Skip to content

Foresight Sports GC3 vs Garmin Approach R50

Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing

Specs updated

Foresight Sports GC3

Foresight Sports GC3

Foresight Sports

$6,999

Which should you buy?

Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R50 is the better buy for most people at $2,499 less, unless you need tour-grade accuracy.

Garmin Approach R50 at Amazon· $4,500 Prefer the Foresight Sports GC3? Where to buy ↓

We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

Camera versus radar at the serious-home-studio price point; both include built-in displays and sim software paths.

Buy the Foresight Sports GC3 if…

  • You want tour-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R50's game-improvement class)
  • You want the lighter carry (5 lb vs 9 lb)

Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…

  • You want to spend $2,499 less ($4,500 vs $6,999)

Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Specs Comparison

Specification Foresight Sports GC3 $6,999 Garmin Approach R50 $4,500
Price
Price $6,999 $4,500
Measurement
Tracking technology Photometric (camera) Photometric (camera)
Radar type None None
Spin measurement Optical (any ball) Optical (any ball)
Marked balls Not required Not required
Accuracy tier Tour-grade Game-improvement
Data points per shot 16
Ball data
Ball speed Measured Measured
Launch angle Measured Measured
Launch direction Measured Measured
Spin rate Measured Measured
Spin axis Measured Measured
Carry distance Calculated Calculated
Total distance Calculated Calculated
Apex height Calculated Calculated
Descent angle Calculated Not reported
Offline distance Calculated Calculated
Club data
Club speed Measured Measured
Attack angle Measured Measured
Club path Measured Measured
Face angle Not reported Measured
Face to path Calculated
Dynamic loft Not reported Not reported
Impact location Not reported Not reported
Smash factor Calculated Calculated
Club data unlock Included Included
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor Indoor + outdoor
Placement Beside the ball Beside the ball
Min ball flight (ft) 10
Hitting zone 7 x 10 in (vs 14 x 18 in on GCQuad - PlayBetter GCQuad 2026 review)
Lefty / righty Repositioning required
Installation None (portable) None (portable)
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes ✓ Yes
GSPro support Supported Supported
E6 Connect support Supported
Awesome Golf support Supported Supported
TGC 2019 support No
FSX Play support Native No
First-party software FSX Play / FSX 2020 / FSX Pro Performance / Foresight Fairgrounds (25 courses included) Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required)
Sim software [object Object]
Included sim content FSX Play + FSX 2020 + FSX Pro Performance Software + Foresight Fairgrounds with 25 golf courses included (15 FSX Play only); unit ships fully unlocked (ball + club data). A la carte FSX courses $150-$500 each, owned for life. GSPro is official but requires a valid FSX Play/FSX 2020 license and purchase through Foresight's site (~$250/yr to GSPro). Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required).
Subscription
Subscription (per year) None $100/yr
Works without subscription Fully enabled out of the box: every unit now ships with ball AND club data, built-in touchscreen, and the FSX software suite with 25 courses - 'there are no subscriptions' (PlayBetter 2026 review). The $3,799 GC3S is the separate subscription-gated variant. All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics.
Subscription trial 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf)
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android, Windows iOS, Android
Built-in display Color touchscreen Color touchscreen
Screen mirroring HDMI out
Connectivity WiFi, USB-C, Ethernet WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 5 9
Dimensions (in) 6 x 5 x 12 in 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D)
Battery life (hours) 5 4
Power source Battery or mains Battery or mains
Alignment Manual target line
In the box GC3 sling bag, power adapter & cable, USB-C cable, alignment stick, club markers Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter
Warranty
Warranty (months) 24 12

Buy the Foresight Sports GC3

Buy the Garmin Approach R50

Keep shopping

Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.

Foresight Sports GC3 vs Garmin Approach R50: FAQs

Which is newer: the Foresight Sports GC3 or the Garmin Approach R50?

The Garmin Approach R50 is newer, released in 2024, versus 2021 for the Foresight Sports GC3.

Which is cheaper: the Foresight Sports GC3 or the Garmin Approach R50?

The Foresight Sports GC3 costs $6,999 and the Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500, making the Garmin Approach R50 $2,499 cheaper.

Does the Foresight Sports GC3 or the Garmin Approach R50 need a subscription?

Neither — both the Foresight Sports GC3 and the Garmin Approach R50 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.

What is the main difference between the Foresight Sports GC3 and the Garmin Approach R50?

Based on recorded specs, the Foresight Sports GC3 leads on accuracy tier (Tour-grade accuracy class) while the Garmin Approach R50 leads on price ($2,499 cheaper).