SkyTrak+ vs Square Golf Launch Monitor
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The Square Golf Launch Monitor compared here is the original — the Square Golf Omni has succeeded it.
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Square Golf Launch Monitor is the better buy for most people at $496 less, unless you need simulator-grade accuracy.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
SkyTrak+ and Square Golf Launch Monitor sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the SkyTrak+ if…
- You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Square Golf Launch Monitor's game-improvement class)
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads spin with marked balls
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor if…
- You want to spend $496 less ($699 vs $1,195)
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the SkyTrak+ needs $600/yr for full features
- You play GSPro — the SkyTrak+ officially dropped it
- You want more sim software choices (3 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | SkyTrak+ $1,195 | Square Golf Launch Monitor $699 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $1,195 | $699 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Dual Doppler | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Marked balls only |
| Marked balls | Not required | — |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Game-improvement |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | — |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Not reported |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Club path | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face to path | — | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | — | Indoor only |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Hitting zone | — | 5.9 x 5.9 in (15 x 15 cm) |
| Lefty / righty | — | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Dropped (legacy users only) | Native |
| E6 Connect support | Dropped (legacy users only) | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | — | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | Dropped (legacy users only) | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | SkyTrak Course Play (added in the 5.0 update, mid-2024; Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs added 2025) | Square Golf app (credit-based course play, free range) |
| Included sim content | Third-party support (E6 Connect, GSPro) was officially dropped for new customers in 2025-26; 'existing SkyTrak+ owners keep their connection' (Breaking Eighty) - the definitive dropped_legacy case. GSPro's current supported list carries no SkyTrak model. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; SkyTrak's Core: Foresight tier licenses Foresight courses inside SkyTrak's own software instead. | Square Golf app with 1,000 welcome credits (~55+ solo rounds; 1 credit per hole per golfer, refills from ~$0.02/credit, under $1/round) and free driving range, closest-to-pin, putting practice and game modes. Course count claims differ: PlayBetter's product page lists '10 ultra-realistic courses with 10 more coming soon' while Golfible (2025-11) counts 16 courses, all fictional. GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect via free official plug-ins with no device-side fee (titles sold separately). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $600/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | Free Basic tier: SkyTrak practice/driving range with full shot data ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the game-improvement suites require a paid plan. | No subscription exists: full ball/club data, driving range and third-party sim plug-ins (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf) are free with the device. First-party course play uses one-time consumable credits instead of a subscription - 1,000 included, ~55+ solo rounds, refills under $1 per round. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Built-in display | — | None |
| Connectivity | WiFi, USB-C | Bluetooth |
| Physical & power | ||
| Dimensions (in) | — | 7.5 x 2.8 x 2.8 in (19 x 7 x 7 cm) |
| Battery life (hours) | — | 8 |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C | — |
| Alignment | — | App-guided |
| In the box | — | Square Golf launch monitor, swing stick (70 cm), 3 dotted marking balls, club shaft marking stickers (20), remote control with li-ion battery, removable li-ion battery |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | — | 24 |
Buy the SkyTrak+
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
SkyTrak+ vs Square Golf Launch Monitor: FAQs
Which is newer: the SkyTrak+ or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor is newer, released in 2024, versus 2023 for the SkyTrak+.
Which is cheaper: the SkyTrak+ or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The SkyTrak+ costs $1,195 and the Square Golf Launch Monitor costs $699, making the Square Golf Launch Monitor $496 cheaper.
Does the SkyTrak+ or the Square Golf Launch Monitor need a subscription?
The SkyTrak+ needs a subscription for full function ($600/yr for full features), while the Square Golf Launch Monitor works fully without one.
Which measures spin better: the SkyTrak+ or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The SkyTrak+ has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The SkyTrak+ measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball. The Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads measured spin with marked balls.
What is the main difference between the SkyTrak+ and the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
Based on recorded specs, the SkyTrak+ leads on accuracy tier (Simulator-grade accuracy class) while the Square Golf Launch Monitor leads on price ($496 cheaper).