Garmin Approach R10 vs PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor is the better buy for most people at $300 less, unless you need game-improvement accuracy.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Garmin Approach R10 and PRGR HS-130A sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…
- You want game-improvement accuracy (vs the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor's entry-level class)
- You want trustworthy spin — it estimates spin from other data, while the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor does not report spin
- You want club head data at all — the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro — the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor doesn't support it
Buy the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor if…
- You want to spend $300 less ($200 vs $500)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach R10 $500 | PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor $200 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $500 | $200 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Estimated | Not reported |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Entry-level |
| Data points per shot | 14 | 5 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Launch direction | Measured | Not reported |
| Spin rate | Calculated | Not reported |
| Spin axis | Calculated | Not reported |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Not reported |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club path | Calculated | Not reported |
| Face angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Face to path | — | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | — | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Not available |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 6 | 3.5 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | 6.5 |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✕ No |
| GSPro support | Supported | No |
| E6 Connect support | Native | No |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | No |
| TGC 2019 support | Supported | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Garmin Home Tee Hero | none |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | — |
| Included sim content | Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect | — |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. | Fully standalone forever: no app, no account, no connectivity, no subscription exists. All five metrics on the built-in LCD; 500-shot on-device memory; multi-sport speed modes. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | None recorded |
| Watch app | Garmin watch | None |
| Built-in display | None | LCD readout |
| Screen mirroring | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) | None |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | None recorded |
| Offline mode | — | ✓ Yes |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.33 | 0.28 |
| Dimensions (in) | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 | 2.2 x 4.6 x 1.9 in (55 x 116 x 48 mm, excluding protrusions) |
| Battery life (hours) | 10 | — |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | — |
| Charging port | Micro-USB | — |
| Alignment | App-guided | Manual target line |
| In the box | Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable | PRGR HS-130A unit, user guide, 4x AAA batteries |
Buy the Garmin Approach R10
Buy the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Garmin Approach R10 vs PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A): FAQs
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R10 or the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)?
The Garmin Approach R10 costs $500 and the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) costs $200, making the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) $300 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) need a subscription?
Neither — both the Garmin Approach R10 and the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the Garmin Approach R10 or the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)?
The Garmin Approach R10 has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from its other measured parameters rather than measuring it directly. The PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) does not report spin, per its recorded specifications.
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A)?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on accuracy tier (Game-improvement accuracy class) while the PRGR Black Pocket Launch Monitor (HS-130A) leads on price ($300 cheaper).