FlightScope Mevo (original) vs Garmin Approach R10
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The FlightScope Mevo (original) compared here is the original — the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 has succeeded it.
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the two cost about the same up front, but the FlightScope Mevo works out $301 cheaper over three years once subscriptions are counted, unless you need included club data.
Two entry radars a generation apart; Mevo closeouts keep the pairing in budget carts.
Buy the FlightScope Mevo if…
- You're keeping it three years or more — total cost works out $301 lower ($499 vs $800 with subscriptions counted)
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin outdoors but needs metallic stickers indoors, while the Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from other data
Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…
- You want club head data at all — the FlightScope Mevo doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro — the FlightScope Mevo doesn't support it
- You want more sim software choices (4 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | FlightScope Mevo $499 | Garmin Approach R10 $500 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $499 | $500 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors | Estimated |
| Marked balls | Metallic stickers | Titleist RCT balls |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 8 | 14 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Not reported | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Calculated |
| Spin axis | Not reported | Calculated |
| Carry distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Total distance | Not reported | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Not reported | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Club path | Not reported | Calculated |
| Face angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Face to path | Not reported | — |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | — |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 4 | 6 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | — | 8 |
| Lefty / righty | — | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✕ No | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | Supported |
| E6 Connect support | No | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | No | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | No | Supported |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | none | Garmin Home Tee Hero |
| Sim software | — | Creative Golf 3D |
| Included sim content | — | Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | All 8 parameters, app data upload to MyFlightScope, and swing video with data overlay are free - no subscription exists for the original Mevo (Breaking Eighty review + reader comments, 2026-01). | All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android |
| Watch app | Apple Watch | Garmin watch |
| Built-in display | None | None |
| Screen mirroring | — | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | Bluetooth |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.45 | 0.33 |
| Dimensions (in) | 3.55 x 2.76 x 1.18 in | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 |
| Battery life (hours) | — | 10 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | — | Micro-USB |
| Alignment | — | App-guided |
| In the box | Mevo launch monitor, USB charging cable, carrying case, 50 metallic stickers | Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable |
FlightScope Mevo (original) availability
Buy the Garmin Approach R10
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
FlightScope Mevo (original) vs Garmin Approach R10: FAQs
Which is newer: the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the Garmin Approach R10?
The Garmin Approach R10 is newer, released in 2021, versus 2017 for the FlightScope Mevo (original).
Which is cheaper: the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the Garmin Approach R10?
The FlightScope Mevo (original) costs $499 and the Garmin Approach R10 costs $500, making the FlightScope Mevo (original) $1 cheaper.
Does the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the Garmin Approach R10 need a subscription?
Neither — both the FlightScope Mevo (original) and the Garmin Approach R10 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the FlightScope Mevo (original) or the Garmin Approach R10?
The FlightScope Mevo (original) has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The FlightScope Mevo (original) measures spin by radar outdoors with full ball flight; indoors it needs Metallic stickers for measured spin. The Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from its other measured parameters rather than measuring it directly.
What is the main difference between the FlightScope Mevo (original) and the Garmin Approach R10?
Based on recorded specs, the FlightScope Mevo (original) leads on price ($1 cheaper) while the Garmin Approach R10 leads on club data access (Club data included).