Skip to content
Portable

Square Golf Launch Monitor

Square Golf

8.1/10 Read the full review

$699

Buy at PlayBetter
Tracking tech
Photometric (camera)
Accuracy tier
Game-improvement
Subscription
None
The Square Golf Launch Monitor earns its consensus as the value disruptor of the category: real camera-based measurement, spin read at impact with the included marking balls, native GSPro and E6 connections through free plug-ins, and no subscription anywhere in the ownership math. The trade-offs are equally concrete - indoor only, no clubhead speed or smash factor, consumable stickers and marked balls behind its headline data, and a physical shuffle to swap between left- and right-handers. For a small-room sim build on a budget it is the obvious shortlist entry. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.

The Square Golf Launch Monitor brings camera-based tracking to the consumer price class: two photometric cameras watch the ball from beside the hitting zone and measure spin at impact off the included dotted marking balls instead of estimating it from radar returns. Side placement means it needs almost no depth behind the golfer, which suits small indoor rooms, and GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf all connect through official plug-ins with no device-side subscription. The trade-offs are real: it is indoor-only, it reports no clubhead speed or smash factor, its headline data leans on marking balls and club stickers, and switching between right- and left-handers means physically moving the unit.

Succeeded by Square Golf Omni — a newer model is available.

Our review

By GolfSim Compare Team ·

8.1/10

The Square Golf Launch Monitor earns its consensus as the value disruptor of the category: real camera-based measurement, spin read at impact with the included marking balls, native GSPro and E6 connections through free plug-ins, and no subscription anywhere in the ownership math. The trade-offs are equally concrete - indoor only, no clubhead speed or smash factor, consumable stickers and marked balls behind its headline data, and a physical shuffle to swap between left- and right-handers. For a small-room sim build on a budget it is the obvious shortlist entry. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.

Accuracy
8/10
Ease of use
7.5/10
Sim experience
8.5/10
Value for money
8.8/10
Build quality
7.5/10
App quality
7.5/10

At $699, the Square Golf Launch Monitor is the only camera-based (photometric) unit in its price bracket, and the aggregated coverage treats it as exactly the disruption that sounds like. Two cameras watch the ball from the side, spin is measured at impact with the included dotted marking balls, and the sim connections that cost hundreds per year elsewhere are free plug-ins here. The record’s three-year cost of ownership is $699 - the same as the sticker, because there is no subscription at all.

GolfSimCompare has not performed hands-on testing of this device. This review aggregates the cited professional coverage, the manufacturer’s published specifications, and owner feedback from the linked communities. Every observation below is attributed to its source, and the category scores are an editorial aggregate of that cited coverage, not GolfSimCompare measurements.

Accuracy: 8.0/10

The consensus from the cited coverage is positive with clear edges. Golfible’s review, updated November 2025, called it the “Best Launch Monitor Under $1k” and reported that it “delivers more than we expected for under $1,000.” Retailer PlayBetter - the primary US sales channel for the unit, so read this as a seller’s account - published a comparison against a $19,999 GCHawk in which backspin varied by only a couple hundred rpm and ball speeds were often identical.

The verified limits matter just as much. The record lists no clubhead speed and no smash factor at all. Spin rate, spin axis, club path, face angle, attack angle and dynamic loft are measured only with markings: dotted balls for spin (three in the box; TaylorMade TP5 Pix also work) and shaft stickers for club data (20 included). PlayBetter’s own review flags dynamic loft as unreliable, and the two cited outlets disagree on missed-read frequency - roughly 1 in 12 shots per PlayBetter against roughly 1 in 30 per Golfible.

Sim Experience: 8.5/10

This is the headline. GSPro’s supported-devices page lists “Square (Home)” natively, E6 Connect is native, and Awesome Golf is supported via its official compatibility list - all through free official plug-ins with no device-side fee, per the product record. First-party course play runs on consumable credits instead of a membership: 1,000 welcome credits (about 55+ solo rounds at 1 credit per hole per golfer) with refills working out to under $1 per round. The cited sources disagree on the first-party course count - retailer PlayBetter’s page lists 10 courses with more promised, while Golfible counts 16, all fictional - so treat the app as a bonus rather than the reason to buy.

Ease of Use: 7.5/10

Side-of-ball placement is the practical win: no radar setback, no minimum ball-flight distance, so the unit fits rooms that radar devices simply cannot. Alignment is app-guided. The friction points are equally consistent across the coverage: left- and right-handed players must physically move the unit to switch sides, spin needs the marked balls in play, and club data needs stickers on the shaft.

