Rapsodo MLM2PRO vs Square Golf Launch Monitor
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The Square Golf Launch Monitor compared here is the original — the Square Golf Omni has succeeded it.
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the two cost about the same up front, but the Square Golf Launch Monitor works out $501 cheaper over three years once subscriptions are counted, unless you need outdoor range use.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Two camera-forward budget units; subscription model versus one-time price is the deciding axis.
Buy the Rapsodo MLM2PRO if…
- You also want to use it outdoors at the range (the Square Golf Launch Monitor is indoor-only)
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor if…
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the Rapsodo MLM2PRO needs $200/yr for full features
- You're keeping it three years or more — total cost works out $501 lower ($699 vs $1,200 with subscriptions counted)
- You want club data included — the Rapsodo MLM2PRO needs a $200/yr subscription for it
- You play GSPro without another subscription — the Rapsodo MLM2PRO needs its vendor's $200/yr plan just to connect
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Rapsodo MLM2PRO $600 | Square Golf Launch Monitor $699 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $600 | $699 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | None |
| Camera frame rate (fps) | 240 | — |
| Spin measurement | Marked balls only | Marked balls only |
| Marked balls | Rapsodo RPT balls | — |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 15 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured (marked ball) | Measured (marked ball) |
| Spin axis | Measured (marked ball) | Measured (marked ball) |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | — |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Not reported |
| Attack angle | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Club path | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face angle | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face to path | Not reported | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club data unlock | Subscription required ($200/yr) | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor only |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Beside the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 6.5 | — |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | — |
| Min room depth (ft) | 14 | — |
| Hitting zone | — | 5.9 x 5.9 in (15 x 15 cm) |
| Lefty / righty | — | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported (vendor sub required) | Native |
| E6 Connect support | Supported (vendor sub required) | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported (vendor sub required) | Supported |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Rapsodo Courses (30,000+ simulated courses + 2 virtual ranges, Premium) | Square Golf app (credit-based course play, free range) |
| Sim software | E6 Apex | — |
| Included sim content | 45-day Premium trial included with purchase. Plugged In Golf (2023-12) recorded an included E6 Connect code unlocking five courses and a short Awesome Golf trial - re-verify current bundle contents before quoting; not shown on the 2026-09-14 official page. | Square Golf app with 1,000 welcome credits (~55+ solo rounds; 1 credit per hole per golfer, refills from ~$0.02/credit, under $1/round) and free driving range, closest-to-pin, putting practice and game modes. Course count claims differ: PlayBetter's product page lists '10 ultra-realistic courses with 10 more coming soon' while Golfible (2025-11) counts 16 courses, all fictional. GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect via free official plug-ins with no device-side fee (titles sold separately). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $200/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | Official membership page (2026-09-14): the device works without Premium, but 'speed training, club data and full-course access require premium membership'. Premium gates the 15-metric set (incl. spin rate/axis, club path, angle of attack), Rapsodo Courses, third-party sim access (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf), Impact Vision, R-Cloud 10K shot library, R-Speed, and Combine. | No subscription exists: full ball/club data, driving range and third-party sim plug-ins (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf) are free with the device. First-party course play uses one-time consumable credits instead of a subscription - 1,000 included, ~55+ solo rounds, refills under $1 per round. |
| Subscription trial | 45-day Premium trial ('The free trial of the MLM2PRO Premium Membership is 45 days'; auto-renews unless cancelled via R-Cloud) | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Built-in display | None | None |
| Screen mirroring | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) | — |
| Connectivity | — | Bluetooth |
| Physical & power | ||
| Dimensions (in) | — | 7.5 x 2.8 x 2.8 in (19 x 7 x 7 cm) |
| Battery life (hours) | 4 | 8 |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C | — |
| Alignment | — | App-guided |
| In the box | MLM2PRO unit, tripod, carrying case, USB-C charging cable, RPT 3-ball sleeve (Titleist Pro V1 or Callaway Chrome Tour), quick start guide, 45-day Premium trial | Square Golf launch monitor, swing stick (70 cm), 3 dotted marking balls, club shaft marking stickers (20), remote control with li-ion battery, removable li-ion battery |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | — | 24 |
Buy the Rapsodo MLM2PRO
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Rapsodo MLM2PRO vs Square Golf Launch Monitor: FAQs
Which is newer: the Rapsodo MLM2PRO or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor is newer, released in 2024, versus 2023 for the Rapsodo MLM2PRO.
Which is cheaper: the Rapsodo MLM2PRO or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The Rapsodo MLM2PRO costs $600 and the Square Golf Launch Monitor costs $699, making the Rapsodo MLM2PRO $99 cheaper.
Does the Rapsodo MLM2PRO or the Square Golf Launch Monitor need a subscription?
The Rapsodo MLM2PRO needs a subscription for full function ($200/yr for full features), while the Square Golf Launch Monitor works fully without one.
What is the main difference between the Rapsodo MLM2PRO and the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
Based on recorded specs, the Rapsodo MLM2PRO leads on price ($99 cheaper) while the Square Golf Launch Monitor leads on subscription (No subscription needed for full function).