At a glance
- Tracking tech
- Photometric (camera)
- Accuracy tier
- Tour-grade
- Spin measurement
- Optical (any ball)
- Subscription
- None
- Battery
- 5 hr
- Weight
- 5 lb
- No subscription on the standard unit; FSX suite with 25 courses included
- Measures full ball data plus core club data (speed, path, attack angle) on any ball
- Face angle and impact location are not reported - those need the GCQuad
- Club data requires a fiducial dot sticker on each clubface
Foresight Sports GC3
Foresight Sports
8.7/10 “The GC3 is the buy-once answer at the top of the consumer market: Foresight's three-camera Triscopic system measuring ball flight and core club data optically on any ball, shipping fully unlocked with FSX software and 25 courses, and carrying no subscription of any kind. The cited coverage credits the platform with reference-class accuracy, and the record's cost table makes the trade explicit - its identical-optics sibling, the Bushnell Launch Pro, is cheaper over any horizon most buyers plan for, while the GC3 buys freedom from the subscription treadmill and a 2-year warranty. Which philosophy wins is a budget question, not a quality one. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.” Read the full review$6,999
Where to buy — Foresight Sports site- Tracking tech
- Photometric (camera)
- Accuracy tier
- Tour-grade
- Subscription
- None
The Foresight Sports GC3 is a portable three-camera photometric launch monitor released in 2021 at $6,999. It measures ball flight and core club data - club speed, path and attack angle - optically on any ball, using fiducial dots on the clubface for club readings, with a built-in touchscreen and 5-hour battery for indoor or outdoor use. The standard unit carries no subscription and includes the FSX software suite with 25 courses; the separate $3,799 GC3S variant is the subscription-gated version at $499 a year. Face angle and impact location are not reported - that data lives a tier up in the GCQuad. It sells direct from Foresight and through specialty golf dealers.
Our review
By GolfSim Compare Team ·
The GC3 is the buy-once answer at the top of the consumer market: Foresight's three-camera Triscopic system measuring ball flight and core club data optically on any ball, shipping fully unlocked with FSX software and 25 courses, and carrying no subscription of any kind. The cited coverage credits the platform with reference-class accuracy, and the record's cost table makes the trade explicit - its identical-optics sibling, the Bushnell Launch Pro, is cheaper over any horizon most buyers plan for, while the GC3 buys freedom from the subscription treadmill and a 2-year warranty. Which philosophy wins is a budget question, not a quality one. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.
- Accuracy
- 9.5/10
- Ease of use
- 8.3/10
- Sim experience
- 8.5/10
- Value for money
- 7.2/10
- Build quality
- 9/10
- App quality
- 8.3/10
At $6,999, the Foresight Sports GC3 is where the consumer launch monitor market tops out before fitting-studio hardware takes over. The pitch is simple and the record confirms it: the same three-camera photometric measurement that reviewers rate as reference-class, sold fully unlocked - ball data, club data, FSX software, 25 courses - with no subscription anywhere in its ownership math.
GolfSimCompare has not performed hands-on testing of this device. This review aggregates the cited professional coverage, the manufacturer’s published specifications, and owner feedback from the linked communities. Every observation below is attributed to its source, and the category scores are an editorial aggregate of that cited coverage, not GolfSimCompare measurements.
Accuracy: 9.5/10
The GC3’s accuracy story is best documented through its hardware twin. The Bushnell Launch Pro runs identical optics - the record tags them as the same three-camera platform - and Breaking Eighty’s June 2026 review of that twin scores it 9.5/10, describing near-perfect distance agreement against an independent check and summing the platform up as “roughly 98% of the $20,000 GCQuad Max experience.” Golfers Authority’s Foresight cost guide credits the platform with sub-millimeter precision through direct measurement rather than calculation. Retailer PlayBetter’s GC3 review - a seller’s account, labeled as such - is more effusive still about its accuracy for the price.