App, Build and Practicalities: 7.5/10

The app runs on iOS, Android and Windows, and the unit connects over Bluetooth. The battery is removable and rated for 8 hours, with a spare-friendly design and a remote control in the box - useful details for a permanent hitting bay. Build cautions come straight from the record: it is indoor-only, and direct sunlight can damage the cameras. The warranty runs 24 months. Note the retail path: new units sell direct or through retailer PlayBetter; Amazon carries only a pre-owned listing, which is why no new-unit Amazon link appears here.

Value at $699

$699 is not just the entry price - it is the whole recorded three-year cost, because nothing about the device sits behind a subscription. Full ball and club data, the driving range and the third-party plug-ins are all free with the hardware. The recurring costs that do exist are consumables: marking balls and sticker sheets. In a category whose defining gotcha is sticker price versus real cost, that profile is why the value score leads this review.

One timing note: the record lists a successor, the Square Golf Omni, currently available for preorder. This review covers the shipping home unit only.

Who Should Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor

Small-room indoor sim builders who want measured spin and free GSPro or E6 connectivity with no subscription in the ownership math, plus putting practice that the cited coverage calls genuinely usable.

Who Should Skip It

Anyone who needs clubhead speed or smash factor (they are absent), anyone who practices outdoors, and households mixing left- and right-handed players who will tire of repositioning the unit every switch. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.

How This Review Was Compiled

This review aggregates the named coverage above (Golfible as independent editorial; PlayBetter as a retailer account, labeled as such because it both sells the unit and is an affiliate partner of this site), the manufacturer’s published specifications, and the audited product record in our database. Retailer claims are used for pricing, availability and spec confirmation, and any performance claim from a seller is flagged in the sentence that quotes it. The category scores are an editorial aggregate of that cited coverage, not measurements.

Sources

What other reviewers say

Scores from other outlets, as published — not our rating.

SourceScore
GolfibleBest Launch Monitor Under $1k... delivers more than we expected for under $1,000
PlayBetter[vs a $19,999 GCHawk] the Square's backspin numbers... only varied by a couple hundred RPMs; ball speeds were often literally identical and iron carries within a couple yards
PlayBetterthe most disruptive product to ever hit the affordable golf launch monitor market

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Optical spin measured at impact - PlayBetter's testing put its backspin within a couple hundred rpm of a $19,999 GCHawk
  • GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect via free official plug-ins, with no device-side subscription ever
  • Side-of-ball placement needs no radar setback or ball-flight distance, so very small rooms work
  • Club path, face angle, attack angle and dynamic loft included at no extra cost
  • PlayBetter calls it 'the most disruptive product to ever hit the affordable golf launch monitor market'
  • Golfible named it the best launch monitor of its bracket and reported it delivered more than expected
  • The credit model beats a subscription for casual course play: welcome credits cover dozens of rounds before any spend
  • A removable battery and a bundled remote make it practical for a dedicated hitting bay

Cons

  • Indoor only - direct sunlight can damage the cameras
  • No clubhead speed or smash factor
  • Headline data needs consumables: dotted marking balls for spin (three included; TP5 Pix also work) and club stickers for club data
  • Reviewers hit occasional missed reads, and PlayBetter called its dynamic loft numbers 'wildly inaccurate'
  • Lefty/righty switching means physically moving the unit, and new units sell direct or through PlayBetter only
  • Missed reads show up in every cited account, at rates the outlets disagree on
  • The consumable starter kit is thin: the sticker sheet and dotted balls run out with regular use
  • A successor (the Omni) is already on preorder, which clouds the buying timing

