Skip to content
Portable

Garmin Approach R50

Garmin

8.4/10 Read the full review

$4,500

Check price at Amazon
Tracking tech
Photometric (camera)
Accuracy tier
Game-improvement
Subscription
$100/yr
The Approach R50 is the category's only genuine all-in-one: three high-speed cameras, a 10-inch touchscreen running the simulator itself, and HDMI out to a projector, with no PC, tablet or phone required anywhere in the chain. The aggregated coverage is warm - Breaking Eighty's advice amounts to buy one if you want one - and the recorded caveats are specific: club metrics need a sticker on every clubhead, course play sits behind the Garmin Golf membership, and at 9 lb with 4 hours of battery it is portable in the trunk sense rather than the bag sense. As a one-box home sim it has no direct rival in the record. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.

The Garmin Approach R50 is a self-contained golf simulator: three high-speed cameras, a ten-inch touchscreen and built-in Home Tee Hero course play mean it needs no PC, tablet or phone to run a sim session, and HDMI out drives a projector for a dedicated room. It optically measures ball data on any ball and - with the included club stickers - full club delivery including path, face angle and attack angle. GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect without any Garmin membership; the optional membership gates the Home Tee Hero course library and multiplayer. It runs on battery or AC, and at nine pounds it is portable in the trunk sense rather than the pocket sense.

Our review

By GolfSim Compare Team ·

8.4/10

The Approach R50 is the category's only genuine all-in-one: three high-speed cameras, a 10-inch touchscreen running the simulator itself, and HDMI out to a projector, with no PC, tablet or phone required anywhere in the chain. The aggregated coverage is warm - Breaking Eighty's advice amounts to buy one if you want one - and the recorded caveats are specific: club metrics need a sticker on every clubhead, course play sits behind the Garmin Golf membership, and at 9 lb with 4 hours of battery it is portable in the trunk sense rather than the bag sense. As a one-box home sim it has no direct rival in the record. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.

Accuracy
8.5/10
Ease of use
8.8/10
Sim experience
8.8/10
Value for money
7.8/10
Build quality
8.5/10
App quality
8.3/10

The Garmin Approach R50 answers a question the rest of the catalog dodges: what if the launch monitor were the whole simulator? Garmin’s own announcement bills it as the only portable launch monitor with a built-in simulator - a claim the product record supports - pairing three high-speed cameras with a 10-inch touchscreen that runs Home Tee Hero on the device itself. It costs $4,499.99 against a $4,999.99 list price, and the aggregated coverage treats it less as a gadget than as a home sim in one box.

GolfSimCompare has not performed hands-on testing of this device. This review aggregates the cited professional coverage, the manufacturer’s published specifications, and owner feedback from the linked communities. Every observation below is attributed to its source, and the category scores are an editorial aggregate of that cited coverage, not GolfSimCompare measurements.

Accuracy: 8.5/10

The R50 is photometric - cameras, not radar - and the record lists 16 claimed data points with a strong measured core: ball speed, launch angle, launch direction, spin rate, spin axis, club speed, club path, attack angle and face angle all measured. Carry, total distance, apex and smash factor are calculated. Club metrics depend on the included tracking stickers - retailer Top Shelf Golf’s spec table counts 250 in the box - applied to every clubhead you want read.

One honest wrinkle from the cited coverage: sources disagree on the spin story. MyGolfSimulator’s data breakdown and retailer PlayBetter’s review describe the measured-versus-modeled split differently, and the record follows Garmin’s published list, which counts spin rate and axis as measured. No ball consumable exists for the R50 - the audit specifically confirmed Garmin’s footnotes reference club stickers only. The recorded accuracy tier is game-improvement grade.

Sim Experience: 8.8/10

This is the reason the R50 exists. The built-in simulator runs on the touchscreen with no external hardware; HDMI out sends it to a projector or TV for a proper bay. Free, no-membership features cover the driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video. Course play in Home Tee Hero - 43,000+ courses - requires the $99.99-per-year Garmin Golf membership, which also gates multiplayer for up to 4 players, weekly tournaments and cloud video storage; a 30-day trial is noted by retailer Top Shelf Golf.

