FlightScope Mevo (original) vs FlightScope Mevo+
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The FlightScope Mevo (original) compared here is the original — the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 has succeeded it.
The FlightScope Mevo+ compared here is the original — the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 has succeeded it.
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the FlightScope Mevo is the better buy for most people at $600 less, unless you need simulator-grade accuracy.
The entry Mevo against the sim-capable Mevo+; a long-running FlightScope step-up question.
Buy the FlightScope Mevo if…
- You want to spend $600 less ($499 vs $1,099)
Buy the FlightScope Mevo+ if…
- You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the FlightScope Mevo's game-improvement class)
- You want club head data at all — the FlightScope Mevo doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro — the FlightScope Mevo doesn't support it
- You want more sim software choices (4 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | FlightScope Mevo $499 | FlightScope Mevo+ $1,099 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $499 | $1,099 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors |
| Marked balls | Metallic stickers | RCT balls or stickers |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Simulator-grade |
| Data points per shot | 8 | 20 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Not reported | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Not reported | Measured |
| Carry distance | Measured | Measured |
| Total distance | Not reported | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Measured |
| Descent angle | Not reported | — |
| Offline distance | Not reported | Measured |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Club path | Not reported | Measured |
| Face angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Face to path | Not reported | Measured |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | — |
| Impact location | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Basics included; full set paid ($1,499) |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 4 | 7 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | — | 8 |
| Lefty / righty | — | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✕ No | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | Native |
| E6 Connect support | No | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | No | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | No | Supported |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | none | FS Golf |
| Sim software | — | Creative Golf 3D |
| Included sim content | — | Exclusive 12-course E6 Connect license (iOS & PC) included - Pebble Beach, Old Course St Andrews, Bethpage Black, Bay Hill, Harbour Town, The Greenbrier, The Belfry, Banff Springs, Panther Lake, Wade Hampton, Oslo GC, Aviara - plus 17 ranges and a mini game, 'no additional license fee or subscription required' (flightscope.com, 2026-09-14). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | None |
| Works without subscription | All 8 parameters, app data upload to MyFlightScope, and swing video with data overlay are free - no subscription exists for the original Mevo (Breaking Eighty review + reader comments, 2026-01). | Core data will 'always be available free of charge without a subscription fee'; firmware/software updates free. Optional one-time paid upgrades: Pro Package, Face Impact Location, Badger AI, Planning Tool (flightscope.com, 2026-09-14). |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Watch app | Apple Watch | — |
| Built-in display | None | None |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | WiFi |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.45 | 1 |
| Dimensions (in) | 3.55 x 2.76 x 1.18 in | 6.8 x 1.2 x 4.6 in |
| Battery life (hours) | — | 3 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Alignment | — | App-guided |
| In the box | Mevo launch monitor, USB charging cable, carrying case, 50 metallic stickers | 100 aluminum metallic spin stickers, USB charging cable, power adapter, 12-course E6 Connect license |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | — | 12 |
FlightScope Mevo (original) availability
Buy the FlightScope Mevo+
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
FlightScope Mevo (original) vs FlightScope Mevo+: FAQs
Which is newer: the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the FlightScope Mevo+?
The FlightScope Mevo+ is newer, released in 2020, versus 2017 for the FlightScope Mevo (original).
Which is cheaper: the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the FlightScope Mevo+?
The FlightScope Mevo (original) costs $499 and the FlightScope Mevo+ costs $1,099, making the FlightScope Mevo (original) $600 cheaper.
Does the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the FlightScope Mevo+ need a subscription?
Neither — both the FlightScope Mevo (original) and the FlightScope Mevo+ work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
What is the main difference between the FlightScope Mevo (original) and the FlightScope Mevo+?
Based on recorded specs, the FlightScope Mevo (original) leads on price ($600 cheaper) while the FlightScope Mevo+ leads on accuracy tier (Simulator-grade accuracy class).