FlightScope Mevo+ vs Square Golf Launch Monitor
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Square Golf Launch Monitor is the better buy for most people at $400 less, unless you need simulator-grade accuracy.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
FlightScope Mevo+ and Square Golf Launch Monitor sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the FlightScope Mevo+ if…
- You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Square Golf Launch Monitor's game-improvement class)
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin outdoors but needs RCT balls or stickers indoors, while the Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads spin with marked balls
- You also want to use it outdoors at the range (the Square Golf Launch Monitor is indoor-only)
- You have right- and left-handed players — no repositioning between them (the Square Golf Launch Monitor must be physically moved)
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor if…
- You want to spend $400 less ($699 vs $1,099)
- You want club data included — the FlightScope Mevo+ needs a $1,499 one-time unlock for it
- You need longer battery life (8 hours vs 3)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | FlightScope Mevo+ $1,099 | Square Golf Launch Monitor $699 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $1,099 | $699 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | None |
| Spin measurement | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors | Marked balls only |
| Marked balls | RCT balls or stickers | — |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 20 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Carry distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Calculated |
| Descent angle | — | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Measured | — |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Not reported |
| Attack angle | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Club path | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face to path | Measured | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | — | Measured (marked ball) |
| Impact location | Measured (marked ball) | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club data unlock | Basics included; full set paid ($1,499) | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor only |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Beside the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 7 | — |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | — |
| Hitting zone | — | 5.9 x 5.9 in (15 x 15 cm) |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Native | Native |
| E6 Connect support | Supported | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | Supported | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | FS Golf | Square Golf app (credit-based course play, free range) |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | — |
| Included sim content | Exclusive 12-course E6 Connect license (iOS & PC) included - Pebble Beach, Old Course St Andrews, Bethpage Black, Bay Hill, Harbour Town, The Greenbrier, The Belfry, Banff Springs, Panther Lake, Wade Hampton, Oslo GC, Aviara - plus 17 ranges and a mini game, 'no additional license fee or subscription required' (flightscope.com, 2026-09-14). | Square Golf app with 1,000 welcome credits (~55+ solo rounds; 1 credit per hole per golfer, refills from ~$0.02/credit, under $1/round) and free driving range, closest-to-pin, putting practice and game modes. Course count claims differ: PlayBetter's product page lists '10 ultra-realistic courses with 10 more coming soon' while Golfible (2025-11) counts 16 courses, all fictional. GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect via free official plug-ins with no device-side fee (titles sold separately). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | None |
| Works without subscription | Core data will 'always be available free of charge without a subscription fee'; firmware/software updates free. Optional one-time paid upgrades: Pro Package, Face Impact Location, Badger AI, Planning Tool (flightscope.com, 2026-09-14). | No subscription exists: full ball/club data, driving range and third-party sim plug-ins (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf) are free with the device. First-party course play uses one-time consumable credits instead of a subscription - 1,000 included, ~55+ solo rounds, refills under $1 per round. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Built-in display | None | None |
| Connectivity | WiFi | Bluetooth |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 1 | — |
| Dimensions (in) | 6.8 x 1.2 x 4.6 in | 7.5 x 2.8 x 2.8 in (19 x 7 x 7 cm) |
| Battery life (hours) | 3 | 8 |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Alignment | App-guided | App-guided |
| In the box | 100 aluminum metallic spin stickers, USB charging cable, power adapter, 12-course E6 Connect license | Square Golf launch monitor, swing stick (70 cm), 3 dotted marking balls, club shaft marking stickers (20), remote control with li-ion battery, removable li-ion battery |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | 24 |
Buy the FlightScope Mevo+
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
FlightScope Mevo+ vs Square Golf Launch Monitor: FAQs
Which is newer: the FlightScope Mevo+ or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The Square Golf Launch Monitor is newer, released in 2024, versus 2020 for the FlightScope Mevo+.
Which is cheaper: the FlightScope Mevo+ or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The FlightScope Mevo+ costs $1,099 and the Square Golf Launch Monitor costs $699, making the Square Golf Launch Monitor $400 cheaper.
Does the FlightScope Mevo+ or the Square Golf Launch Monitor need a subscription?
Neither — both the FlightScope Mevo+ and the Square Golf Launch Monitor work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the FlightScope Mevo+ or the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
The FlightScope Mevo+ has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The FlightScope Mevo+ measures spin by radar outdoors with full ball flight; indoors it needs RCT balls or stickers for measured spin. The Square Golf Launch Monitor only reads measured spin with marked balls.
What is the main difference between the FlightScope Mevo+ and the Square Golf Launch Monitor?
Based on recorded specs, the FlightScope Mevo+ leads on accuracy tier (Simulator-grade accuracy class) while the Square Golf Launch Monitor leads on price ($400 cheaper).