At a glance
- Tracking tech
- Radar + camera fusion
- Accuracy tier
- Simulator-grade
- Spin measurement
- Optical (any ball)
- Subscription
- $600/yr
- Deep verified closeout discount: $1,195 against a $2,995 list price
- Breaking Eighty scores it 9.2/10 and calls it 'a steal' at closeout pricing
- Final closeout - superseded by the ST MAX, and stock is whatever remains
- GSPro, E6 Connect and TGC 2019 all dropped for new customers (existing owners grandfathered)
SkyTrak+
SkyTrak
8/10 “The SkyTrak+ is the endgame bargain of the fusion class: dual Doppler radar plus a camera that reads spin optically off any ball, scored 9.2/10 by Breaking Eighty, and now on closeout at a verified $1,195 against a $2,995 list. The honesty requirements are unusually specific. GSPro and E6 Connect are gone for new buyers, so simulation means SkyTrak's own software and its $99.99-to-$599.99-per-year ladder; the model is superseded by the ST MAX; and the free tier covers the range, not the courses. Priced as a data-first practice unit it is a genuine steal - priced as a GSPro machine it is a mistake. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.” Read the full review$1,195
Check price at Amazon- Tracking tech
- Radar + camera fusion
- Accuracy tier
- Simulator-grade
- Subscription
- $600/yr
The SkyTrak+ pairs dual Doppler radar with a photometric camera, a fusion approach that firmed up the original SkyTrak's ball data and added measured club path and face angle. It keeps the side-of-ball placement that suits shallow rooms, and its software world is now the point: GSPro, E6 Connect and TGC 2019 were dropped for new customers, so course play lives in SkyTrak's own membership ladder. It is on final closeout as the near-identical ST MAX replaces it - remaining stock only - which makes it a bargain hunt with a software commitment attached.
Succeeded by SkyTrak ST MAX — a newer model is available.
Our review
By GolfSim Compare Team ·
The SkyTrak+ is the endgame bargain of the fusion class: dual Doppler radar plus a camera that reads spin optically off any ball, scored 9.2/10 by Breaking Eighty, and now on closeout at a verified $1,195 against a $2,995 list. The honesty requirements are unusually specific. GSPro and E6 Connect are gone for new buyers, so simulation means SkyTrak's own software and its $99.99-to-$599.99-per-year ladder; the model is superseded by the ST MAX; and the free tier covers the range, not the courses. Priced as a data-first practice unit it is a genuine steal - priced as a GSPro machine it is a mistake. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.
- Accuracy
- 8.5/10
- Ease of use
- 8/10
- Sim experience
- 6.5/10
- Value for money
- 8.5/10
- Build quality
- 8/10
- App quality
- 7.8/10
At $1,195, the SkyTrak+ sells today for less than half its $2,995 list price, because it is on final closeout: the record marks it superseded by the SkyTrak ST MAX, with remaining stock selling down. That closeout status is the whole frame for this review - the aggregated coverage says the measurement holds up brilliantly, while the software walls around it are exactly where a buyer needs to look first.
GolfSimCompare has not performed hands-on testing of this device. This review aggregates the cited professional coverage, the manufacturer’s published specifications, and owner feedback from the linked communities. Every observation below is attributed to its source, and the category scores are an editorial aggregate of that cited coverage, not GolfSimCompare measurements.
Accuracy: 8.5/10
Breaking Eighty’s review, updated August 2026, ran the SkyTrak+ against a Trackman reference and reported clubhead speed, carry and spin “all right in line” across gap wedge, 7-iron and driver - while flagging that side carry roughly doubled the Trackman’s numbers, a useful picture of both the strength and the edge of sim-grade accuracy. The same review scores it 9.2/10 overall and calls it a steal at closeout pricing.
The mechanism per the record: dual Doppler radar fused with a photometric camera, measuring ball speed, launch angle, launch direction, spin rate and spin axis optically on any ball - no marked-ball consumables - plus measured club speed, club path and face angle. Attack angle and impact location are not reported. The recorded accuracy tier is sim-grade: dependable for simulation and practice, a step below the tour-grade photometric class.
Sim Experience: 6.5/10
This is the score that needs the most honesty. The record is explicit: GSPro and E6 Connect support was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 - existing SkyTrak+ owners keep their connections, per Breaking Eighty - and GSPro’s current supported-hardware list carries no SkyTrak model. The TGC 2019 retail listing states outright that it is not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+. For a new buyer today, simulation means SkyTrak’s first-party world: Course Play arrived in the 5.0 update in mid-2024, with licensed Foresight and Trackman course packs added in 2025.
