Square Golf Launch Monitor vs Square Golf Omni
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Square Golf Omni is the current model; the original Square Golf Launch Monitor is the value pick at $901 less if you find it in stock.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Square's indoor-only original against the indoor/outdoor Omni — the in-brand question for a fast-growing budget brand.
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor if…
- You want to spend $901 less ($699 vs $1,600)
- You need longer battery life (8 hours vs 6)
Buy the Square Golf Omni if…
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads spin with marked balls
- You also want to use it outdoors at the range (the Square Golf Launch Monitor is indoor-only)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Square Golf Launch Monitor $699 | Square Golf Omni $1,600 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $699 | $1,600 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | None | None |
| Spin measurement | Marked balls only | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | — | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | — |
| Data points per shot | — | 15 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured (marked ball) | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured (marked ball) | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Offline distance | — | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Not reported | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured (marked ball) | Measured |
| Club path | Measured (marked ball) | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured (marked ball) | Calculated |
| Face to path | Not reported | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Measured (marked ball) | Calculated |
| Impact location | Not reported | Measured |
| Smash factor | Not reported | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor only | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Hitting zone | 5.9 x 5.9 in (15 x 15 cm) | 10 x 10 in ready zone; ball must sit in the front half (~5 in depth) for club data (Golf Simulator Videos review) |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Native | Native |
| E6 Connect support | Native | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | Supported |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Square Golf app (credit-based course play, free range) | Square Golf built-in simulator (credit-based course play; 1,000 free credits included) |
| Included sim content | Square Golf app with 1,000 welcome credits (~55+ solo rounds; 1 credit per hole per golfer, refills from ~$0.02/credit, under $1/round) and free driving range, closest-to-pin, putting practice and game modes. Course count claims differ: PlayBetter's product page lists '10 ultra-realistic courses with 10 more coming soon' while Golfible (2025-11) counts 16 courses, all fictional. GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect via free official plug-ins with no device-side fee (titles sold separately). | Built-in simulator with multiple courses and 1,000 free credits included (pay-per-play credits after); third-party sim connectivity carries no extra cost from Square (PlayBetter FAQ). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | None |
| Works without subscription | No subscription exists: full ball/club data, driving range and third-party sim plug-ins (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf) are free with the device. First-party course play uses one-time consumable credits instead of a subscription - 1,000 included, ~55+ solo rounds, refills under $1 per round. | No annual subscription: full ball + club data, built-in display, and third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6 Connect, Awesome Golf) at no extra cost from Square. Built-in simulator course play uses a credit system (1,000 credits included, pay-and-play after). |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Built-in display | None | LCD readout |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Dimensions (in) | 7.5 x 2.8 x 2.8 in (19 x 7 x 7 cm) | 2.8 (W) x 2.4 (D) x 14.2 (H) in with tripod |
| Battery life (hours) | 8 | 6 |
| Removable battery | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Alignment | App-guided | Manual target line |
| In the box | Square Golf launch monitor, swing stick (70 cm), 3 dotted marking balls, club shaft marking stickers (20), remote control with li-ion battery, removable li-ion battery | launch monitor, tripod stand, Li-ion battery, charger and cables, target line alignment stick, shaft stickers, clubface stickers |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 24 | — |
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor
Buy the Square Golf Omni
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Square Golf Launch Monitor vs Square Golf Omni: FAQs
Which is cheaper: the Square Golf Launch Monitor or the Square Golf Omni?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor costs $699 and the Square Golf Omni costs $1,600, making the Square Golf Launch Monitor $901 cheaper.
Does the Square Golf Launch Monitor or the Square Golf Omni need a subscription?
Neither — both the Square Golf Launch Monitor and the Square Golf Omni work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the Square Golf Launch Monitor or the Square Golf Omni?
The Square Golf Omni has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads measured spin with marked balls. The Square Golf Omni measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
What is the main difference between the Square Golf Launch Monitor and the Square Golf Omni?
Based on recorded specs, the Square Golf Launch Monitor leads on price ($901 cheaper) while the Square Golf Omni leads on spin measurement (Camera-measured spin on any ball).