Blue Tees Rainmaker vs Garmin Approach R10
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R10 is the better buy for most people.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
2026's new screen-equipped Rainmaker against the R10 it undercuts; early buyers want the accuracy trade-offs.
Buy the Blue Tees Rainmaker if…
On recorded specs alone there is no clear reason to pick the Blue Tees Rainmaker over its rival here — compare the full table below.
Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…
- You want more sim software choices (4 of the 5 major titles vs 2)
- You need longer battery life (10 hours vs 6)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Blue Tees Rainmaker $500 | Garmin Approach R10 $500 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $500 | $500 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Estimated | Estimated |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | Titleist RCT balls |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 20 | 14 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Calculated | Calculated |
| Spin axis | Calculated | Calculated |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club path | Calculated | Calculated |
| Face angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 5 | 6 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | — | 8 |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | Supported |
| E6 Connect support | Supported | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | No | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | — | Supported |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | LAUNCH 3D Range | Garmin Home Tee Hero |
| Sim software | — | Creative Golf 3D |
| Included sim content | E6 Connect promotional offer included in box (Shop Indoor Golf listing). Blue Tees' own full-course simulation is planned 'as part of a future membership package later in 2026' - not live as of 2026-09-14. | Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $79/yr | $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | Standalone without membership: 13 on-device metrics on the 4.3-in display, 1,000-shot onboard storage, Practice / Target Distance / Swing Speed modes, magnetic remote, multiplayer - no phone required. Third-party sim integrations are stated to come without extra fees (Shop Indoor Golf). First year of the $79.99 AI/analytics membership is included with purchase. | All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. |
| Subscription trial | 1-year AI/analytics membership ($79.99 value) included with purchase | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android |
| Watch app | — | Garmin watch |
| Built-in display | LCD readout | None |
| Screen mirroring | — | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) |
| Connectivity | — | Bluetooth |
| Offline mode | ✓ Yes | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 1.59 | 0.33 |
| Dimensions (in) | 9.0 x 5.2 x 1.3 in | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 |
| Battery life (hours) | 6 | 10 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C | Micro-USB |
| Alignment | — | App-guided |
| In the box | protective carry case, USB-C charging cable, magnetic remote, quick start guide, E6 Connect promotional offer | Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable |
Buy the Blue Tees Rainmaker
Buy the Garmin Approach R10
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Blue Tees Rainmaker vs Garmin Approach R10: FAQs
Which is newer: the Blue Tees Rainmaker or the Garmin Approach R10?
The Blue Tees Rainmaker is newer, released in 2026, versus 2021 for the Garmin Approach R10.
Which is cheaper: the Blue Tees Rainmaker or the Garmin Approach R10?
The Blue Tees Rainmaker costs $500 and the Garmin Approach R10 costs $500, making the Blue Tees Rainmaker $0 cheaper.
Does the Blue Tees Rainmaker or the Garmin Approach R10 need a subscription?
Neither — both the Blue Tees Rainmaker and the Garmin Approach R10 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
What is the main difference between the Blue Tees Rainmaker and the Garmin Approach R10?
Based on recorded specs, the Blue Tees Rainmaker leads on price ($0 cheaper) while the Garmin Approach R10 leads on sim software (2 more sim titles supported).