Skip to content

Phone Launch Monitor Apps: What They Can and Can't Measure

By Patrick Kavanagh ·

Part of: Golf Launch Monitors — The Complete Guide

A golf launch monitor app can genuinely measure two or three things with your phone’s camera — ball speed, launch angle, and launch direction in the first frames after impact — and everything else it shows you is calculated from those. That includes carry distance, total distance, and usually spin. The honest way to shop this category is to know which numbers are measurements and which are estimates, because app marketing rarely tells you.

That framework is the same one we apply to hardware across our launch monitor guide: every device measures a few primary values and models the rest. A phone just measures fewer of them, less reliably, than dedicated radar or cameras. Here’s what the current apps actually do, what they cost, and where the physics stops them.

What a phone camera can physically measure

A launch monitor app works by pointing your phone’s camera at the ball, usually from a small tripod, and analyzing the frames around impact. Golfboy’s App Store listing says all you need is “your iPhone and a tripod. No dedicated sensors required,” with measurement “powered by an integrated AI model.” ShotVision’s listing describes a vision pipeline that captures frame-by-frame video of your shot at impact.

The arithmetic sets the ceiling. Apple’s camera specs list slo-mo capture at up to 240 frames per second. A driver leaving the face at 150 mph covers about 220 feet per second — roughly 11 inches of travel between consecutive frames at 240 fps. That’s enough to track the ball’s position across several frames and derive speed and launch angles. It is nowhere near enough to resolve the ball’s rotation, which is why spin is the first casualty:

  • Measurable from phone frames: ball speed, vertical launch angle, horizontal launch direction, and (when the club stays in frame) an approximation of club speed.
  • Calculated or estimated: spin rate, spin axis, carry distance, total distance, apex, and smash factor. One Golfboy reviewer on the App Store puts it plainly: “it doesn’t show spin-rate because it’s only using a camera.”

For context, dedicated hardware that measures spin directly does it with purpose-built sensors: the Rapsodo MLM2PRO reads spin optically — but only off dimple-marked RCT balls, per Rapsodo’s own spec — and premium photometric units shoot at frame rates far beyond any phone. Our radar vs camera breakdown covers why the measurement method changes which numbers you can trust.

Why does measured vs calculated matter? Because distance is downstream of spin. If an app estimates your spin rate from ball speed and launch angle alone, its carry number is a model output, not an observation. Two shots with identical speed and launch but 1,000 rpm of spin difference carry very differently, and a camera-only app can’t see that difference.

The apps worth knowing in 2026

AppPlatformMethod (vendor’s description)Price (store listing)
GolfboyiPhone (iOS 15.6+)Camera + integrated AI model, phone on tripodFree tier; Premium $9.99/mo or $89.99/yr
ShotVisioniPhone 11+ (iOS 18+)Camera vision pipeline, frame-by-frame at impact30 free shots; annual tiers $49.99–$89.99, lifetime $149.99
GolfTrakiPhoneRear-camera ball trackingFree tier of 5 full-metric shots/day, per its site
Blast VisioniOSMobile camera ball-flight captureTwo-week trial, then paid, per Blast Motion

Golfboy (by Qoncept, a Japanese developer) is the most credible camera-only option right now. Its listing claims measurement of distance, ball speed, launch angle, and club speed, plus a putting mode that reads distance, launch direction, and face angle. A hands-on FOGOLF review found carry distance, club speed, and ball speed within roughly five yards of reference devices — usable for a club golfer watching trends. The listing itself is upfront about limits: lighting and poor contrast between ball and background “may prevent measurements,” and it advises checking performance in your own practice environment during the trial.

ShotVision claims ball speed, club speed, carry, total, launch angle, and spin rate. The caveat is consistency: MyGolfSpy’s review found that in poor lighting, metrics ran 30 to 50 percent off against a Foresight GCQuad, with outdoor daylight use markedly better. Its App Store rating sits at 3.5 stars across roughly 1,300 ratings, with reviewers splitting along exactly that line — works well outdoors, struggles indoors.

Note what’s missing from the table: Android. Golfboy does not appear on Google Play — a store search returns no listing — and MyGolfSpy flagged uncertainty about which Android phones ShotVision supports. If you’re on Android, the camera-only category is effectively empty right now, and the apps you’ll find from major brands are companions that need hardware.

The Garmin and Rapsodo apps need their hardware

A large share of searches for launch monitor apps land on the Garmin Golf and Rapsodo apps, and it’s worth being direct: neither functions as a launch monitor on its own.

The Garmin Golf app is free and does real things without hardware — manual scoring, weekly tournaments across more than 40,000 courses, and round stats, per its App Store listing. But all 16 launch monitor data parameters (ball speed, club speed, launch angle, club path, attack angle, and so on) require a device like the Garmin Approach R10, and the paid Home Tee Hero simulation also requires compatible hardware.

