SkyTrak ST MAX vs Square Golf Omni
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Why SkyTrak ST MAX is better
No measurable advantages found.
Why Square Golf Omni is better
- Price: $95 cheaper (1599.99 vs 1695)
- Subscription: No subscription needed for full function (Not required vs Required)
- 3-year cost: $1,895 cheaper over three years (1599.99 vs 3494.97)
- Measured club data: 4 of 5 club metrics measured (vs 3) (4 vs 3)
- GSPro support: GSPro: native (Native vs No)
- Sim software: 3 more sim titles supported (3 vs 0)
- Environment: Works indoors and outdoors (Indoor + outdoor vs Indoor only)
- Battery life: 2 hours longer battery (6 vs 4)
Specs Comparison
SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695 vs Square Golf Omni $1,600
| Specification | SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695 | Square Golf Omni $1,600 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $1,695 | $1,600 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Dual Doppler | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | — |
| Data points per shot | — | 15 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Calculated |
| Face to path | — | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Calculated |
| Impact location | Not reported | Measured |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor only | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Min room depth (ft) | 12 | — |
| Min room width (ft) | 12 | — |
| Ceiling height (ft) | 9 | — |
| Hitting zone | ~4 x 4 in (ball placement zone, skytrakgolf.com) | 10 x 10 in ready zone; ball must sit in the front half (~5 in depth) for club data (Golf Simulator Videos review) |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | Native |
| E6 Connect support | No | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | — | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | No | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | SkyTrak Course Play (Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs inside the SkyTrak app; 95+ courses on Elite) | Square Golf built-in simulator (credit-based course play; 1,000 free credits included) |
| Included sim content | Shop Indoor Golf: 'The ST MAX only integrates with SkyTrak Golf Simulator Software!' SkyTrak officially dropped third-party support (GSPro, E6 Connect) for new customers in 2025-26; existing SkyTrak+ owners were grandfathered, but a new ST MAX buyer gets first-party software only (Breaking Eighty). GSPro's official supported list carries no SkyTrak model and its FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; the Core: Foresight membership licenses Foresight COURSES inside SkyTrak's own software, not FSX. 14-day trial of Sweetens Cove course play included; End of Summer Sale bundled 1 year of Core membership free. | Built-in simulator with multiple courses and 1,000 free credits included (pay-per-play credits after); third-party sim connectivity carries no extra cost from Square (PlayBetter FAQ). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $600/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | Free Basic plan: SkyTrak Driving Range with ball and club data, Sim Club membership and PinSeeker access ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the improvement suites require a paid tier. | No annual subscription: full ball + club data, built-in display, and third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6 Connect, Awesome Golf) at no extra cost from Square. Built-in simulator course play uses a credit system (1,000 credits included, pay-and-play after). |
| Subscription trial | 14-day trial access to play Sweetens Cove plus improvement features; End of Summer Sale included 1 year free Core (Foresight) membership | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows, macOS | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Watch app | None | — |
| Built-in display | None | LCD readout |
| Connectivity | WiFi, USB-C | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 1.7 | — |
| Dimensions (in) | 6.875 H x 5.75 W x 2.5 D in | 2.8 (W) x 2.4 (D) x 14.2 (H) in with tripod |
| Battery life (hours) | 4 | 6 |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C | — |
| Alignment | Manual target line | Manual target line |
| In the box | — | launch monitor, tripod stand, Li-ion battery, charger and cables, target line alignment stick, shaft stickers, clubface stickers |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 6 | — |
Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX
Buy the Square Golf Omni
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.