Garmin Approach R10 vs Shot Scope LM1
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Shot Scope LM1 is the better buy for most people at $300 less, unless you need game-improvement accuracy.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Garmin Approach R10 and Shot Scope LM1 sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…
- You want game-improvement accuracy (vs the Shot Scope LM1's entry-level class)
- You want trustworthy spin — it estimates spin from other data, while the Shot Scope LM1 does not report spin
- You want club head data at all — the Shot Scope LM1 doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro — the Shot Scope LM1 doesn't support it
Buy the Shot Scope LM1 if…
- You want to spend $300 less ($200 vs $500)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach R10 $500 | Shot Scope LM1 $200 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $500 | $200 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Estimated | Not reported |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Entry-level |
| Data points per shot | 14 | 5 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Launch direction | Measured | Not reported |
| Spin rate | Calculated | Not reported |
| Spin axis | Calculated | Not reported |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Not reported |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club path | Calculated | Not reported |
| Face angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Face to path | — | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | — | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Not available |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 6 | 4.6 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | — |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✕ No |
| GSPro support | Supported | No |
| E6 Connect support | Native | No |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | No |
| TGC 2019 support | Supported | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Garmin Home Tee Hero | none |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | — |
| Included sim content | Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect | — |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. | '100% subscription free for life' guarantee: all five metrics on the built-in 3.5-in color screen with no phone needed; free Shot Scope app (iOS/Android) adds session sync, lifetime shot history, GPS aerial maps and MyStrategy. Up to 1,920 history items stored on-device. |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android |
| Watch app | Garmin watch | — |
| Built-in display | None | LCD readout |
| Screen mirroring | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) | — |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | Bluetooth |
| Offline mode | — | ✓ Yes |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.33 | 0.66 |
| Dimensions (in) | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 | 5.8 x 4.1 x 1.0 in (146.5 x 103.5 x 25 mm) |
| Battery life (hours) | 10 | 5 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | Micro-USB | USB-C |
| Alignment | App-guided | Manual target line |
| In the box | Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable | LM1 launch monitor, USB-C charging cable, protective case, cleaning cloth, user manual |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | — | 24 |
Buy the Garmin Approach R10
Buy the Shot Scope LM1
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Garmin Approach R10 vs Shot Scope LM1: FAQs
Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Shot Scope LM1?
The Shot Scope LM1 is newer, released in 2026, versus 2021 for the Garmin Approach R10.
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Shot Scope LM1?
The Garmin Approach R10 costs $500 and the Shot Scope LM1 costs $200, making the Shot Scope LM1 $300 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the Shot Scope LM1 need a subscription?
Neither — both the Garmin Approach R10 and the Shot Scope LM1 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Shot Scope LM1?
The Garmin Approach R10 has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Garmin Approach R10 estimates spin from its other measured parameters rather than measuring it directly. The Shot Scope LM1 does not report spin, per its recorded specifications.
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the Shot Scope LM1?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on accuracy tier (Game-improvement accuracy class) while the Shot Scope LM1 leads on price ($300 cheaper).