Skip to content

Garmin Approach R50 vs SkyTrak (original)

Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing

Specs updated

The SkyTrak (original) compared here is the original — the SkyTrak+ has succeeded it.

Which should you buy?

Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R50 is the better buy for most people, unless you need simulator-grade accuracy.

Garmin Approach R50 at Amazon· $4,500 Prefer the SkyTrak? Where to buy ↓

We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

An all-in-one radar studio against the classic photometric unit; upgraders from SkyTrak ask this directly.

Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…

  • You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the SkyTrak needs a subscription for full features
  • You want club head data at all — the SkyTrak doesn't offer it
  • You play GSPro — the SkyTrak doesn't support it
  • You want more sim software choices (3 of the 5 major titles vs 0)

Buy the SkyTrak if…

  • You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R50's game-improvement class)

Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Specs Comparison

Specification Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 SkyTrak
Price
Price $4,500
Measurement
Tracking technology Photometric (camera) Photometric (camera)
Radar type None None
Spin measurement Optical (any ball) Optical (any ball)
Marked balls Not required Not required
Accuracy tier Game-improvement Simulator-grade
Data points per shot 16
Ball data
Ball speed Measured Measured
Launch angle Measured Measured
Launch direction Measured Measured
Spin rate Measured Measured
Spin axis Measured Measured
Carry distance Calculated Calculated
Total distance Calculated Calculated
Apex height Calculated Calculated
Descent angle Not reported Calculated
Offline distance Calculated Calculated
Club data
Club speed Measured Calculated
Attack angle Measured Not reported
Club path Measured Not reported
Face angle Measured Not reported
Face to path Calculated Not reported
Dynamic loft Not reported Not reported
Impact location Not reported Not reported
Smash factor Calculated Calculated
Club data unlock Included Not available
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor Indoor + outdoor
Placement Beside the ball Beside the ball
Min ball flight (ft) 10
Lefty / righty Repositioning required
Installation None (portable) None (portable)
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes ✓ Yes
GSPro support Supported No
E6 Connect support Supported Dropped (legacy users only)
Awesome Golf support Supported
TGC 2019 support No Dropped (legacy users only)
FSX Play support No No
First-party software Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages)
Sim software [object Object]
Included sim content Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified.
Subscription
Subscription (per year) $100/yr From $100/yr
Works without subscription All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator).
Subscription trial 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf)
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android iOS, Windows
Built-in display Color touchscreen
Screen mirroring HDMI out
Connectivity WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C WiFi
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 9
Dimensions (in) 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D)
Battery life (hours) 4 5
Power source Battery or mains Rechargeable battery
In the box Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter
Warranty
Warranty (months) 12 6

Buy the Garmin Approach R50

SkyTrak (original) availability

Keep shopping

Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.

Garmin Approach R50 vs SkyTrak (original): FAQs

Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R50 or the SkyTrak (original)?

The Garmin Approach R50 is newer, released in 2024, versus 2014 for the SkyTrak (original).

Does the Garmin Approach R50 or the SkyTrak (original) need a subscription?

The SkyTrak (original) needs a subscription for full function, while the Garmin Approach R50 works fully without one.

What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R50 and the SkyTrak (original)?

Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R50 leads on subscription (No subscription needed for full function) while the SkyTrak (original) leads on accuracy tier (Simulator-grade accuracy class).