SkyTrak (original) vs Square Golf Launch Monitor
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The SkyTrak (original) compared here is the original — the SkyTrak+ has succeeded it.
The Square Golf Launch Monitor compared here is the original — the Square Golf Omni has succeeded it.
SkyTrak (original)
SkyTrak
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Square Golf Launch Monitor is the better buy for most people, unless you need simulator-grade accuracy.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
SkyTrak (original) and Square Golf Launch Monitor sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the SkyTrak if…
- You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Square Golf Launch Monitor's game-improvement class)
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads spin with marked balls
- You also want to use it outdoors at the range (the Square Golf Launch Monitor is indoor-only)
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor if…
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the SkyTrak needs a subscription for full features
- You want club head data at all — the SkyTrak doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro — the SkyTrak doesn't support it
- You want more sim software choices (3 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | SkyTrak | Square Golf Launch Monitor $699 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | — | $699 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | None | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Marked balls only |
| Marked balls | Not required | — |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Game-improvement |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | — |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Calculated | Not reported |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Club path | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face angle | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face to path | Not reported | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor only |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Hitting zone | — | 5.9 x 5.9 in (15 x 15 cm) |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | Native |
| E6 Connect support | Dropped (legacy users only) | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | — | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | Dropped (legacy users only) | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages) | Square Golf app (credit-based course play, free range) |
| Included sim content | Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified. | Square Golf app with 1,000 welcome credits (~55+ solo rounds; 1 credit per hole per golfer, refills from ~$0.02/credit, under $1/round) and free driving range, closest-to-pin, putting practice and game modes. Course count claims differ: PlayBetter's product page lists '10 ultra-realistic courses with 10 more coming soon' while Golfible (2025-11) counts 16 courses, all fictional. GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect via free official plug-ins with no device-side fee (titles sold separately). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | From $100/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator). | No subscription exists: full ball/club data, driving range and third-party sim plug-ins (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf) are free with the device. First-party course play uses one-time consumable credits instead of a subscription - 1,000 included, ~55+ solo rounds, refills under $1 per round. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Windows | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Built-in display | — | None |
| Connectivity | WiFi | Bluetooth |
| Physical & power | ||
| Dimensions (in) | — | 7.5 x 2.8 x 2.8 in (19 x 7 x 7 cm) |
| Battery life (hours) | 5 | 8 |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Alignment | — | App-guided |
| In the box | — | Square Golf launch monitor, swing stick (70 cm), 3 dotted marking balls, club shaft marking stickers (20), remote control with li-ion battery, removable li-ion battery |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 6 | 24 |
SkyTrak (original) availability
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
SkyTrak (original) vs Square Golf Launch Monitor: FAQs
Which is newer: the SkyTrak (original) or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor is newer, released in 2024, versus 2014 for the SkyTrak (original).
Does the SkyTrak (original) or the Square Golf Launch Monitor need a subscription?
The SkyTrak (original) needs a subscription for full function, while the Square Golf Launch Monitor works fully without one.
Which measures spin better: the SkyTrak (original) or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The SkyTrak (original) has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The SkyTrak (original) measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball. The Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads measured spin with marked balls.
What is the main difference between the SkyTrak (original) and the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
Based on recorded specs, the SkyTrak (original) leads on accuracy tier (Simulator-grade accuracy class) while the Square Golf Launch Monitor leads on subscription (No subscription needed for full function).