Mechanically, the record lists optical measurement of ball speed, launch angle, launch direction, spin rate and spin axis on any ball - no marked-ball consumables - plus measured club speed, club path and attack angle with the included fiducial club markers. Face angle, impact location and dynamic loft are not reported; per the record those remain GCQuad and QuadMAX territory, and the recorded hitting zone is 7 x 10 in against 14 x 18 in on the GCQuad.
Included Software and Sim Experience: 8.5/10
Unlike nearly everything below it, the GC3 arrives sim-complete: FSX Play, FSX 2020, FSX Pro Performance and Foresight Fairgrounds with 25 courses included (15 of them FSX Play only), per the product record. Additional FSX courses sell a la carte at $150-$500 each and are owned for life - a purchase model, not a rental one. GSPro is officially supported, with the recorded conditions: it requires a valid FSX license and is bought through Foresight, at roughly $250 per year paid to GSPro. Awesome Golf lists the GC3 on its official compatibility list. Plan for a capable gaming PC to run FSX or GSPro; the built-in touchscreen covers practice without one.
Ease of Use: 8.3/10
Side-of-ball placement means no radar setback and no minimum ball-flight distance, so tight rooms work. The touchscreen runs standalone practice sessions, and iOS, Android and Windows apps are all recorded. The frictions are the class’s usual ones: club data needs a fiducial dot sticker on each clubface (not tournament-legal), and switching between right- and left-handed players means physically repositioning the unit.
Build Quality: 9.0/10
A 5 lb unit with wifi, ethernet and USB-C, roughly 5 hours of battery, and mains power for fixed bays - the record reads like a device designed for a decade of service, and Foresight backs it with a 24-month warranty, double the 12 months on the Bushnell-branded twin. Indoor and outdoor use are both supported.
Value at $6,999
$6,999 is the recorded list and street price, and because nothing is subscription-gated, it is also the recorded three-year cost. The comparison the whole category argues about: the Launch Pro’s recorded three-year cost is $4,496.99 (hardware plus its Gold plan), so at current recorded prices the unlocked GC3 does not win the three-year math - the two do not cross over until far past that horizon. What the GC3 buys instead is certainty: no plan to maintain, no feature that lapses, courses owned for life. The record also notes a $3,799 GC3S variant that trades a lower buy-in for a $499-per-year subscription after the first year, and a September 2026 retailer promotion at $5,999 (PlayBetter, labeled retailer pricing). One retail caution from the record: the Amazon offer is a bundle-only listing about $1,000 over street, so purchasing runs through official dealers such as GOLFTEC or Shop Indoor Golf.
Who Should Buy the GC3
Serious home-sim builders who want reference-class measurement and want to buy it once - especially anyone planning five or more years of ownership, where the no-subscription math and the included software compound.
Who Should Skip It
Fitters and club-tinkerers who need face angle and impact location (that is GCQuad money), and value-first buyers, for whom the record’s own numbers point at the Launch Pro pairing or a closeout unit instead. Scores are aggregates of the cited reviews and owner feedback, not GolfSimCompare hands-on results.
How This Review Was Compiled
This review aggregates named editorial coverage of the GC3 platform (Breaking Eighty on the identical-optics Launch Pro, Golfers Authority), Foresight’s official product page for manufacturer facts, and retailer pages - GOLFTEC, Shop Indoor Golf, PlayBetter, all labeled - strictly for pricing and availability. Some retailers cited are affiliate partners of this site; none of their opinions are treated as consensus. Every figure above traces to the audited product record in our database. The category scores are an editorial aggregate of the cited coverage, not measurements.
Sources
- Foresight Sports — GC3 product page
- Breaking Eighty — Bushnell Launch Pro review (identical GC3 optics), updated June 2026
- Golfers Authority — How much is a Foresight golf simulator?