The Rapsodo MLM app is a companion by design: Rapsodo’s product page describes the original MLM as combining Doppler radar with your phone’s camera, so the app’s radar metrics, shot tracing, and Combine assessment are all tied to the MLM hardware. The same goes for FlightScope’s and Trackman’s apps.

That’s not a knock — it’s the business model. The phone contributes the screen and the camera; the measurement happens in the radar.

Phone app vs. entry-level hardware: the measured-vs-calculated gap

Here’s the comparison that matters, built from the capability fields in our product spec database and the vendors’ own documentation:

MetricCamera-only appPRGR HS-130A (~$200)Garmin R10 (~$500)Rapsodo MLM2PRO (~$600)
Ball speedMeasured (frames)Measured (radar)Measured (radar)Measured (radar)
Launch angleMeasuredNot reportedMeasuredMeasured
Spin rateEstimatedNot reportedCalculatedMeasured (RCT ball)
Carry distanceCalculatedCalculatedCalculatedCalculated
Club speedApproximatedMeasuredMeasuredMeasured
Club path / attack angleNoNoCalculatedMeasured

Two things jump out. First, even dedicated radar calculates plenty: the R10 is a single Doppler radar whose spin and club path figures are derived, per Garmin’s published specs, which is why our spec database logs it at three measured ball metrics and one measured club metric. Carry distance is a calculated number on every consumer device in this table. Second, the step from app to hardware buys you measurement where it counts — radar-read ball speed and club speed that don’t collapse indoors or in flat evening light.

On cost: across our tracked price snapshots since September 21, the Rapsodo MLM1 has held at $199.99 at the Rapsodo store, the Garmin Approach R10 at $499.99, and the MLM2PRO at $599.99 — all three unchanged across every snapshot. Against Golfboy’s $89.99-a-year premium plan, the original MLM costs about two years of app subscription and replaces frame analysis with actual radar.

Minimum phone requirements

The app vendors are specific here, and it’s worth checking before you pay:

  • ShotVision: iPhone 11 or newer, iOS 18 or later; iPads are explicitly not supported, per its App Store listing.
  • Golfboy: iOS 15.6 or later, with swing analysis supported on iPhone 11 and later or iPhone SE (2nd generation) and later. Measurable distance “varies by iPhone camera, shooting mode, tripod height, and other conditions,” per the listing.
  • Both effectively require a tripod, decent light, and contrast between ball and background. Golfboy’s own listing warns measurements can fail without them.

The pattern: newer iPhones with better slo-mo cameras produce better results, and MyGolfSpy’s ShotVision testing echoed exactly that.

Who a launch monitor app is actually for

An app makes sense if you want ball speed and launch trends at the range for under $100 a year, you’re on a recent iPhone, you practice outdoors in daylight, and you’ll read the numbers as relative — is my 7-iron speed up this month? — rather than absolute.

Skip the app and start at dedicated hardware if any of these apply: you practice indoors or into a net (lighting kills camera apps, and short flight gives them little to track), you want spin or club path data that’s measured rather than modeled, you’re on Android, or you plan to gap your clubs off the numbers. Our launch monitor hub ranks the hardware options by budget, and the radar vs camera guide explains which technology measures which metric before you spend anything.

The one-sentence version: a phone app is a real, cheap way to measure ball speed and launch angle outdoors — and everything else on its screen is an educated guess.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a truly free golf launch monitor app?

Free tiers exist, but full metrics are paid. ShotVision's App Store listing offers 30 free shots before requiring a subscription (annual options listed between $49.99 and $89.99), and Golfboy's free tier covers trial swing analysis and some game modes, with its Premium plan listed at $9.99 a month or $89.99 a year.

Is there a camera-based launch monitor app for Android?

As of this writing, not really. Golfboy appears only on Apple's App Store — a Google Play search returns no listing — and MyGolfSpy's ShotVision review flagged uncertainty about Android camera support. Android apps from Garmin, Rapsodo, FlightScope, and Trackman are companion apps that require their hardware.

Does the Garmin Golf app work as a launch monitor without the R10?

No. The Garmin Golf app is free and offers scoring, tournaments, and round stats without hardware, but its App Store listing gates all 16 launch monitor data parameters, and Home Tee Hero simulation, behind a compatible device like the Approach R10.

Is a phone app accurate enough to gap my clubs?

Treat app numbers as relative, not absolute. A hands-on FOGOLF test found Golfboy's carry, ball speed, and club speed within roughly five yards of reference devices in good conditions, while MyGolfSpy found ShotVision off by 30 to 50 percent against a Foresight GCQuad in poor lighting. For gapping you can act on, dedicated radar from around $200 is the floor.