SkyTrak (original) vs Trackman 4
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
SkyTrak (original)
SkyTrak
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Trackman 4 is the better buy for most people, unless you need camera-measured spin on any ball.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
The entry photometric name against the tour radar standard; shoppers use it to understand what the price gap buys.
Buy the SkyTrak if…
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the Trackman 4 measures spin by radar on any ball
Buy the Trackman 4 if…
- You want tour-grade accuracy (vs the SkyTrak's simulator-grade class)
- You want club head data at all — the SkyTrak doesn't offer it
- You want more genuinely measured ball data (8 of 9 ball metrics measured vs 5)
- You have right- and left-handed players — no repositioning between them (the SkyTrak must be physically moved)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | SkyTrak | Trackman 4 $25,495 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | — | $25,495 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | None | Dual Doppler |
| Camera frame rate (fps) | — | 60 |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Radar (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Tour-grade |
| Data points per shot | — | 40 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Measured |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Measured |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Measured |
| Offline distance | Calculated | — |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Calculated | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Club path | Not reported | Measured |
| Face angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Face to path | Not reported | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Measured |
| Impact location | Not reported | Measured |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Not available | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Behind the ball |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | No |
| E6 Connect support | Dropped (legacy users only) | — |
| TGC 2019 support | Dropped (legacy users only) | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages) | Trackman Virtual Golf / Trackman Performance Studio (TPS) |
| Included sim content | Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified. | Shop Indoor Golf in-box list includes 'Trackman Golf Simulator Software (subscription)'; 'Virtual Golf works only with TM4 and TMiO and requires an up-to-date software license.' (shopindoorgolf.com, 2026-09-14) |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | From $100/yr | $1,100/yr |
| Works without subscription | Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator). | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Windows | Windows |
| Connectivity | WiFi | WiFi, Micro-USB, Ethernet |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | — | 6.6 |
| Dimensions (in) | — | 11.8 x 11.8 x 1.8 in |
| Battery life (hours) | 5 | 4 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Alignment | — | Auto-calibration |
| In the box | — | Trackman 4 unit, power cable, Trackman simulator software subscription |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 6 | — |
SkyTrak (original) availability
Buy the Trackman 4
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
SkyTrak (original) vs Trackman 4: FAQs
Which is newer: the SkyTrak (original) or the Trackman 4?
The Trackman 4 is newer, released in 2016, versus 2014 for the SkyTrak (original).
Does the SkyTrak (original) or the Trackman 4 need a subscription?
Both do: the SkyTrak (original) and the Trackman 4 ($1,100/yr for full features) each need a subscription for full function.
Which measures spin better: the SkyTrak (original) or the Trackman 4?
The SkyTrak (original) has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The SkyTrak (original) measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball. The Trackman 4 measures spin by radar from the ball's flight, on any ball.
What is the main difference between the SkyTrak (original) and the Trackman 4?
Based on recorded specs, the SkyTrak (original) leads on spin measurement (Camera-measured spin on any ball) while the Trackman 4 leads on accuracy tier (Tour-grade accuracy class).