Garmin Approach R10 vs Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 compared here is the original — the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro has succeeded it.
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R10 is the better buy for most people.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Garmin Approach R10 and Swing Caddie SC4 sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…
- You want club head data at all — the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro — the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 doesn't support it
- You want more sim software choices (4 of the 5 major titles vs 1)
Buy the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 if…
On recorded specs alone there is no clear reason to pick the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 over its rival here — compare the full table below.
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach R10 $500 | Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 $550 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $500 | $550 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Estimated | Estimated |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 14 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Calculated | Calculated |
| Spin axis | Calculated | Not reported |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | — |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club path | Calculated | Not reported |
| Face angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Face to path | — | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | — | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Not available |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 6 | 5 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | 10 |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | No |
| E6 Connect support | Native | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | — |
| TGC 2019 support | Supported | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Garmin Home Tee Hero | E6-bundled; MySwingCaddie app (practice/data only) |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | OptiShot Orion |
| Included sim content | Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect | E6 Connect license (iOS & PC) with 1 course + 1 driving range included at no extra cost; full E6 course library requires an optional E6 subscription. E6 compatibility was added by app update a few months after launch. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. | Complete without any subscription: all metrics on the built-in LCD with voice output, free MySwingCaddie app for shot history and swing video overlays. Only optional spend is expanding the E6 Connect course library (third-party title cost). |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android |
| Watch app | Garmin watch | — |
| Built-in display | None | LCD readout |
| Screen mirroring | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) | — |
| Connectivity | Bluetooth | Bluetooth |
| Offline mode | — | ✓ Yes |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 0.33 | 1.3 |
| Dimensions (in) | 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 | 4.9 x 7.6 x 1.1 in (124 x 193 x 29 mm) |
| Battery life (hours) | 10 | 10 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | Micro-USB | — |
| Alignment | App-guided | Manual target line |
| In the box | Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable | SC4 launch monitor, remote control, USB cable, user manual, E6 Connect license (iOS & PC) |
Buy the Garmin Approach R10
Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 availability
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Garmin Approach R10 vs Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4: FAQs
Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4?
The Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 is newer, released in 2022, versus 2021 for the Garmin Approach R10.
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4?
The Garmin Approach R10 costs $500 and the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 costs $550, making the Garmin Approach R10 $50 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 need a subscription?
Neither — both the Garmin Approach R10 and the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on price ($50 cheaper) while the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 leads on 3-year cost ($250 cheaper over three years).