Garmin Approach R50 vs TruGolf LaunchBox
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the TruGolf LaunchBox is the better buy for most people at $1,501 less, unless you need included club data.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Garmin Approach R50 and TruGolf LaunchBox sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…
- You want club head data at all — the TruGolf LaunchBox doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro — the TruGolf LaunchBox doesn't support it
- You want more sim software choices (3 of the 5 major titles vs 1)
Buy the TruGolf LaunchBox if…
- You want to spend $1,501 less ($2,999 vs $4,500)
- You need longer battery life (6 hours vs 4)
- You want the lighter carry (2.7 lb vs 9 lb)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 | TruGolf LaunchBox $2,999 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $4,500 | $2,999 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | None | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | — |
| Data points per shot | 16 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Not reported |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | — |
| Attack angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Club path | Measured | Not reported |
| Face angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Face to path | Calculated | — |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | — |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | — |
| Club data unlock | Included | Not available |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 10 | — |
| Hitting zone | — | 4 x 8 in ready zone (2 in nearest the unit is the tee area) |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | No |
| E6 Connect support | Supported | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | — |
| TGC 2019 support | No | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) | E6 CONNECT (TruGolf's own title; 27-course E6 CONNECT Home license included) |
| Sim software | [object Object] | — |
| Included sim content | Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). | E6 CONNECT Home product key (PC + iOS) with 27 owned courses, multiple game modes and driving/chipping/putting ranges included; $3,499 Premium package adds Pebble Beach, Oakmont and St Andrews. Optional paid upgrades to premium courses / E6 2026. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. | No subscription required: full ball data on the built-in e-ink screen plus the included 27-course E6 CONNECT Home license ('No Subscription Fees' / 'no Annual Subscription Required' - Shop Indoor Golf). Optional paid E6 upgrades unlock premium courses, skill challenges and online tournaments. |
| Subscription trial | 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Windows |
| Built-in display | Color touchscreen | LCD readout |
| Screen mirroring | HDMI out | — |
| Connectivity | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C | WiFi, USB-C, Ethernet |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 9 | 2.7 |
| Dimensions (in) | 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) | 9.53 x 7 x 5 in |
| Battery life (hours) | 4 | 6 |
| Power source | Battery or mains | Battery or mains |
| Charging port | — | USB-C |
| Alignment | — | Auto-calibration |
| In the box | Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter | LaunchBox, power cord, power adapter, battery pack, USB-C cable, HDMI cable, E6 CONNECT Home product key (27 courses) |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | — |
Buy the Garmin Approach R50
Buy the TruGolf LaunchBox
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Garmin Approach R50 vs TruGolf LaunchBox: FAQs
Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R50 or the TruGolf LaunchBox?
The TruGolf LaunchBox is newer, released in 2026, versus 2024 for the Garmin Approach R50.
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R50 or the TruGolf LaunchBox?
The Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500 and the TruGolf LaunchBox costs $2,999, making the TruGolf LaunchBox $1,501 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach R50 or the TruGolf LaunchBox need a subscription?
Neither — both the Garmin Approach R50 and the TruGolf LaunchBox work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R50 and the TruGolf LaunchBox?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R50 leads on club data access (Club data included) while the TruGolf LaunchBox leads on price ($1,501 cheaper).