- PlayBetter (retailer) — Foresight Sports GC3 review
- GSPro supported-hardware list — GC3 FSX license requirement
- GOLFTEC (retailer) — Foresight technology shop, GC3 pricing
- Shop Indoor Golf (retailer) — Foresight Sports GC3 listing
What other reviewers say
Scores from other outlets, as published — not our rating.
| Source | Score |
|---|---|
| Golfers Authority | sub-millimeter precision through direct measurement rather than calculations |
| PlayBetter | you're not going to find a golf launch monitor for under $10,000 that's more accurate... I'm blown away by the accuracy of the GC3. |
Pros & cons
Pros
- No subscription on the standard unit; FSX suite with 25 courses included
- Measures full ball data plus core club data (speed, path, attack angle) on any ball
- Built-in color touchscreen and 5-hour battery for indoor/outdoor portability
- Official GSPro path
- 2-year warranty
- Every capability in the box is yours on day one - nothing to unlock later
- The included course library and first-party software make it sim-ready out of the carton
- Double the warranty of its Bushnell-branded twin
Cons
- Face angle and impact location are not reported - those need the GCQuad
- Club data requires a fiducial dot sticker on each clubface
- Repositioning required to switch right- and left-handed players
- GSPro access needs an FSX license plus about $250/yr paid to GSPro
- The $3,799 GC3S variant needs a $499/yr subscription to keep club data and sim software active
- The step-up features that fitters lean on belong to its bigger siblings
- Budgeting does not end with the unit: a capable gaming PC underpins the sim software
- The main marketplace listing is a marked-up bundle, so buying means going through dealers
Full specifications
| Measurement | |
|---|---|
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Tour-grade |
| Not published: Camera frame rate, Data points per shot | |
| Ball data | |
| Ball speed | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated |
| Club data | |
| Club speed | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured |
| Club path | Measured |
| Face angle | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included |
| Not published: Face to path | |
| Space & environment | |
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball |
| Hitting zone | 7 x 10 in (vs 14 x 18 in on GCQuad - PlayBetter GCQuad 2026 review) |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) |
| Not published: Setback, Min ball flight, Min room depth, Min room width, Ceiling height | |
| Sim software | |
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported |
| FSX Play support | Native |
| First-party software | FSX Play / FSX 2020 / FSX Pro Performance / Foresight Fairgrounds (25 courses included) |
| Included sim content | FSX Play + FSX 2020 + FSX Pro Performance Software + Foresight Fairgrounds with 25 golf courses included (15 FSX Play only); unit ships fully unlocked (ball + club data). A la carte FSX courses $150-$500 each, owned for life. GSPro is official but requires a valid FSX Play/FSX 2020 license and purchase through Foresight's site (~$250/yr to GSPro). |
| Not published: E6 Connect support, TGC 2019 support, Sim software | |
| Subscription | |
| Subscription (per year) | None |
| Works without subscription | Fully enabled out of the box: every unit now ships with ball AND club data, built-in touchscreen, and the FSX software suite with 25 courses - 'there are no subscriptions' (PlayBetter 2026 review). The $3,799 GC3S is the separate subscription-gated variant. |
| Not published: Subscription trial | |
| Connectivity & apps | |
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Built-in display | Color touchscreen |
| Connectivity | WiFi, USB-C, Ethernet |
| Not published: Watch app, Screen mirroring, Offline mode | |
| Physical & power | |
| Weight (lb) | 5 |
| Dimensions (in) | 6 x 5 x 12 in |
| Battery life (hours) | 5 |
| Power source | Battery or mains |
| Alignment | Manual target line |
| In the box | GC3 sling bag, power adapter & cable, USB-C cable, alignment stick, club markers |
| Not published: Removable battery, Charging port | |
| Warranty | |
| Warranty (months) | 24 |
Where to buy
Foresight Sports GC3 specs: quick answers
- What kind of launch monitor is the Foresight Sports GC3?
- The Foresight Sports GC3 is a photometric (camera) launch monitor by Foresight Sports.
