Garmin Approach R50 vs SkyTrak+
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the SkyTrak+ is the better buy for most people at $3,305 less while closeout stock lasts, unless you want a no-subscription setup.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
All-in-one radar against closeout photometric value — a common budget-stretch decision.
Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the SkyTrak+ needs $600/yr for full features
- You play GSPro — the SkyTrak+ officially dropped it
- You want more sim software choices (3 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Buy the SkyTrak+ if…
- You want to spend $3,305 less ($1,195 vs $4,500) — closeout pricing
- You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R50's game-improvement class)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 | SkyTrak+ $1,195 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $4,500 | $1,195 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | None | Dual Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Simulator-grade |
| Data points per shot | 16 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured |
| Face to path | Calculated | — |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | — |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 10 | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| E6 Connect support | Supported | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | — |
| TGC 2019 support | No | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) | SkyTrak Course Play (added in the 5.0 update, mid-2024; Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs added 2025) |
| Sim software | [object Object] | — |
| Included sim content | Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). | Third-party support (E6 Connect, GSPro) was officially dropped for new customers in 2025-26; 'existing SkyTrak+ owners keep their connection' (Breaking Eighty) - the definitive dropped_legacy case. GSPro's current supported list carries no SkyTrak model. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; SkyTrak's Core: Foresight tier licenses Foresight courses inside SkyTrak's own software instead. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | $600/yr |
| Works without subscription | All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. | Free Basic tier: SkyTrak practice/driving range with full shot data ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the game-improvement suites require a paid plan. |
| Subscription trial | 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Built-in display | Color touchscreen | — |
| Screen mirroring | HDMI out | — |
| Connectivity | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C | WiFi, USB-C |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 9 | — |
| Dimensions (in) | 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) | — |
| Battery life (hours) | 4 | — |
| Power source | Battery or mains | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | — | USB-C |
| In the box | Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter | — |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | — |
Buy the Garmin Approach R50
Buy the SkyTrak+
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Garmin Approach R50 vs SkyTrak+: FAQs
Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R50 or the SkyTrak+?
The Garmin Approach R50 is newer, released in 2024, versus 2023 for the SkyTrak+.
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R50 or the SkyTrak+?
The Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500 and the SkyTrak+ costs $1,195, making the SkyTrak+ $3,305 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach R50 or the SkyTrak+ need a subscription?
The SkyTrak+ needs a subscription for full function ($600/yr for full features), while the Garmin Approach R50 works fully without one.
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R50 and the SkyTrak+?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R50 leads on subscription (No subscription needed for full function) while the SkyTrak+ leads on price ($3,305 cheaper).