At a glance
- Tracking tech
- Photometric (camera)
- Accuracy tier
- Simulator-grade
- Spin measurement
- Optical (any ball)
- Subscription
- From $100/yr
- Battery
- 5 hr
- Optically measured ball speed, launch and spin on any ball, with SkyGolf-published tolerances
- MyGolfSimulator's verdict on its long run: 'worth every penny'
- Discontinued and two generations behind - remaining marketplace stock is clearance of unverifiable condition
- No measured club data at all: club speed and smash factor are modeled from ball data
SkyTrak
SkyTrak
Price not announced
See current alternatives- Tracking tech
- Photometric (camera)
- Accuracy tier
- Simulator-grade
- Subscription
- From $100/yr
The original SkyTrak created the affordable home-simulator category: a side-of-ball photometric unit that optically measured ball speed, launch and spin on any ball, with tolerances SkyGolf published, at a price homes could justify. It measured no club data - club speed was modeled from ball speed - and its once-broad third-party sim lineup was withdrawn for new connections over the years. SkyTrak has since discontinued it in favor of the SkyTrak+, and remaining marketplace stock is clearance of unverifiable condition, so treat it as the category's history rather than a current buy.
Succeeded by SkyTrak+ — a newer model is available.
Pros & cons
Pros
- Optically measured ball speed, launch and spin on any ball, with SkyGolf-published tolerances
- MyGolfSimulator's verdict on its long run: 'worth every penny'
- Side placement, battery power and outdoor use suited tight rooms and range trips
- No marked balls, stickers or calibration consumables
Cons
- Discontinued and two generations behind - remaining marketplace stock is clearance of unverifiable condition
- No measured club data at all: club speed and smash factor are modeled from ball data
- Third-party sim support (TGC 2019, E6 Connect) was withdrawn for new connections, and GSPro was never supported
- Reviewers noted a roughly two-second wait between shots and weak short-chip coverage
- Course play and game-improvement features require a paid SkyTrak plan (from $99.99/yr)
Full specifications
| Measurement | |
|---|---|
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade |
| Not published: Camera frame rate, Data points per shot | |
| Ball data | |
| Ball speed | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated |
| Club data | |
| Club speed | Calculated |
| Attack angle | Not reported |
| Club path | Not reported |
| Face angle | Not reported |
| Face to path | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available |
| Space & environment | |
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) |
| Not published: Setback, Min ball flight, Min room depth, Min room width, Ceiling height, Hitting zone | |
| Sim software | |
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No |
| E6 Connect support | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| TGC 2019 support | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| FSX Play support | No |
| First-party software | SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages) |
| Included sim content | Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified. |
| Not published: Awesome Golf support, Sim software | |
| Subscription | |
| Subscription (per year) | From $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator). |
| Not published: Subscription trial | |
| Connectivity & apps | |
| Apps | iOS, Windows |
| Connectivity | WiFi |
| Not published: Watch app, Built-in display, Screen mirroring, Offline mode | |
| Physical & power | |
| Battery life (hours) | 5 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery |
| Not published: Weight, Dimensions, Removable battery, Charging port, Alignment, In the box | |
| Warranty | |
| Warranty (months) | 6 |
Availability
SkyTrak specs: quick answers
- What kind of launch monitor is the SkyTrak (original)?
- The SkyTrak (original) is a photometric (camera) launch monitor by SkyTrak.
- Does the SkyTrak (original) need a subscription?
- For full features, yes — the SkyTrak (original)'s headline features need a subscription.
- How accurate is the SkyTrak (original)?
- Across cited third-party reviews, the SkyTrak (original) sits in the simulator-grade accuracy class.
- Does the SkyTrak (original) measure spin?
- The SkyTrak (original) measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
- What does the SkyTrak (original) actually measure?
- By its recorded per-metric capabilities, the SkyTrak (original) genuinely measures 5 of the 9 canonical ball metrics and 0 of the 5 club metrics; the rest are calculated or not reported. The full measured-vs-calculated breakdown is in the spec table.
- How long does the SkyTrak (original)'s battery last?
- The SkyTrak (original) is rated for about 5 hours of battery life.
SkyTrak: FAQs
Does the SkyTrak (original) need a subscription?
Partly — the SkyTrak (original)'s core readings work without one, but its headline features need a subscription. Without paying: Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator)..
How does the SkyTrak (original) measure spin?
The SkyTrak (original) measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
What golf simulator software works with the SkyTrak (original)?
It also runs SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages), the vendor's own software. Support levels (including any vendor subscription needed to connect) are in the spec table on this page.
How long does the battery last on the SkyTrak (original)?
The SkyTrak (original) has a claimed battery life of 5 hours.
Can you use the SkyTrak (original) indoors and outdoors?
Yes — the SkyTrak (original) is rated for both indoor and outdoor use.
Related Comparisons
SkyTrak (original) vs SkyTrak+
SkyTrak
SkyTrak (original) vs Garmin Approach R10
SkyTrak vs Garmin
SkyTrak (original) vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO
SkyTrak vs Rapsodo
SkyTrak (original) vs Trackman 4
SkyTrak vs Trackman
SkyTrak (original) vs SkyTrak ST MAX
SkyTrak
SkyTrak (original) vs Garmin Approach R50
SkyTrak vs Garmin
SkyTrak (original) vs FlightScope Mevo+
SkyTrak vs FlightScope
SkyTrak (original) vs Square Golf Launch Monitor
SkyTrak vs Square Golf
SkyTrak (original) vs FlightScope Mevo (original)
SkyTrak vs FlightScope
SkyTrak (original) vs Bushnell Launch Pro
SkyTrak vs Bushnell
SkyTrak (original) vs Foresight Sports GC3
SkyTrak vs Foresight Sports
SkyTrak (original) vs Uneekor EYE MINI LITE
SkyTrak vs Uneekor
SkyTrak (original) vs Square Golf Omni
SkyTrak vs Square Golf