That world is subscription-shaped. Per SkyTrak’s membership pages: a free Basic tier covers the driving range with full ball and club data; Essential runs $99.99 per year for the game-improvement suites; the Core tiers at $299.99 (Foresight pack, 49 courses) and $349.99 (Trackman pack, 51 courses) add course play; and Elite at $599.99 per year unlocks all 95+ premium courses.
Ease of Use and App
Camera-side placement keeps the footprint small - the record notes it works in rooms roughly 8-9 ft deep where radar units cannot - and iOS, Android and Windows apps are recorded, with the Mac situation disputed between SkyTrak’s FAQ and reviewers. The recorded quirks: a single USB-C port means charging or a wired PC connection, not both at once, and wifi handles the rest.
Value at $1,195
$1,195 is the verified closeout price, and the record’s cost table shows why the subscription question decides everything: the first-year cost with Elite is $1,794.99, and the three-year cost is $2,994.97 - at which point the software ladder, not the hardware, is 60.1% of what you have spent. Stick to the free range tier or Essential and the math stays excellent; commit to Elite and you have effectively paid list price after all, spread over three years.
Coming From an Original SkyTrak - or Eyeing the ST MAX
For original-SkyTrak owners, the record frames the SkyTrak+ as the same software world with substantially better hardware - but not a mandatory upgrade if the original still serves your practice needs, especially with the ST MAX now the supported flagship. For new money, the honest cross-reference: the ST MAX is the current model with the same membership ladder, and the SkyTrak+ discount is the payment you receive for accepting a feature-frozen, superseded device. Both routes live or die on being comfortable inside SkyTrak’s own software.
Who Should Buy the SkyTrak+
Bargain-focused practice golfers and sim builders who want measured spin on any ball at a verified closeout price, and who are content with SkyTrak’s first-party courses or the free range.
Who Should Skip It
Anyone whose plan involves GSPro or E6 Connect - that door is closed for new buyers, per the record - and buyers uncomfortable owning a superseded model whose long-term software support is a bet rather than a promise. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.
How This Review Was Compiled
This review aggregates named editorial coverage (Breaking Eighty’s reference-comparison review), SkyTrak’s official membership pages for the subscription facts, GSPro’s supported-hardware list and the TGC 2019 retail listing for the compatibility record, and the audited product record in our database for every figure. Retailer pages - some from affiliate partners of this site - are cited for pricing and availability only and labeled as retailers. The category scores are an editorial aggregate of the cited coverage, not measurements.
Sources
- Breaking Eighty — SkyTrak+ review, updated August 2026
- SkyTrak — membership pricing page
- SkyTrak — software membership tiers
- GSPro supported-hardware list — no SkyTrak models listed
- Top Shelf Golf (retailer) — TGC 2019 listing, SkyTrak compatibility note
- Shop Indoor Golf (retailer) — SkyTrak+ listing
- Amazon (retailer) — SkyTrak+ listing and owner reviews
What other reviewers say
Scores from other outlets, as published — not our rating.
| Source | Score |
|---|---|
| Breaking Eighty | Clubhead speed, carry, and spin were all right in line with Trackman across gap wedge, 7 iron, and driver; side carry roughly doubled Trackman's numbers. |
| Breaking Eighty | 9.2/10 |
Pros & cons
Pros
- Deep verified closeout discount: $1,195 against a $2,995 list price
- Breaking Eighty scores it 9.2/10 and calls it 'a steal' at closeout pricing
- Breaking Eighty's testing put club speed, carry and spin right in line with a Trackman
- Measured club path and face angle at no extra data cost
- Side-of-ball camera placement fits rooms too shallow for behind-ball radar
- Breaking Eighty's reference comparison found the core numbers tracking a Trackman across wedges, irons and driver
- Optical spin on any ball, with no marked-ball consumables anywhere in the running costs
- Everything it measures is included; the paid ladder only gates course play and training suites
Cons
- Final closeout - superseded by the ST MAX, and stock is whatever remains
- GSPro, E6 Connect and TGC 2019 all dropped for new customers (existing owners grandfathered)
- Course play requires a SkyTrak membership, from $99.99/yr up to $599.99/yr
- No angle of attack and no impact location
- SkyTrak has delisted the product page, so specs like weight and warranty are no longer published
- The third-party software exits are closing behind it, and grandfathering only protects owners who already connected
- Its own ecosystem is where the real spend hides, tier by tier
- Buying a superseded model means betting on how long the software stays maintained
Full specifications
| Measurement | |
|---|---|