Third-party support is the quiet win: GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf are all supported from a Windows PC over wifi, with no Garmin membership required for any of them, per the record. TGC 2019 and FSX Play are not supported.

Ease of Use: 8.8/10

The coverage keeps returning to the same theme Breaking Eighty distilled: “It’s fast, easy to use, and feature-heavy… If you want one? Buy one.” There is no pairing dance, no app dependency for the core experience, and the touchscreen replaces the phone-as-brain workflow of cheaper units. Side-of-ball camera placement needs just 10 ft of ball flight per the record - no radar setback - so it fits rooms radar units cannot. The recurring friction, per the record, is the sticker: every club needs one for club data.

Build, App and Practicalities: 8.3/10

At 9 lb with a carrying case, the R50 is luggable rather than pocketable - the record’s honest framing is portable but bulky next to radar units. Battery runtime is 4 hours, and it runs on AC power for fixed setups, which is how most of the cited coverage expects it to live. iOS and Android apps handle data review; wifi, Bluetooth and USB-C are all present. Warranty is 12 months.

Value for Money: 7.8/10

The recorded math: $4,499.99 hardware, $4,599.98 first-year cost and $4,799.96 over three years with the membership included annually - a subscription share of just 6.2%, which is the structural opposite of the subscription-heavy units in this bracket. What you are paying for is consolidation: launch monitor, screen and software in one purchase. Whether that beats assembling a PC-based sim at a similar all-in spend is a comparison-page question, but as a single-box answer the record lists nothing else like it.

Who Should Buy the Approach R50

Buyers who want a home simulator without building one: no PC, no tablet, no software shopping list. Also mixed households and coaches who value the on-device experience and impact video that stay free of any membership.

Who Should Skip It

Golfers who mostly want range numbers in a bag-friendly package - the measured core of the far cheaper radar class covers that use - and sim purists committed to FSX-world software, which the R50 does not run. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.

How This Review Was Compiled

This review aggregates named editorial coverage (Breaking Eighty, MyGolfSimulator), Garmin’s product page and launch announcement for manufacturer facts, and retailer pages - labeled as such - for spec-table and availability confirmation. Some retailers cited are affiliate partners of this site; their pages support facts only, never verdicts. Every number above traces to the audited product record in our database. The category scores are an editorial aggregate of the cited coverage, not measurements.

Sources

What other reviewers say

Scores from other outlets, as published — not our rating.

SourceScore
Breaking EightyIt's fast, easy to use, and feature-heavy... If you want one? Buy one.

Pros & cons

Pros

  • Launch monitor and simulator in one - no gaming PC, tablet or phone required
  • Measured ball data on any ball, plus measured club path, face angle and attack angle with stickers
  • Practice modes, driving range and high-speed impact video are free on-device, with no membership
  • GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect without a Garmin membership
  • HDMI output, four-player multiplayer and battery-or-AC power suit a fixed sim room
  • Breaking Eighty's verdict is as direct as reviews get: fast, easy to use, feature-heavy - if you want one, buy one
  • The whole simulator lives in the box: screen, software and monitor with nothing else to purchase or connect
  • Practice modes and impact video stay free even if you never pay Garmin another dollar

Cons

  • Every club metric requires a tracking sticker on the clubhead
  • Home Tee Hero course play sits behind the $99.99/yr Garmin Golf membership
  • No impact-location data
  • About 4 hours on battery - short for a range-day device
  • At 9 lb, bulky next to pocket radars
  • No path to TGC 2019 or the FSX software world, whatever your membership
  • Cited sources disagree about how much of the spin picture is optically read versus modeled
  • Heavy enough that carrying it to the range is a decision, not a habit

