Rapsodo MLM (original) vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Rapsodo MLM2PRO is the current model; the original Rapsodo MLM is the value pick at $400 less.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Rapsodo's original phone-based MLM against the MLM2PRO hybrid — the in-brand upgrade path.
Buy the Rapsodo MLM if…
- You want to spend $400 less ($200 vs $600)
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the Rapsodo MLM2PRO needs $200/yr for full features
Buy the Rapsodo MLM2PRO if…
- You want club head data at all — the Rapsodo MLM doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro (via the vendor's subscription) — the Rapsodo MLM has no path to it
- You want more sim software choices (3 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Rapsodo MLM $200 | Rapsodo MLM2PRO $600 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $200 | $600 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Single Doppler |
| Camera frame rate (fps) | — | 240 |
| Spin measurement | Marked balls only | Marked balls only |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | Rapsodo RPT balls |
| Accuracy tier | — | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 10 | 15 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured (marked ball) | Measured (marked ball) |
| Spin axis | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Club path | Not reported | Measured |
| Face angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Face to path | Not reported | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Not reported |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Subscription required ($200/yr) |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Behind the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 6 | 6.5 |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | 8 |
| Min room depth (ft) | — | 14 |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✕ No | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | Supported (vendor sub required) |
| E6 Connect support | No | Supported (vendor sub required) |
| Awesome Golf support | No | Supported (vendor sub required) |
| TGC 2019 support | No | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Rapsodo Virtual Range (in-app 3D shot visualization; practice only, no course play) | Rapsodo Courses (30,000+ simulated courses + 2 virtual ranges, Premium) |
| Sim software | — | E6 Apex |
| Included sim content | — | 45-day Premium trial included with purchase. Plugged In Golf (2023-12) recorded an included E6 Connect code unlocking five courses and a short Awesome Golf trial - re-verify current bundle contents before quoting; not shown on the 2026-09-14 official page. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | $200/yr |
| Works without subscription | Core metrics, swing replay with shot trace and storage of the last 100 swings work free (Plugged In Golf; rapsodo.com). 'MLM1 Premium Membership: $99.99/Year' adds 10,000-video cloud storage, unlimited shot storage, Shot Trace + Apex, slow-motion playback, Rapsodo Combine, Insights, R-Cloud and R-Speed. MLM1 and MLM2PRO memberships are separate, non-cross-compatible platforms (rapsodo.com membership blog). | Official membership page (2026-09-14): the device works without Premium, but 'speed training, club data and full-course access require premium membership'. Premium gates the 15-metric set (incl. spin rate/axis, club path, angle of attack), Rapsodo Courses, third-party sim access (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf), Impact Vision, R-Cloud 10K shot library, R-Speed, and Combine. |
| Subscription trial | Premium Trial included with purchase (length not stated on the MLM1 page) | 45-day Premium trial ('The free trial of the MLM2PRO Premium Membership is 45 days'; auto-renews unless cancelled via R-Cloud) |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS | iOS, Android |
| Built-in display | None | None |
| Screen mirroring | — | Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast) |
| Physical & power | ||
| Battery life (hours) | — | 4 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | — | USB-C |
| In the box | MLM1 device, protective case, USB charging cable, quick start guide | MLM2PRO unit, tripod, carrying case, USB-C charging cable, RPT 3-ball sleeve (Titleist Pro V1 or Callaway Chrome Tour), quick start guide, 45-day Premium trial |
Buy the Rapsodo MLM (original)
Buy the Rapsodo MLM2PRO
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Rapsodo MLM (original) vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO: FAQs
Which is newer: the Rapsodo MLM (original) or the Rapsodo MLM2PRO?
The Rapsodo MLM2PRO is newer, released in 2023, versus 2019 for the Rapsodo MLM (original).
Which is cheaper: the Rapsodo MLM (original) or the Rapsodo MLM2PRO?
The Rapsodo MLM (original) costs $200 and the Rapsodo MLM2PRO costs $600, making the Rapsodo MLM (original) $400 cheaper.
Does the Rapsodo MLM (original) or the Rapsodo MLM2PRO need a subscription?
The Rapsodo MLM2PRO needs a subscription for full function ($200/yr for full features), while the Rapsodo MLM (original) works fully without one.
What is the main difference between the Rapsodo MLM (original) and the Rapsodo MLM2PRO?
Based on recorded specs, the Rapsodo MLM (original) leads on price ($400 cheaper) while the Rapsodo MLM2PRO leads on measured ball data (5 of 9 ball metrics measured (vs 4)).