SkyTrak+ vs SkyTrak ST MAX
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the SkyTrak ST MAX is the current model; the original SkyTrak+ is the value pick at $500 less while closeout stock lasts.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
SkyTrak's closeout model against the ST MAX that replaced it — buy the deal or buy the current unit.
Buy the SkyTrak+ if…
- You want to spend $500 less ($1,195 vs $1,695) — closeout pricing
Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX if…
On recorded specs alone there is no clear reason to pick the SkyTrak ST MAX over its rival here — compare the full table below.
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | SkyTrak+ $1,195 | SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $1,195 | $1,695 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | Dual Doppler | Dual Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Simulator-grade |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | — | Indoor only |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Min room depth (ft) | — | 12 |
| Min room width (ft) | — | 12 |
| Ceiling height (ft) | — | 9 |
| Hitting zone | — | ~4 x 4 in (ball placement zone, skytrakgolf.com) |
| Lefty / righty | — | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Dropped (legacy users only) | No |
| E6 Connect support | Dropped (legacy users only) | No |
| TGC 2019 support | Dropped (legacy users only) | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | SkyTrak Course Play (added in the 5.0 update, mid-2024; Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs added 2025) | SkyTrak Course Play (Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs inside the SkyTrak app; 95+ courses on Elite) |
| Included sim content | Third-party support (E6 Connect, GSPro) was officially dropped for new customers in 2025-26; 'existing SkyTrak+ owners keep their connection' (Breaking Eighty) - the definitive dropped_legacy case. GSPro's current supported list carries no SkyTrak model. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; SkyTrak's Core: Foresight tier licenses Foresight courses inside SkyTrak's own software instead. | Shop Indoor Golf: 'The ST MAX only integrates with SkyTrak Golf Simulator Software!' SkyTrak officially dropped third-party support (GSPro, E6 Connect) for new customers in 2025-26; existing SkyTrak+ owners were grandfathered, but a new ST MAX buyer gets first-party software only (Breaking Eighty). GSPro's official supported list carries no SkyTrak model and its FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; the Core: Foresight membership licenses Foresight COURSES inside SkyTrak's own software, not FSX. 14-day trial of Sweetens Cove course play included; End of Summer Sale bundled 1 year of Core membership free. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $600/yr | $600/yr |
| Works without subscription | Free Basic tier: SkyTrak practice/driving range with full shot data ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the game-improvement suites require a paid plan. | Free Basic plan: SkyTrak Driving Range with ball and club data, Sim Club membership and PinSeeker access ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the improvement suites require a paid tier. |
| Subscription trial | — | 14-day trial access to play Sweetens Cove plus improvement features; End of Summer Sale included 1 year free Core (Foresight) membership |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, Android, Windows, macOS |
| Watch app | — | None |
| Built-in display | — | None |
| Connectivity | WiFi, USB-C | WiFi, USB-C |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | — | 1.7 |
| Dimensions (in) | — | 6.875 H x 5.75 W x 2.5 D in |
| Battery life (hours) | — | 4 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C | USB-C |
| Alignment | — | Manual target line |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | — | 6 |
Buy the SkyTrak+
Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
SkyTrak+ vs SkyTrak ST MAX: FAQs
Which is newer: the SkyTrak+ or the SkyTrak ST MAX?
The SkyTrak ST MAX is newer, released in 2025, versus 2023 for the SkyTrak+.
Which is cheaper: the SkyTrak+ or the SkyTrak ST MAX?
The SkyTrak+ costs $1,195 and the SkyTrak ST MAX costs $1,695, making the SkyTrak+ $500 cheaper.
Does the SkyTrak+ or the SkyTrak ST MAX need a subscription?
Both do: the SkyTrak+ ($600/yr for full features) and the SkyTrak ST MAX ($600/yr for full features) each need a subscription for full function.