Bushnell Launch Pro vs Garmin Approach R50
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Bushnell Launch Pro is the better buy for most people at $1,500 less, unless you want a no-subscription setup.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Photometric accuracy pedigree against an all-in-one radar simulator at a similar all-in spend.
Buy the Bushnell Launch Pro if…
- You want to spend $1,500 less ($3,000 vs $4,500)
- You want tour-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R50's game-improvement class)
- You want the lighter carry (5 lb vs 9 lb)
Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the Bushnell Launch Pro needs $499/yr for full features
- You want club data included — the Bushnell Launch Pro needs a $199/yr subscription for it
- You play GSPro without another subscription — the Bushnell Launch Pro needs its vendor's $499/yr plan just to connect
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Bushnell Launch Pro $3,000 | Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $3,000 | $4,500 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | None | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Tour-grade | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | — | 16 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Measured |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Face to path | Not reported | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Subscription required ($199/yr) | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Min ball flight (ft) | — | 10 |
| Hitting zone | 7 x 10 in (ball only and ball + club, bushnellgolf.com) | — |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported (vendor sub required) | Supported |
| E6 Connect support | No | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported (vendor sub required) | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | No | No |
| FSX Play support | Supported (vendor sub required) | No |
| First-party software | FSX Play / FSX Pro / FSX 2020 / PinSeeker (Foresight software stack via Silver/Gold subscription) | Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) |
| Sim software | — | [object Object] |
| Included sim content | FSX Play requires Silver (5 courses) or Gold (25 courses + FSX 2020); GSPro requires Gold PLUS GSPro's own $250/yr license bought through Foresight ('All users must have a GOLD level subscription' - gsprogolf.com), about $750/yr all-in. Third-party sim support in general is Gold-gated (Breaking Eighty). E6 Connect: 'there's no e6 Connect support' (Breaking Eighty, Jun 2026). Awesome Golf advertises 'NOW AVAILABLE ON FORESIGHT & BUSHNELL' (brand-level claim, awesome-golf.com; Gold gating applies - model-level confirmation flagged for audit). TGC2019 is not offered for Foresight/Bushnell hardware on its retail listing and is absent from Bushnell's supported-software list. 14-day free Gold trial in the box. | Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $499/yr | $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | 'Ball data works right out of the box on the device's built-in screen with no subscription' (Breaking Eighty) - all 13 listed ball metrics, but limited app access, no club data (the club screen shows '—'), and no sim software. | All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. |
| Subscription trial | 14-day free trial of the Gold subscription included with purchase | 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Windows | iOS, Android |
| Built-in display | Color touchscreen | Color touchscreen |
| Screen mirroring | — | HDMI out |
| Connectivity | WiFi, USB-C, Ethernet | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 5 | 9 |
| Dimensions (in) | 5 L x 6 W x 12 H in | 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) |
| Battery life (hours) | 5 | 4 |
| Power source | Battery or mains | Battery or mains |
| Alignment | Manual target line | — |
| In the box | Launch Pro device, USB-C cable, Ethernet cable, alignment stick, power cord, club marker pack | Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | 12 |
Buy the Bushnell Launch Pro
Buy the Garmin Approach R50
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Bushnell Launch Pro vs Garmin Approach R50: FAQs
Which is newer: the Bushnell Launch Pro or the Garmin Approach R50?
The Garmin Approach R50 is newer, released in 2024, versus 2021 for the Bushnell Launch Pro.
Which is cheaper: the Bushnell Launch Pro or the Garmin Approach R50?
The Bushnell Launch Pro costs $3,000 and the Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500, making the Bushnell Launch Pro $1,500 cheaper.
Does the Bushnell Launch Pro or the Garmin Approach R50 need a subscription?
The Bushnell Launch Pro needs a subscription for full function ($499/yr for full features), while the Garmin Approach R50 works fully without one.
What is the main difference between the Bushnell Launch Pro and the Garmin Approach R50?
Based on recorded specs, the Bushnell Launch Pro leads on price ($1,500 cheaper) while the Garmin Approach R50 leads on subscription (No subscription needed for full function).