FlightScope Mevo+ vs Garmin Approach R50
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The FlightScope Mevo+ compared here is the original — the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 has succeeded it.
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the FlightScope Mevo+ is the better buy for most people at $3,401 less while closeout stock lasts, unless you need camera-measured spin on any ball.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Cross-budget question buyers ask when deciding whether to step up from the FlightScope Mevo+ toward the Garmin Approach R50.
Buy the FlightScope Mevo+ if…
- You want to spend $3,401 less ($1,099 vs $4,500) — closeout pricing
- You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R50's game-improvement class)
- You want the lighter carry (1 lb vs 9 lb)
Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the FlightScope Mevo+ measures spin outdoors but needs RCT balls or stickers indoors
- You want club data included — the FlightScope Mevo+ needs a $1,499 one-time unlock for it
- You want readings without a phone — it has a built-in touchscreen
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | FlightScope Mevo+ $1,099 | Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $1,099 | $4,500 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | None |
| Spin measurement | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | RCT balls or stickers | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 20 | 16 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Calculated |
| Descent angle | — | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Measured |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured |
| Face to path | Measured | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | — | Not reported |
| Impact location | Measured (marked ball) | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Basics included; full set paid ($1,499) | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Beside the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 7 | — |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | 10 |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Native | Supported |
| E6 Connect support | Supported | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | Supported | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | FS Golf | Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | [object Object] |
| Included sim content | Exclusive 12-course E6 Connect license (iOS & PC) included - Pebble Beach, Old Course St Andrews, Bethpage Black, Bay Hill, Harbour Town, The Greenbrier, The Belfry, Banff Springs, Panther Lake, Wade Hampton, Oslo GC, Aviara - plus 17 ranges and a mini game, 'no additional license fee or subscription required' (flightscope.com, 2026-09-14). | Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | Core data will 'always be available free of charge without a subscription fee'; firmware/software updates free. Optional one-time paid upgrades: Pro Package, Face Impact Location, Badger AI, Planning Tool (flightscope.com, 2026-09-14). | All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. |
| Subscription trial | — | 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, Android |
| Built-in display | None | Color touchscreen |
| Screen mirroring | — | HDMI out |
| Connectivity | WiFi | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 1 | 9 |
| Dimensions (in) | 6.8 x 1.2 x 4.6 in | 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) |
| Battery life (hours) | 3 | 4 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Battery or mains |
| Alignment | App-guided | — |
| In the box | 100 aluminum metallic spin stickers, USB charging cable, power adapter, 12-course E6 Connect license | Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | 12 |
Buy the FlightScope Mevo+
Buy the Garmin Approach R50
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
FlightScope Mevo+ vs Garmin Approach R50: FAQs
Which is newer: the FlightScope Mevo+ or the Garmin Approach R50?
The Garmin Approach R50 is newer, released in 2024, versus 2020 for the FlightScope Mevo+.
Which is cheaper: the FlightScope Mevo+ or the Garmin Approach R50?
The FlightScope Mevo+ costs $1,099 and the Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500, making the FlightScope Mevo+ $3,401 cheaper.
Does the FlightScope Mevo+ or the Garmin Approach R50 need a subscription?
Neither — both the FlightScope Mevo+ and the Garmin Approach R50 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the FlightScope Mevo+ or the Garmin Approach R50?
The Garmin Approach R50 has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The FlightScope Mevo+ measures spin by radar outdoors with full ball flight; indoors it needs RCT balls or stickers for measured spin. The Garmin Approach R50 measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
What is the main difference between the FlightScope Mevo+ and the Garmin Approach R50?
Based on recorded specs, the FlightScope Mevo+ leads on price ($3,401 cheaper) while the Garmin Approach R50 leads on spin measurement (Camera-measured spin on any ball).