Full Swing KIT vs Garmin Approach R50
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R50 is the better buy for most people at $499 less, unless you need simulator-grade accuracy.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Full Swing KIT and Garmin Approach R50 sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the Full Swing KIT if…
- You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R50's game-improvement class)
- You want the lighter carry (4 lb vs 9 lb)
Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…
- You want to spend $499 less ($4,500 vs $4,999)
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the Full Swing KIT measures spin by radar on any ball
- You want more sim software choices (3 of the 5 major titles vs 1)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Full Swing KIT $4,999 | Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $4,999 | $4,500 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | None |
| Spin measurement | Radar (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 16 | 16 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Measured |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured |
| Face to path | — | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Beside the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 8 | — |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | 10 |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | Supported |
| E6 Connect support | Dropped (legacy users only) | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | No | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | — | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Full Swing Golf for KIT (KIT Studio PC packages only, 15 courses) | Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) |
| Sim software | — | [object Object] |
| Included sim content | Free Full Swing app includes 'indoor virtual gameplay options... including simulations across 100+ courses and mini-games' (PlayBetter listing, 2026-09-14). The full first-party sim, Full Swing Golf for KIT (15 courses incl. Spyglass Hill and PGA TOUR stops), is sold only inside KIT Studio turnkey PC packages from $9,500 with its own subscription - it cannot be bought for a self-built PC. GSPro (Windows, ~$250/yr to GSPro) connects officially with no Full Swing subscription requirement noted on GSPro's device list. | Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | All 16 club and ball metrics, the built-in display, swing-video replay and third-party sim connection (GSPro) work with the free app - 'no data paywalled; app and camera free' and the official FAQ says the 16 metrics come with 'no unlock needed'. Premium ($99.99/yr) only adds historic data, unlimited video storage, improvement tracking/analysis and data sharing (PlayBetter review, updated 2025-06). | All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. |
| Subscription trial | 30-day free Premium trial | 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS | iOS, Android |
| Watch app | Apple Watch | — |
| Built-in display | — | Color touchscreen |
| Screen mirroring | — | HDMI out |
| Connectivity | WiFi, Bluetooth | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 4 | 9 |
| Dimensions (in) | 10.23 x 6.57 x 2.32 in (3.74 in with support leg extended) | 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) |
| Battery life (hours) | 5 | 4 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Battery or mains |
| Charging port | USB-C | — |
| Alignment | App-guided | — |
| In the box | Full Swing KIT launch monitor, protective travel case, charging block, USB-C charging cable | Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | 12 |
Buy the Full Swing KIT
Buy the Garmin Approach R50
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Full Swing KIT vs Garmin Approach R50: FAQs
Which is newer: the Full Swing KIT or the Garmin Approach R50?
The Garmin Approach R50 is newer, released in 2024, versus 2021 for the Full Swing KIT.
Which is cheaper: the Full Swing KIT or the Garmin Approach R50?
The Full Swing KIT costs $4,999 and the Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500, making the Garmin Approach R50 $499 cheaper.
Does the Full Swing KIT or the Garmin Approach R50 need a subscription?
Neither — both the Full Swing KIT and the Garmin Approach R50 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the Full Swing KIT or the Garmin Approach R50?
The Garmin Approach R50 has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Full Swing KIT measures spin by radar from the ball's flight, on any ball. The Garmin Approach R50 measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
What is the main difference between the Full Swing KIT and the Garmin Approach R50?
Based on recorded specs, the Full Swing KIT leads on accuracy tier (Simulator-grade accuracy class) while the Garmin Approach R50 leads on price ($499 cheaper).