FlightScope Mevo (original) vs PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor is the better buy for most people at $299 less, unless you need game-improvement accuracy.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
FlightScope Mevo and PRGR HS-130A sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the FlightScope Mevo if…
- You want game-improvement accuracy (vs the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor's entry-level class)
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin outdoors but needs metallic stickers indoors, while the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor does not report spin
- You want more genuinely measured ball data (5 of 9 ball metrics measured vs 1)
Buy the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor if…
- You want to spend $299 less ($200 vs $499)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | FlightScope Mevo $499 | PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor $200 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $499 | $200 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors | Not reported |
| Marked balls | Metallic stickers | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Entry-level |
| Data points per shot | 8 | 5 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Launch direction | Not reported | Not reported |
| Spin rate | Measured | Not reported |
| Spin axis | Not reported | Not reported |
| Carry distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Total distance | Not reported | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Not reported |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Not reported | Not reported |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Club path | Not reported | Not reported |
| Face angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Face to path | Not reported | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Not available |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 4 | 3.5 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | — | 6.5 |
| Lefty / righty | — | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✕ No | ✕ No |
| GSPro support | No | No |
| E6 Connect support | No | No |
| Awesome Golf support | No | No |
| TGC 2019 support | No | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | none | none |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | None |
| Works without subscription | All 8 parameters, app data upload to MyFlightScope, and swing video with data overlay are free - no subscription exists for the original Mevo (Breaking Eighty review + reader comments, 2026-01). | Fully standalone forever: no app, no account, no connectivity, no subscription exists. All five metrics on the built-in LCD; 500-shot on-device memory; multi-sport speed modes. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | None recorded |
| Watch app | Apple Watch | None |
| Built-in display | None | LCD readout |
| Screen mirroring | — | None |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | None recorded |
| Offline mode | — | ✓ Yes |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.45 | 0.28 |
| Dimensions (in) | 3.55 x 2.76 x 1.18 in | 2.2 x 4.6 x 1.9 in (55 x 116 x 48 mm, excluding protrusions) |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | — |
| Alignment | — | Manual target line |
| In the box | Mevo launch monitor, USB charging cable, carrying case, 50 metallic stickers | PRGR HS-130A unit, user guide, 4x AAA batteries |
FlightScope Mevo (original) availability
Buy the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
FlightScope Mevo (original) vs PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A): FAQs
Which is newer: the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)?
The PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) is newer, released in 2021, versus 2017 for the FlightScope Mevo (original).
Which is cheaper: the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)?
The FlightScope Mevo (original) costs $499 and the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) costs $200, making the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) $299 cheaper.
Does the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) need a subscription?
Neither — both the FlightScope Mevo (original) and the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)?
The FlightScope Mevo (original) has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The FlightScope Mevo (original) measures spin by radar outdoors with full ball flight; indoors it needs Metallic stickers for measured spin. The PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) does not report spin, per its recorded specifications.
What is the main difference between the FlightScope Mevo (original) and the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)?
Based on recorded specs, the FlightScope Mevo (original) leads on accuracy tier (Game-improvement accuracy class) while the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) leads on price ($299 cheaper).