SkyTrak (original) vs SkyTrak+
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The SkyTrak+ compared here is the original — the SkyTrak ST MAX has succeeded it.
SkyTrak (original)
SkyTrak
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the SkyTrak+ is the better buy for most people.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
The original SkyTrak against the SkyTrak+ that superseded it; clearance pricing keeps both in real carts.
Buy the SkyTrak if…
On recorded specs alone there is no clear reason to pick the SkyTrak over its rival here — compare the full table below.
Buy the SkyTrak+ if…
- You want club head data at all — the SkyTrak doesn't offer it
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | SkyTrak | SkyTrak+ $1,195 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | — | $1,195 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | None | Dual Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Simulator-grade |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Calculated | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Club path | Not reported | Measured |
| Face angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Face to path | Not reported | — |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | — |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| E6 Connect support | Dropped (legacy users only) | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| TGC 2019 support | Dropped (legacy users only) | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages) | SkyTrak Course Play (added in the 5.0 update, mid-2024; Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs added 2025) |
| Included sim content | Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified. | Third-party support (E6 Connect, GSPro) was officially dropped for new customers in 2025-26; 'existing SkyTrak+ owners keep their connection' (Breaking Eighty) - the definitive dropped_legacy case. GSPro's current supported list carries no SkyTrak model. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; SkyTrak's Core: Foresight tier licenses Foresight courses inside SkyTrak's own software instead. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | From $100/yr | $600/yr |
| Works without subscription | Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator). | Free Basic tier: SkyTrak practice/driving range with full shot data ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the game-improvement suites require a paid plan. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Windows | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Connectivity | WiFi | WiFi, USB-C |
| Physical & power | ||
| Battery life (hours) | 5 | — |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | — | USB-C |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 6 | — |
SkyTrak (original) availability
Buy the SkyTrak+
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
SkyTrak (original) vs SkyTrak+: FAQs
Which is newer: the SkyTrak (original) or the SkyTrak+?
The SkyTrak+ is newer, released in 2023, versus 2014 for the SkyTrak (original).
Does the SkyTrak (original) or the SkyTrak+ need a subscription?
Both do: the SkyTrak (original) and the SkyTrak+ ($600/yr for full features) each need a subscription for full function.