope Mevo (original) availability
Buy the FlightScope Mevo Gen2
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
FlightScope Mevo (original) vs FlightScope Mevo Gen2: FAQs
Which is newer: the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the FlightScope Mevo Gen2?
The FlightScope Mevo Gen2 is newer, released in 2025, versus 2017 for the FlightScope Mevo (original).
Which is cheaper: the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the FlightScope Mevo Gen2?
The FlightScope Mevo (original) costs $499 and the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 costs $1,299, making the FlightScope Mevo (original) $800 cheaper.
Does the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 need a subscription?
Neither — both the FlightScope Mevo (original) and the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
What is the main difference between the FlightScope Mevo (original) and the FlightScope Mevo Gen2?
Based on recorded specs, the FlightScope Mevo (original) leads on price ($800 cheaper) while the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 leads on accuracy tier (Simulator-grade accuracy class).