- How much does the Foresight Sports GC3 cost?
- The Foresight Sports GC3 costs $6,999.
- Does the Foresight Sports GC3 need a subscription?
- No — the Foresight Sports GC3 has no subscription at all.
- How accurate is the Foresight Sports GC3?
- Across cited third-party reviews, the Foresight Sports GC3 sits in the tour-grade accuracy class.
- Does the Foresight Sports GC3 measure spin?
- The Foresight Sports GC3 measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
- What does the Foresight Sports GC3 actually measure?
- By its recorded per-metric capabilities, the Foresight Sports GC3 genuinely measures 5 of the 9 canonical ball metrics and 3 of the 5 club metrics; the rest are calculated or not reported. The full measured-vs-calculated breakdown is in the spec table.
- What sim software does the Foresight Sports GC3 support?
- The Foresight Sports GC3 has recorded official support for GSPro, Awesome Golf, FSX Play, plus the vendor's own FSX Play / FSX 2020 / FSX Pro Performance / Foresight Fairgrounds (25 courses included).
- How long does the Foresight Sports GC3's battery last?
- The Foresight Sports GC3 is rated for about 5 hours of battery life.
Foresight Sports GC3: FAQs
How much does the Foresight Sports GC3 cost?
The Foresight Sports GC3 costs $6,999 (USD).
Does the Foresight Sports GC3 need a subscription?
No — the Foresight Sports GC3 has no subscription at all, per its recorded subscription model.
How does the Foresight Sports GC3 measure spin?
The Foresight Sports GC3 measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
What golf simulator software works with the Foresight Sports GC3?
The Foresight Sports GC3 has recorded official support for GSPro, Awesome Golf, and FSX Play. It also runs FSX Play / FSX 2020 / FSX Pro Performance / Foresight Fairgrounds (25 courses included), the vendor's own software. Support levels (including any vendor subscription needed to connect) are in the spec table on this page.
How long does the battery last on the Foresight Sports GC3?
The Foresight Sports GC3 has a claimed battery life of 5 hours.
Can you use the Foresight Sports GC3 indoors and outdoors?
Yes — the Foresight Sports GC3 is rated for both indoor and outdoor use.
Is the Foresight Sports GC3 worth it?
The Foresight Sports GC3 is priced at $6,999 (USD). For that you get tour-grade accuracy (cited consensus class), 5 of 9 ball metrics genuinely measured, and 3 of 5 club metrics measured. The full spec breakdown on this page shows what the price includes.
Ranked in these buying guides
Where the Foresight Sports GC3 lands in our recorded-spec rankings.
- Best Golf Launch Monitors 2026
- Best Launch Monitors for a Home Golf Simulator
- Best Home Golf Simulator Setups
- Best Portable Launch Monitors
- Best Indoor Golf Launch Monitors
- Best Launch Monitors With No Subscription
- Best Launch Monitors for GSPro
- Best Launch Monitors With Club Data
- Best Launch Monitors for the Driving Range
Related Comparisons
Foresight Sports GC3 vs Foresight Sports GCQuad
Foresight Sports
Foresight Sports GC3 vs Bushnell Launch Pro
Foresight Sports vs Bushnell
Foresight Sports GC3 vs Garmin Approach R50
Foresight Sports vs Garmin
Foresight Sports GC3 vs Uneekor EYE MINI
Foresight Sports vs Uneekor
Foresight Sports GC3 vs SkyTrak (original)
Foresight Sports vs SkyTrak
Foresight Sports GC3 vs Uneekor EYE MINI LITE
Foresight Sports vs Uneekor
Foresight Sports GC3 vs Full Swing KIT
Foresight Sports vs Full Swing
Foresight Sports GC3 vs Square Golf Omni
Foresight Sports vs Square Golf
Foresight Sports GC3 vs Trackman 4
Foresight Sports vs Trackman