Garmin Approach R10 vs Square Golf Launch Monitor
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R10 is the better buy for most people at $199 less, unless you need measured spin (with marked balls).
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Radar versus budget photometric: the R10 against Square Golf's camera unit for indoor-first buyers.
Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…
- You want to spend $199 less ($500 vs $699)
- You also want to use it outdoors at the range (the Square Golf Launch Monitor is indoor-only)
- You have right- and left-handed players — no repositioning between them (the Square Golf Launch Monitor must be physically moved)
- You need longer battery life (10 hours vs 8)
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor if…
- You want trustworthy spin — it only reads spin with marked balls, while the Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from other data
- You want real measured club data (3 of 5 club metrics measured vs 1)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach R10 $500 | Square Golf Launch Monitor $699 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $500 | $699 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | None |
| Spin measurement | Estimated | Marked balls only |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | — |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 14 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Spin axis | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | — |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Not reported |
| Attack angle | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Club path | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face angle | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face to path | — | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | — | Measured (marked ball) |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor only |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Beside the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 6 | — |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | — |
| Hitting zone | — | 5.9 x 5.9 in (15 x 15 cm) |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | Native |
| E6 Connect support | Native | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | Supported | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Garmin Home Tee Hero | Square Golf app (credit-based course play, free range) |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | — |
| Included sim content | Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect | Square Golf app with 1,000 welcome credits (~55+ solo rounds; 1 credit per hole per golfer, refills from ~$0.02/credit, under $1/round) and free driving range, closest-to-pin, putting practice and game modes. Course count claims differ: PlayBetter's product page lists '10 ultra-realistic courses with 10 more coming soon' while Golfible (2025-11) counts 16 courses, all fictional. GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect via free official plug-ins with no device-side fee (titles sold separately). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. | No subscription exists: full ball/club data, driving range and third-party sim plug-ins (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf) are free with the device. First-party course play uses one-time consumable credits instead of a subscription - 1,000 included, ~55+ solo rounds, refills under $1 per round. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Watch app | Garmin watch | — |
| Built-in display | None | None |
| Screen mirroring | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) | — |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | Bluetooth |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.33 | — |
| Dimensions (in) | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 | 7.5 x 2.8 x 2.8 in (19 x 7 x 7 cm) |
| Battery life (hours) | 10 | 8 |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | Micro-USB | — |
| Alignment | App-guided | App-guided |
| In the box | Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable | Square Golf launch monitor, swing stick (70 cm), 3 dotted marking balls, club shaft marking stickers (20), remote control with li-ion battery, removable li-ion battery |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | — | 24 |
Buy the Garmin Approach R10
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Garmin Approach R10 vs Square Golf Launch Monitor: FAQs
Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor is newer, released in 2024, versus 2021 for the Garmin Approach R10.
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The Garmin Approach R10 costs $500 and the Square Golf Launch Monitor costs $699, making the Garmin Approach R10 $199 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the Square Golf Launch Monitor need a subscription?
Neither — both the Garmin Approach R10 and the Square Golf Launch Monitor work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from its other measured parameters rather than measuring it directly. The Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads measured spin with marked balls.
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on price ($199 cheaper) while the Square Golf Launch Monitor leads on 3-year cost ($101 cheaper over three years).