Skip to content

Garmin Approach R10 vs Garmin Approach R50

Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing

Specs updated

Which should you buy?

Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R10 is the better buy for most people at $4,000 less, unless you need camera-measured spin on any ball.

Garmin Approach R10 at Amazon· $486 Prefer the Garmin Approach R50? Where to buy ↓

We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

Garmin's portable radar against its all-in-one flagship — the most-asked in-brand upgrade question in the lineup.

Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…

  • You want to spend $4,000 less ($500 vs $4,500)
  • You need longer battery life (10 hours vs 4)
  • You want the lighter carry (0.33 lb vs 9 lb)

Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…

  • You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from other data
  • You want real measured club data (4 of 5 club metrics measured vs 1)
  • You want readings without a phone — it has a built-in touchscreen

Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Specs Comparison

Specification Garmin Approach R10 $500 Garmin Approach R50 $4,500
Price
Price $500 $4,500
Measurement
Tracking technology Doppler radar Photometric (camera)
Radar type Single Doppler None
Spin measurement Estimated Optical (any ball)
Marked balls Titleist RCT balls Not required
Accuracy tier Game-improvement Game-improvement
Data points per shot 14 16
Ball data
Ball speed Measured Measured
Launch angle Measured Measured
Launch direction Measured Measured
Spin rate Calculated Measured
Spin axis Calculated Measured
Carry distance Calculated Calculated
Total distance Calculated Calculated
Apex height Calculated Calculated
Descent angle Calculated Not reported
Offline distance Calculated Calculated
Club data
Club speed Measured Measured
Attack angle Calculated Measured
Club path Calculated Measured
Face angle Calculated Measured
Face to path Calculated
Dynamic loft Not reported
Impact location Not reported Not reported
Smash factor Calculated Calculated
Club data unlock Included Included
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor Indoor + outdoor
Placement Behind the ball Beside the ball
Setback (ft) 6
Min ball flight (ft) 8 10
Lefty / righty No repositioning
Installation None (portable) None (portable)
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes ✓ Yes
GSPro support Supported Supported
E6 Connect support Native Supported
Awesome Golf support Supported Supported
TGC 2019 support Supported No
FSX Play support No No
First-party software Garmin Home Tee Hero Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required)
Sim software Creative Golf 3D [object Object]
Included sim content Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required).
Subscription
Subscription (per year) $100/yr $100/yr
Works without subscription All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics.
Subscription trial 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf)
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android iOS, Android
Watch app Garmin watch
Built-in display None Color touchscreen
Screen mirroring Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) HDMI out
Connectivity Bluetooth WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 0.33 9
Dimensions (in) 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D)
Battery life (hours) 10 4
Power source Rechargeable battery Battery or mains
Charging port Micro-USB
Alignment App-guided
In the box Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter
Warranty
Warranty (months) 12

Buy the Garmin Approach R10

Buy the Garmin Approach R50

Keep shopping

Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.

Garmin Approach R10 vs Garmin Approach R50: FAQs

Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Garmin Approach R50?

The Garmin Approach R50 is newer, released in 2024, versus 2021 for the Garmin Approach R10.

Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Garmin Approach R50?

The Garmin Approach R10 costs $500 and the Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500, making the Garmin Approach R10 $4,000 cheaper.

Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the Garmin Approach R50 need a subscription?

Neither — both the Garmin Approach R10 and the Garmin Approach R50 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.

Which measures spin better: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Garmin Approach R50?

The Garmin Approach R50 has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from its other measured parameters rather than measuring it directly. The Garmin Approach R50 measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.

What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the Garmin Approach R50?

Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on price ($4,000 cheaper) while the Garmin Approach R50 leads on spin measurement (Camera-measured spin on any ball).