Skip to content

Garmin Approach R10 vs SkyTrak (original)

Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing

Specs updated

The SkyTrak (original) compared here is the original — the SkyTrak+ has succeeded it.

Which should you buy?

Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R10 is the better buy for most people, unless you need simulator-grade accuracy.

Garmin Approach R10 at Amazon· $486 Prefer the SkyTrak? Where to buy ↓

We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

Budget radar versus the photometric unit that defined home simulators; a frequent first-simulator decision.

Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…

  • You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the SkyTrak needs a subscription for full features
  • You want club head data at all — the SkyTrak doesn't offer it
  • You play GSPro — the SkyTrak doesn't support it
  • You want more sim software choices (4 of the 5 major titles vs 0)

Buy the SkyTrak if…

  • You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R10's game-improvement class)
  • You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from other data

Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Specs Comparison

Specification Garmin Approach R10 $500 SkyTrak
Price
Price $500
Measurement
Tracking technology Doppler radar Photometric (camera)
Radar type Single Doppler None
Spin measurement Estimated Optical (any ball)
Marked balls Titleist RCT balls Not required
Accuracy tier Game-improvement Simulator-grade
Data points per shot 14
Ball data
Ball speed Measured Measured
Launch angle Measured Measured
Launch direction Measured Measured
Spin rate Calculated Measured
Spin axis Calculated Measured
Carry distance Calculated Calculated
Total distance Calculated Calculated
Apex height Calculated Calculated
Descent angle Calculated Calculated
Offline distance Calculated Calculated
Club data
Club speed Measured Calculated
Attack angle Calculated Not reported
Club path Calculated Not reported
Face angle Calculated Not reported
Face to path Not reported
Dynamic loft Not reported
Impact location Not reported Not reported
Smash factor Calculated Calculated
Club data unlock Included Not available
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor Indoor + outdoor
Placement Behind the ball Beside the ball
Setback (ft) 6
Min ball flight (ft) 8
Lefty / righty No repositioning Repositioning required
Installation None (portable) None (portable)
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes ✓ Yes
GSPro support Supported No
E6 Connect support Native Dropped (legacy users only)
Awesome Golf support Supported
TGC 2019 support Supported Dropped (legacy users only)
FSX Play support No No
First-party software Garmin Home Tee Hero SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages)
Sim software Creative Golf 3D
Included sim content Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified.
Subscription
Subscription (per year) $100/yr From $100/yr
Works without subscription All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator).
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android iOS, Windows
Watch app Garmin watch
Built-in display None
Screen mirroring Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast)
Connectivity Bluetooth WiFi
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 0.33
Dimensions (in) 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0
Battery life (hours) 10 5
Power source Rechargeable battery Rechargeable battery
Charging port Micro-USB
Alignment App-guided
In the box Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable
Warranty
Warranty (months) 6

Buy the Garmin Approach R10

SkyTrak (original) availability

Keep shopping

Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.

Garmin Approach R10 vs SkyTrak (original): FAQs

Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R10 or the SkyTrak (original)?

The Garmin Approach R10 is newer, released in 2021, versus 2014 for the SkyTrak (original).

Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the SkyTrak (original) need a subscription?

The SkyTrak (original) needs a subscription for full function, while the Garmin Approach R10 works fully without one.

Which measures spin better: the Garmin Approach R10 or the SkyTrak (original)?

The SkyTrak (original) has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from its other measured parameters rather than measuring it directly. The SkyTrak (original) measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.

What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the SkyTrak (original)?

Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on subscription (No subscription needed for full function) while the SkyTrak (original) leads on accuracy tier (Simulator-grade accuracy class).