Rapsodo MLM2PRO vs SkyTrak (original)
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The SkyTrak (original) compared here is the original — the SkyTrak+ has succeeded it.
SkyTrak (original)
SkyTrak
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Rapsodo MLM2PRO is the better buy for most people, unless you need simulator-grade accuracy.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
A portable camera-radar hybrid against the classic simulator photometric unit — different rooms, overlapping budgets.
Buy the Rapsodo MLM2PRO if…
- You want club head data at all — the SkyTrak doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro (via the vendor's subscription) — the SkyTrak has no path to it
- You want more sim software choices (3 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Buy the SkyTrak if…
- You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Rapsodo MLM2PRO's game-improvement class)
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the Rapsodo MLM2PRO only reads spin with Rapsodo RPT balls (~$70/dozen)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Rapsodo MLM2PRO $600 | SkyTrak |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $600 | — |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | None |
| Camera frame rate (fps) | 240 | — |
| Spin measurement | Marked balls only | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Rapsodo RPT balls | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Simulator-grade |
| Data points per shot | 15 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured (marked ball) | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured (marked ball) | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Calculated |
| Attack angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Club path | Measured | Not reported |
| Face angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Face to path | Not reported | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Subscription required ($200/yr) | Not available |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Beside the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 6.5 | — |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | — |
| Min room depth (ft) | 14 | — |
| Lefty / righty | — | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported (vendor sub required) | No |
| E6 Connect support | Supported (vendor sub required) | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported (vendor sub required) | — |
| TGC 2019 support | — | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Rapsodo Courses (30,000+ simulated courses + 2 virtual ranges, Premium) | SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages) |
| Sim software | E6 Apex | — |
| Included sim content | 45-day Premium trial included with purchase. Plugged In Golf (2023-12) recorded an included E6 Connect code unlocking five courses and a short Awesome Golf trial - re-verify current bundle contents before quoting; not shown on the 2026-09-14 official page. | Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $200/yr | From $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | Official membership page (2026-09-14): the device works without Premium, but 'speed training, club data and full-course access require premium membership'. Premium gates the 15-metric set (incl. spin rate/axis, club path, angle of attack), Rapsodo Courses, third-party sim access (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf), Impact Vision, R-Cloud 10K shot library, R-Speed, and Combine. | Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator). |
| Subscription trial | 45-day Premium trial ('The free trial of the MLM2PRO Premium Membership is 45 days'; auto-renews unless cancelled via R-Cloud) | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Windows |
| Built-in display | None | — |
| Screen mirroring | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) | — |
| Connectivity | — | WiFi |
| Physical & power | ||
| Battery life (hours) | 4 | 5 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C | — |
| In the box | MLM2PRO unit, tripod, carrying case, USB-C charging cable, RPT 3-ball sleeve (Titleist Pro V1 or Callaway Chrome Tour), quick start guide, 45-day Premium trial | — |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | — | 6 |
Buy the Rapsodo MLM2PRO
SkyTrak (original) availability
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Rapsodo MLM2PRO vs SkyTrak (original): FAQs
Which is newer: the Rapsodo MLM2PRO or the SkyTrak (original)?
The Rapsodo MLM2PRO is newer, released in 2023, versus 2014 for the SkyTrak (original).
Does the Rapsodo MLM2PRO or the SkyTrak (original) need a subscription?
Both do: the Rapsodo MLM2PRO ($200/yr for full features) and the SkyTrak (original) each need a subscription for full function.
Which measures spin better: the Rapsodo MLM2PRO or the SkyTrak (original)?
The SkyTrak (original) has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Rapsodo MLM2PRO only reads measured spin with Rapsodo RPT balls (about $70 per dozen). The SkyTrak (original) measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
What is the main difference between the Rapsodo MLM2PRO and the SkyTrak (original)?
Based on recorded specs, the Rapsodo MLM2PRO leads on measured club data (3 of 5 club metrics measured (vs 0)) while the SkyTrak (original) leads on accuracy tier (Simulator-grade accuracy class).