Full specifications

Measurement
Tracking technology Photometric (camera)
Radar type None
Spin measurement Marked balls only
Accuracy tier Game-improvement
Not published: Camera frame rate, Marked balls, Data points per shot
Ball data
Ball speed Measured
Launch angle Measured
Launch direction Measured
Spin rate Measured (marked ball)
Spin axis Measured (marked ball)
Carry distance Calculated
Total distance Calculated
Apex height Calculated
Descent angle Not reported
Not published: Offline distance
Club data
Club speed Not reported
Attack angle Measured (marked ball)
Club path Measured (marked ball)
Face angle Measured (marked ball)
Face to path Not reported
Dynamic loft Measured (marked ball)
Impact location Not reported
Smash factor Not reported
Club data unlock Included
Space & environment
Environment Indoor only
Placement Beside the ball
Hitting zone 5.9 x 5.9 in (15 x 15 cm)
Lefty / righty Repositioning required
Installation None (portable)
Not published: Setback, Min ball flight, Min room depth, Min room width, Ceiling height
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes
GSPro support Native
E6 Connect support Native
Awesome Golf support Supported
FSX Play support No
First-party software Square Golf app (credit-based course play, free range)
Included sim content Square Golf app with 1,000 welcome credits (~55+ solo rounds; 1 credit per hole per golfer, refills from ~$0.02/credit, under $1/round) and free driving range, closest-to-pin, putting practice and game modes. Course count claims differ: PlayBetter's product page lists '10 ultra-realistic courses with 10 more coming soon' while Golfible (2025-11) counts 16 courses, all fictional. GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect via free official plug-ins with no device-side fee (titles sold separately).
Not published: TGC 2019 support, Sim software
Subscription
Subscription (per year) None
Works without subscription No subscription exists: full ball/club data, driving range and third-party sim plug-ins (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf) are free with the device. First-party course play uses one-time consumable credits instead of a subscription - 1,000 included, ~55+ solo rounds, refills under $1 per round.
Not published: Subscription trial
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android, Windows
Built-in display None
Connectivity Bluetooth
Not published: Watch app, Screen mirroring, Offline mode
Physical & power
Dimensions (in) 7.5 x 2.8 x 2.8 in (19 x 7 x 7 cm)
Battery life (hours) 8
Removable battery ✓ Yes
Power source Rechargeable battery
Alignment App-guided
In the box Square Golf launch monitor, swing stick (70 cm), 3 dotted marking balls, club shaft marking stickers (20), remote control with li-ion battery, removable li-ion battery
Not published: Weight, Charging port
Warranty
Warranty (months) 24

Where to buy

Price verified

Square Golf Launch Monitor specs: quick answers

What kind of launch monitor is the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor is a photometric (camera) launch monitor by Square Golf.
How much does the Square Golf Launch Monitor cost?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor costs $699.
Does the Square Golf Launch Monitor need a subscription?
No — the Square Golf Launch Monitor has no subscription at all.
How accurate is the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
Across cited third-party reviews, the Square Golf Launch Monitor sits in the game-improvement accuracy class.
Does the Square Golf Launch Monitor measure spin?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads measured spin with marked balls.
What does the Square Golf Launch Monitor actually measure?
By its recorded per-metric capabilities, the Square Golf Launch Monitor genuinely measures 5 of the 9 canonical ball metrics and 3 of the 5 club metrics; the rest are calculated or not reported. The full measured-vs-calculated breakdown is in the spec table.
What sim software does the Square Golf Launch Monitor support?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor has recorded official support for GSPro, E6 Connect, Awesome Golf, plus the vendor's own Square Golf app (credit-based course play, free range).
How long does the Square Golf Launch Monitor's battery last?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor is rated for about 8 hours of battery life.

Square Golf Launch Monitor: FAQs

How much does the Square Golf Launch Monitor cost?

The Square Golf Launch Monitor costs $699 (USD). It is available from 2 retailers listed on this page.

Does the Square Golf Launch Monitor need a subscription?

No — the Square Golf Launch Monitor has no subscription at all, per its recorded subscription model.

How does the Square Golf Launch Monitor measure spin?

The Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads measured spin with marked balls.

What golf simulator software works with the Square Golf Launch Monitor?

The Square Golf Launch Monitor has recorded official support for GSPro, E6 Connect, and Awesome Golf. It also runs Square Golf app (credit-based course play, free range), the vendor's own software. Support levels (including any vendor subscription needed to connect) are in the spec table on this page.

How long does the battery last on the Square Golf Launch Monitor?

The Square Golf Launch Monitor has a claimed battery life of 8 hours.

Can you use the Square Golf Launch Monitor indoors and outdoors?

The Square Golf Launch Monitor is an indoor-only unit, per its recorded specifications.

Is the Square Golf Launch Monitor worth it?

The Square Golf Launch Monitor is priced at $699 (USD). For that you get game-improvement accuracy (cited consensus class), 5 of 9 ball metrics genuinely measured, and 3 of 5 club metrics measured. The full spec breakdown on this page shows what the price includes.

Ranked in these buying guides

Where the Square Golf Launch Monitor lands in our recorded-spec rankings.

Related Comparisons

Square Golf Launch MonitorBuy at PlayBetter