Garmin Approach G82 vs Garmin Approach R10
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R10 is the better buy for most people at $100 less, unless you need the built-in screen.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Garmin's GPS-hybrid G82 against the R10; buyers ask which Approach unit fits practice versus on-course use.
Buy the Garmin Approach G82 if…
- You want readings without a phone — it has a built-in touchscreen
Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…
- You want to spend $100 less ($500 vs $600)
- You want game-improvement accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach G82's entry-level class)
- You want trustworthy spin — it estimates spin from other data, while the Garmin Approach G82 does not report spin
- You want club head data at all — the Garmin Approach G82 doesn't offer it
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach G82 $600 | Garmin Approach R10 $500 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $600 | $500 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | — | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Not reported | Estimated |
| Marked balls | Not required | Titleist RCT balls |
| Accuracy tier | Entry-level | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | — | 14 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Launch direction | Not reported | Measured |
| Spin rate | Not reported | Calculated |
| Spin axis | Not reported | Calculated |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Not reported | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Not reported | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Club path | Not reported | Calculated |
| Face angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | — | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | — | 6 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | — | 8 |
| Lefty / righty | — | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✕ No | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | Supported |
| E6 Connect support | No | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | No | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | No | Supported |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | none | Garmin Home Tee Hero |
| Sim software | — | Creative Golf 3D |
| Included sim content | — | Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | GPS (43,000+ preloaded courses), radar metrics, putting metrics, Virtual Caddie and scoring all work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership adds aerial imagery and green contour data. | All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android |
| Watch app | — | Garmin watch |
| Built-in display | Color touchscreen | None |
| Screen mirroring | — | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | Bluetooth |
| Offline mode | ✓ Yes | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.68 | 0.33 |
| Dimensions (in) | — | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 |
| Battery life (hours) | 8 | 10 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | — | Micro-USB |
| Alignment | — | App-guided |
| In the box | — | Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable |
Buy the Garmin Approach G82
Buy the Garmin Approach R10
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Garmin Approach G82 vs Garmin Approach R10: FAQs
Which is newer: the Garmin Approach G82 or the Garmin Approach R10?
The Garmin Approach G82 is newer, released in 2026, versus 2021 for the Garmin Approach R10.
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach G82 or the Garmin Approach R10?
The Garmin Approach G82 costs $600 and the Garmin Approach R10 costs $500, making the Garmin Approach R10 $100 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach G82 or the Garmin Approach R10 need a subscription?
Neither — both the Garmin Approach G82 and the Garmin Approach R10 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the Garmin Approach G82 or the Garmin Approach R10?
The Garmin Approach R10 has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Garmin Approach G82 does not report spin, per its recorded specifications. The Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from its other measured parameters rather than measuring it directly.
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach G82 and the Garmin Approach R10?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach G82 leads on built-in display (Built-in touchscreen) while the Garmin Approach R10 leads on price ($100 cheaper).