Garmin Approach R10 vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the two cost about the same up front, but the Garmin Approach R10 works out $400 cheaper over three years once subscriptions are counted, unless you need measured spin (with marked balls).
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
The two best-known sub-$700 monitors and the default first-monitor cross-shop: radar-only versus radar-plus-camera.
Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the Rapsodo MLM2PRO needs $200/yr for full features
- You're keeping it three years or more — total cost works out $400 lower ($800 vs $1,200 with subscriptions counted)
- You want club data included — the Rapsodo MLM2PRO needs a $200/yr subscription for it
- You play GSPro without another subscription — the Rapsodo MLM2PRO needs its vendor's $200/yr plan just to connect
Buy the Rapsodo MLM2PRO if…
- You want trustworthy spin — it only reads spin with Rapsodo RPT balls (~$70/dozen), while the Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from other data
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach R10 $500 | Rapsodo MLM2PRO $600 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $500 | $600 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Camera frame rate (fps) | — | 240 |
| Spin measurement | Estimated | Marked balls only |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | Rapsodo RPT balls |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 14 | 15 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Spin axis | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Calculated | Measured |
| Club path | Calculated | Measured |
| Face angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Face to path | — | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | — | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Subscription required ($200/yr) |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 6 | 6.5 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | 8 |
| Min room depth (ft) | — | 14 |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | Supported (vendor sub required) |
| E6 Connect support | Native | Supported (vendor sub required) |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | Supported (vendor sub required) |
| TGC 2019 support | Supported | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Garmin Home Tee Hero | Rapsodo Courses (30,000+ simulated courses + 2 virtual ranges, Premium) |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | E6 Apex |
| Included sim content | Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect | 45-day Premium trial included with purchase. Plugged In Golf (2023-12) recorded an included E6 Connect code unlocking five courses and a short Awesome Golf trial - re-verify current bundle contents before quoting; not shown on the 2026-09-14 official page. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | $200/yr |
| Works without subscription | All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. | Official membership page (2026-09-14): the device works without Premium, but 'speed training, club data and full-course access require premium membership'. Premium gates the 15-metric set (incl. spin rate/axis, club path, angle of attack), Rapsodo Courses, third-party sim access (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf), Impact Vision, R-Cloud 10K shot library, R-Speed, and Combine. |
| Subscription trial | — | 45-day Premium trial ('The free trial of the MLM2PRO Premium Membership is 45 days'; auto-renews unless cancelled via R-Cloud) |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android |
| Watch app | Garmin watch | — |
| Built-in display | None | None |
| Screen mirroring | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.33 | — |
| Dimensions (in) | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 | — |
| Battery life (hours) | 10 | 4 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | Micro-USB | USB-C |
| Alignment | App-guided | — |
| In the box | Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable | MLM2PRO unit, tripod, carrying case, USB-C charging cable, RPT 3-ball sleeve (Titleist Pro V1 or Callaway Chrome Tour), quick start guide, 45-day Premium trial |
Buy the Garmin Approach R10
Buy the Rapsodo MLM2PRO
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
All Garmin vs Rapsodo comparisons
Garmin Approach R10 vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO: FAQs
Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Rapsodo MLM2PRO?
The Rapsodo MLM2PRO is newer, released in 2023, versus 2021 for the Garmin Approach R10.
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Rapsodo MLM2PRO?
The Garmin Approach R10 costs $500 and the Rapsodo MLM2PRO costs $600, making the Garmin Approach R10 $100 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the Rapsodo MLM2PRO need a subscription?
The Rapsodo MLM2PRO needs a subscription for full function ($200/yr for full features), while the Garmin Approach R10 works fully without one.
Which measures spin better: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Rapsodo MLM2PRO?
The Rapsodo MLM2PRO has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from its other measured parameters rather than measuring it directly. The Rapsodo MLM2PRO only reads measured spin with Rapsodo RPT balls (about $70 per dozen).
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the Rapsodo MLM2PRO?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on price ($100 cheaper) while the Rapsodo MLM2PRO leads on spin measurement (Measured spin (with marked balls)).