Skip to content

Garmin Approach R10 vs Rapsodo MLM (original)

Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing

Specs updated

The Rapsodo MLM (original) compared here is the original — the Rapsodo MLM2PRO has succeeded it.

Which should you buy?

Bottom line: the Rapsodo MLM is the better buy for most people at $300 less, unless you need included club data.

Rapsodo MLM at Amazon· $200 Prefer the Garmin Approach R10? Where to buy ↓

We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

The two cheapest ways into brand-name ball data; R10's radar against MLM's phone camera.

Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…

  • You want club head data at all — the Rapsodo MLM doesn't offer it
  • You play GSPro — the Rapsodo MLM doesn't support it
  • You want more sim software choices (4 of the 5 major titles vs 0)

Buy the Rapsodo MLM if…

  • You want to spend $300 less ($200 vs $500)
  • You want trustworthy spin — it only reads spin with Titleist RCT balls, while the Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from other data

Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Specs Comparison

Specification Garmin Approach R10 $500 Rapsodo MLM $200
Price
Price $500 $200
Measurement
Tracking technology Doppler radar Radar + camera fusion
Radar type Single Doppler Single Doppler
Spin measurement Estimated Marked balls only
Marked balls Titleist RCT balls Titleist RCT balls
Accuracy tier Game-improvement
Data points per shot 14 10
Ball data
Ball speed Measured Measured
Launch angle Measured Measured
Launch direction Measured Measured
Spin rate Calculated Measured (marked ball)
Spin axis Calculated Not reported
Carry distance Calculated Calculated
Total distance Calculated Calculated
Apex height Calculated Calculated
Descent angle Calculated Not reported
Offline distance Calculated Calculated
Club data
Club speed Measured Measured
Attack angle Calculated Not reported
Club path Calculated Not reported
Face angle Calculated Not reported
Face to path Not reported
Dynamic loft Not reported
Impact location Not reported Not reported
Smash factor Calculated Calculated
Club data unlock Included Not available
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor Indoor + outdoor
Placement Behind the ball Behind the ball
Setback (ft) 6 6
Min ball flight (ft) 8 8
Lefty / righty No repositioning
Installation None (portable) None (portable)
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes ✕ No
GSPro support Supported No
E6 Connect support Native No
Awesome Golf support Supported No
TGC 2019 support Supported No
FSX Play support No No
First-party software Garmin Home Tee Hero Rapsodo Virtual Range (in-app 3D shot visualization; practice only, no course play)
Sim software Creative Golf 3D
Included sim content Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect
Subscription
Subscription (per year) $100/yr $100/yr
Works without subscription All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. Core metrics, swing replay with shot trace and storage of the last 100 swings work free (Plugged In Golf; rapsodo.com). 'MLM1 Premium Membership: $99.99/Year' adds 10,000-video cloud storage, unlimited shot storage, Shot Trace + Apex, slow-motion playback, Rapsodo Combine, Insights, R-Cloud and R-Speed. MLM1 and MLM2PRO memberships are separate, non-cross-compatible platforms (rapsodo.com membership blog).
Subscription trial Premium Trial included with purchase (length not stated on the MLM1 page)
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android iOS
Watch app Garmin watch
Built-in display None None
Screen mirroring Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast)
Connectivity Bluetooth
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 0.33
Dimensions (in) 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0
Battery life (hours) 10
Power source Rechargeable battery Rechargeable battery
Charging port Micro-USB
Alignment App-guided
In the box Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable MLM1 device, protective case, USB charging cable, quick start guide

Buy the Garmin Approach R10

Buy the Rapsodo MLM (original)

Keep shopping

Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.

Garmin Approach R10 vs Rapsodo MLM (original): FAQs

Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Rapsodo MLM (original)?

The Garmin Approach R10 is newer, released in 2021, versus 2019 for the Rapsodo MLM (original).

Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Rapsodo MLM (original)?

The Garmin Approach R10 costs $500 and the Rapsodo MLM (original) costs $200, making the Rapsodo MLM (original) $300 cheaper.

Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the Rapsodo MLM (original) need a subscription?

Neither — both the Garmin Approach R10 and the Rapsodo MLM (original) work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.

Which measures spin better: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Rapsodo MLM (original)?

The Rapsodo MLM (original) has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from its other measured parameters rather than measuring it directly. The Rapsodo MLM (original) only reads measured spin with Titleist RCT balls.

What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the Rapsodo MLM (original)?

Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on club data access (Club data included) while the Rapsodo MLM (original) leads on price ($300 cheaper).