Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus vs SkyTrak ST MAX
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Why Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus is better
- Price: $695 cheaper (999.99 vs 1695)
- Subscription: No subscription needed for full function (Not required vs Required)
- 3-year cost: $2,495 cheaper over three years (999.99 vs 3494.97)
- Sim software: 2 more sim titles supported (2 vs 0)
Why SkyTrak ST MAX is better
- Weight: 4.3 lb lighter (1.7 vs 6)
Specs Comparison
Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus $1,000 vs SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695
| Specification | Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus $1,000 | SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $1,000 | $1,695 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | — | Dual Doppler |
| Spin measurement | — | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | — | Simulator-grade |
| Data points per shot | 20 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | — | Measured |
| Launch direction | — | Measured |
| Spin rate | — | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | — | Calculated |
| Apex height | — | Calculated |
| Descent angle | — | Calculated |
| Offline distance | — | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | — | Not reported |
| Club path | — | Measured |
| Face angle | — | Measured |
| Dynamic loft | — | Not reported |
| Impact location | — | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor only | Indoor only |
| Placement | — | Beside the ball |
| Min room depth (ft) | — | 12 |
| Min room width (ft) | — | 12 |
| Ceiling height (ft) | — | 9 |
| Hitting zone | — | ~4 x 4 in (ball placement zone, skytrakgolf.com) |
| Lefty / righty | — | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | No |
| E6 Connect support | Supported | No |
| Awesome Golf support | No | — |
| TGC 2019 support | Supported | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | none | SkyTrak Course Play (Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs inside the SkyTrak app; 95+ courses on Elite) |
| Included sim content | An E6 Connect trial ships in the box (ernestsports.com, 2026-09-14): the device 'Drives E6 Connect for indoor course play' on 'a basic Windows computer or an iPad'. No first-party sim software exists for the Tour Plus (the compare page shows no ES sim title; the separate ES Eagle Sim is different hardware). Ongoing E6 Connect licensing is the buyer's cost (title pricing lives in sim_titles). | Shop Indoor Golf: 'The ST MAX only integrates with SkyTrak Golf Simulator Software!' SkyTrak officially dropped third-party support (GSPro, E6 Connect) for new customers in 2025-26; existing SkyTrak+ owners were grandfathered, but a new ST MAX buyer gets first-party software only (Breaking Eighty). GSPro's official supported list carries no SkyTrak model and its FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; the Core: Foresight membership licenses Foresight COURSES inside SkyTrak's own software, not FSX. 14-day trial of Sweetens Cove course play included; End of Summer Sale bundled 1 year of Core membership free. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | $600/yr |
| Works without subscription | No Ernest Sports subscription exists: all 20 data points come with the device and no subscription, unlock or membership is offered anywhere on ernestsports.com (product, compare and homepage checked 2026-09-14). The only recurring cost is the buyer's own E6 Connect license after the included trial. | Free Basic plan: SkyTrak Driving Range with ball and club data, Sim Club membership and PinSeeker access ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the improvement suites require a paid tier. |
| Subscription trial | E6 Connect trial included in the box | 14-day trial access to play Sweetens Cove plus improvement features; End of Summer Sale included 1 year free Core (Foresight) membership |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | — | iOS, Android, Windows, macOS |
| Watch app | — | None |
| Built-in display | None | None |
| Connectivity | — | WiFi, USB-C |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 6 | 1.7 |
| Dimensions (in) | — | 6.875 H x 5.75 W x 2.5 D in |
| Battery life (hours) | — | 4 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | — | USB-C |
| Alignment | — | Manual target line |
| In the box | Tour Plus 2.0 unit, power adapter, travel case, E6 Connect trial | — |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | 6 |
Buy the Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus
Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
Ernest Sports ES Tour Plus Ernest Sports
Full specs & prices SkyTrak ST MAX SkyTrak
Full specs & prices