Garmin Approach R10 vs Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i is the better buy for most people at $100 less, unless you need included club data.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Garmin Approach R10 and Swing Caddie SC300i sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…
- You want club head data at all — the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro — the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i doesn't support it
- You want more sim software choices (4 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Buy the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i if…
- You want to spend $100 less ($400 vs $500)
- You need longer battery life (20 hours vs 10)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach R10 $500 | Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i $400 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $500 | $400 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Estimated | — |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | — |
| Data points per shot | 14 | 6 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Not reported |
| Spin rate | Calculated | — |
| Spin axis | Calculated | Not reported |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club path | Calculated | Not reported |
| Face angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Face to path | — | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | — | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Not available |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 6 | 5 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | — |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✕ No |
| GSPro support | Supported | No |
| E6 Connect support | Native | No |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | No |
| TGC 2019 support | Supported | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Garmin Home Tee Hero | MySwingCaddie app (practice/data only) |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | — |
| Included sim content | Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect | — |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. | Complete without any subscription: all metrics on the built-in 5.3-in LCD with voice output and remote, 'Standalone Functionality: Operates without the app if preferred'; free MySwingCaddie app adds spin display, swing video with data overlay, stats history and My Bag club editing (voicecaddie.com, 2026-09-14). |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android |
| Watch app | Garmin watch | — |
| Built-in display | None | LCD readout |
| Screen mirroring | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) | — |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | Bluetooth |
| Offline mode | — | ✓ Yes |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.33 | 0.96 |
| Dimensions (in) | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 | 6.5 x 4.7 x 1.1 in |
| Battery life (hours) | 10 | 20 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | Micro-USB | USB-C |
| Alignment | App-guided | Manual target line |
| In the box | Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable | SC300i launch monitor, remote control, USB cable, USB cover, user manual |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | — | 12 |
Buy the Garmin Approach R10
Buy the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Garmin Approach R10 vs Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i: FAQs
Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i?
The Garmin Approach R10 is newer, released in 2021, versus 2020 for the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i.
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i?
The Garmin Approach R10 costs $500 and the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i costs $400, making the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i $100 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i need a subscription?
Neither — both the Garmin Approach R10 and the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on club data access (Club data included) while the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC300i leads on price ($100 cheaper).