Skip to content

SkyTrak (original) vs SkyTrak ST MAX

Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing

Specs updated

The SkyTrak (original) compared here is the original — the SkyTrak+ has succeeded it.

SkyTrak ST MAX

SkyTrak ST MAX

SkyTrak

$1,695

Which should you buy?

Bottom line: the SkyTrak ST MAX is the better buy for most people, unless you need outdoor range use.

SkyTrak ST MAX at Amazon· $1,695 Prefer the SkyTrak? Where to buy ↓

We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

First-generation SkyTrak owners weighing the jump to the current ST MAX.

Buy the SkyTrak if…

  • You also want to use it outdoors at the range (the SkyTrak ST MAX is indoor-only)

Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX if…

  • You want club head data at all — the SkyTrak doesn't offer it

Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Specs Comparison

Specification SkyTrak SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695
Price
Price $1,695
Measurement
Tracking technology Photometric (camera) Radar + camera fusion
Radar type None Dual Doppler
Spin measurement Optical (any ball) Optical (any ball)
Marked balls Not required Not required
Accuracy tier Simulator-grade Simulator-grade
Ball data
Ball speed Measured Measured
Launch angle Measured Measured
Launch direction Measured Measured
Spin rate Measured Measured
Spin axis Measured Measured
Carry distance Calculated Calculated
Total distance Calculated Calculated
Apex height Calculated Calculated
Descent angle Calculated Calculated
Offline distance Calculated Calculated
Club data
Club speed Calculated Measured
Attack angle Not reported Not reported
Club path Not reported Measured
Face angle Not reported Measured
Face to path Not reported
Dynamic loft Not reported Not reported
Impact location Not reported Not reported
Smash factor Calculated Calculated
Club data unlock Not available Included
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor Indoor only
Placement Beside the ball Beside the ball
Min room depth (ft) 12
Min room width (ft) 12
Ceiling height (ft) 9
Hitting zone ~4 x 4 in (ball placement zone, skytrakgolf.com)
Lefty / righty Repositioning required Repositioning required
Installation None (portable) None (portable)
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes ✓ Yes
GSPro support No No
E6 Connect support Dropped (legacy users only) No
TGC 2019 support Dropped (legacy users only) No
FSX Play support No No
First-party software SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages) SkyTrak Course Play (Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs inside the SkyTrak app; 95+ courses on Elite)
Included sim content Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified. Shop Indoor Golf: 'The ST MAX only integrates with SkyTrak Golf Simulator Software!' SkyTrak officially dropped third-party support (GSPro, E6 Connect) for new customers in 2025-26; existing SkyTrak+ owners were grandfathered, but a new ST MAX buyer gets first-party software only (Breaking Eighty). GSPro's official supported list carries no SkyTrak model and its FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; the Core: Foresight membership licenses Foresight COURSES inside SkyTrak's own software, not FSX. 14-day trial of Sweetens Cove course play included; End of Summer Sale bundled 1 year of Core membership free.
Subscription
Subscription (per year) From $100/yr $600/yr
Works without subscription Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator). Free Basic plan: SkyTrak Driving Range with ball and club data, Sim Club membership and PinSeeker access ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the improvement suites require a paid tier.
Subscription trial 14-day trial access to play Sweetens Cove plus improvement features; End of Summer Sale included 1 year free Core (Foresight) membership
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Windows iOS, Android, Windows, macOS
Watch app None
Built-in display None
Connectivity WiFi WiFi, USB-C
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 1.7
Dimensions (in) 6.875 H x 5.75 W x 2.5 D in
Battery life (hours) 5 4
Power source Rechargeable battery Rechargeable battery
Charging port USB-C
Alignment Manual target line
Warranty
Warranty (months) 6 6

SkyTrak (original) availability

Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX

Keep shopping

Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.

SkyTrak (original) vs SkyTrak ST MAX: FAQs

Which is newer: the SkyTrak (original) or the SkyTrak ST MAX?

The SkyTrak ST MAX is newer, released in 2025, versus 2014 for the SkyTrak (original).

Does the SkyTrak (original) or the SkyTrak ST MAX need a subscription?

Both do: the SkyTrak (original) and the SkyTrak ST MAX ($600/yr for full features) each need a subscription for full function.

What is the main difference between the SkyTrak (original) and the SkyTrak ST MAX?

Based on recorded specs, the SkyTrak (original) leads on environment (Works indoors and outdoors) while the SkyTrak ST MAX leads on measured club data (3 of 5 club metrics measured (vs 0)).