Full specifications

Measurement
Tracking technology Photometric (camera)
Radar type None
Spin measurement Optical (any ball)
Marked balls Not required
Accuracy tier Game-improvement
Data points per shot 16
Not published: Camera frame rate
Ball data
Ball speed Measured
Launch angle Measured
Launch direction Measured
Spin rate Measured
Spin axis Measured
Carry distance Calculated
Total distance Calculated
Apex height Calculated
Descent angle Not reported
Offline distance Calculated
Club data
Club speed Measured
Attack angle Measured
Club path Measured
Face angle Measured
Face to path Calculated
Dynamic loft Not reported
Impact location Not reported
Smash factor Calculated
Club data unlock Included
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor
Placement Beside the ball
Min ball flight (ft) 10
Installation None (portable)
Not published: Setback, Min room depth, Min room width, Ceiling height, Hitting zone, Lefty / righty
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes
GSPro support Supported
E6 Connect support Supported
Awesome Golf support Supported
TGC 2019 support No
FSX Play support No
First-party software Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required)
Sim software [object Object]
Included sim content Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required).
Subscription
Subscription (per year) $100/yr
Works without subscription All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics.
Subscription trial 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf)
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android
Built-in display Color touchscreen
Screen mirroring HDMI out
Connectivity WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C
Not published: Watch app, Offline mode
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 9
Dimensions (in) 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D)
Battery life (hours) 4
Power source Battery or mains
In the box Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter
Not published: Removable battery, Charging port, Alignment
Warranty
Warranty (months) 12

Where to buy

Price verified

Garmin Approach R50 specs: quick answers

What kind of launch monitor is the Garmin Approach R50?
The Garmin Approach R50 is a photometric (camera) launch monitor by Garmin.
How much does the Garmin Approach R50 cost?
The Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500.
Does the Garmin Approach R50 need a subscription?
No — the Garmin Approach R50 works fully without a subscription; an optional plan ($100/yr) adds extra content.
How accurate is the Garmin Approach R50?
Across cited third-party reviews, the Garmin Approach R50 sits in the game-improvement accuracy class.
Does the Garmin Approach R50 measure spin?
The Garmin Approach R50 measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
What does the Garmin Approach R50 actually measure?
By its recorded per-metric capabilities, the Garmin Approach R50 genuinely measures 5 of the 9 canonical ball metrics and 4 of the 5 club metrics; the rest are calculated or not reported. The full measured-vs-calculated breakdown is in the spec table.
What sim software does the Garmin Approach R50 support?
The Garmin Approach R50 has recorded official support for GSPro, E6 Connect, Awesome Golf, plus the vendor's own Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required).
How long does the Garmin Approach R50's battery last?
The Garmin Approach R50 is rated for about 4 hours of battery life.

Garmin Approach R50: FAQs

How much does the Garmin Approach R50 cost?

The Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500 (USD). It is available from 1 retailer listed on this page.

Does the Garmin Approach R50 need a subscription?

No — the Garmin Approach R50 works fully without a subscription; an optional plan adds extra content ($100/yr).

How does the Garmin Approach R50 measure spin?

The Garmin Approach R50 measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.

What golf simulator software works with the Garmin Approach R50?

The Garmin Approach R50 has recorded official support for GSPro, E6 Connect, and Awesome Golf. It also runs Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required), the vendor's own software. Support levels (including any vendor subscription needed to connect) are in the spec table on this page.

How long does the battery last on the Garmin Approach R50?

The Garmin Approach R50 has a claimed battery life of 4 hours.

Can you use the Garmin Approach R50 indoors and outdoors?

Yes — the Garmin Approach R50 is rated for both indoor and outdoor use.

Is the Garmin Approach R50 worth it?

The Garmin Approach R50 is priced at $4,500 (USD). For that you get game-improvement accuracy (cited consensus class), 5 of 9 ball metrics genuinely measured, and 4 of 5 club metrics measured. The full spec breakdown on this page shows what the price includes.

Ranked in these buying guides

Where the Garmin Approach R50 lands in our recorded-spec rankings.

Related Comparisons

Garmin Approach R50Check price at Amazon