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | Dual Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade |
| Not published: Camera frame rate, Data points per shot | |
| Ball data | |
| Ball speed | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated |
| Club data | |
| Club speed | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported |
| Club path | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included |
| Not published: Face to path | |
| Space & environment | |
| Placement | Beside the ball |
| Installation | None (portable) |
| Not published: Environment, Setback, Min ball flight, Min room depth, Min room width, Ceiling height, Hitting zone, Lefty / righty | |
| Sim software | |
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| E6 Connect support | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| TGC 2019 support | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| FSX Play support | No |
| First-party software | SkyTrak Course Play (added in the 5.0 update, mid-2024; Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs added 2025) |
| Included sim content | Third-party support (E6 Connect, GSPro) was officially dropped for new customers in 2025-26; 'existing SkyTrak+ owners keep their connection' (Breaking Eighty) - the definitive dropped_legacy case. GSPro's current supported list carries no SkyTrak model. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; SkyTrak's Core: Foresight tier licenses Foresight courses inside SkyTrak's own software instead. |
| Not published: Awesome Golf support, Sim software | |
| Subscription | |
| Subscription (per year) | $600/yr |
| Works without subscription | Free Basic tier: SkyTrak practice/driving range with full shot data ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the game-improvement suites require a paid plan. |
| Not published: Subscription trial | |
| Connectivity & apps | |
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Connectivity | WiFi, USB-C |
| Not published: Watch app, Built-in display, Screen mirroring, Offline mode | |
| Physical & power | |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C |
| Not published: Weight, Dimensions, Battery life, Removable battery, Alignment, In the box | |
Where to buy
Price verified
SkyTrak+ specs: quick answers
- What kind of launch monitor is the SkyTrak+?
- The SkyTrak+ is a radar + camera fusion launch monitor by SkyTrak.
- How much does the SkyTrak+ cost?
- The SkyTrak+ costs $1,195.
- Does the SkyTrak+ need a subscription?
- For full features, yes — the SkyTrak+'s headline features need a subscription ($600/yr).
- How accurate is the SkyTrak+?
- Across cited third-party reviews, the SkyTrak+ sits in the simulator-grade accuracy class.
- Does the SkyTrak+ measure spin?
- The SkyTrak+ measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
- What does the SkyTrak+ actually measure?
- By its recorded per-metric capabilities, the SkyTrak+ genuinely measures 5 of the 9 canonical ball metrics and 3 of the 5 club metrics; the rest are calculated or not reported. The full measured-vs-calculated breakdown is in the spec table.
SkyTrak+: FAQs
How much does the SkyTrak+ cost?
The SkyTrak+ costs $1,195 (USD). It is available from 1 retailer listed on this page.
Does the SkyTrak+ need a subscription?
Partly — the SkyTrak+'s core readings work without one, but its headline features need a subscription ($600/yr for full features). Without paying: Free Basic tier: SkyTrak practice/driving range with full shot data ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the game-improvement suites require a paid plan..
How does the SkyTrak+ measure spin?
The SkyTrak+ measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
What golf simulator software works with the SkyTrak+?
It also runs SkyTrak Course Play (added in the 5.0 update, mid-2024; Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs added 2025), the vendor's own software. Support levels (including any vendor subscription needed to connect) are in the spec table on this page.
Is the SkyTrak+ worth it?
The SkyTrak+ is priced at $1,195 (USD). For that you get simulator-grade accuracy (cited consensus class), 5 of 9 ball metrics genuinely measured, and 3 of 5 club metrics measured. Budget for its subscription too ($600/yr for full features). The full spec breakdown on this page shows what the price includes.
Ranked in these buying guides
Where the SkyTrak+ lands in our recorded-spec rankings.
Related Comparisons
SkyTrak+ vs SkyTrak (original)
SkyTrak
SkyTrak+ vs SkyTrak ST MAX
SkyTrak
SkyTrak+ vs Bushnell Launch Pro
SkyTrak vs Bushnell
SkyTrak+ vs Garmin Approach R50
SkyTrak vs Garmin
SkyTrak+ vs Uneekor EYE MINI LITE
SkyTrak vs Uneekor
SkyTrak+ vs Garmin Approach R10
SkyTrak vs Garmin
SkyTrak+ vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO
SkyTrak vs Rapsodo
SkyTrak+ vs Square Golf Launch Monitor
SkyTrak vs Square Golf
SkyTrak+ vs FlightScope Mevo+
SkyTrak vs FlightScope
SkyTrak+ vs Uneekor EYE MINI
SkyTrak vs Uneekor
SkyTrak+ vs Square Golf Omni
SkyTrak vs Square Golf