FlightScope Mevo Gen2 vs Garmin Approach R50
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 is the better buy for most people at $3,201 less, unless you need camera-measured spin on any ball.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
FlightScope Mevo Gen2 and Garmin Approach R50 sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 if…
- You want to spend $3,201 less ($1,299 vs $4,500)
- You want simulator-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R50's game-improvement class)
- You want more genuinely measured ball data (8 of 9 ball metrics measured vs 5)
- You need longer battery life (6 hours vs 4)
Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 measures spin outdoors but needs RCT balls or stickers indoors
- You want club data included — the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 needs a $1,499 one-time unlock for it
- You want readings without a phone — it has a built-in touchscreen
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | FlightScope Mevo Gen2 $1,299 | Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $1,299 | $4,500 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | None |
| Spin measurement | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | RCT balls or stickers | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 20 | 16 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Measured |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured |
| Face to path | Measured | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Measured | Not reported |
| Impact location | Measured | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Basics included; full set paid ($1,499) | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Beside the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 7 | — |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | 10 |
| Min room depth (ft) | 16 | — |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Native | Supported |
| E6 Connect support | Native | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | Native | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | No | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | FlightScope FS Golf | Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | [object Object] |
| Included sim content | 8 E6 courses owned for life (iOS + PC): Kiawah Ocean, Torrey Pines South, Kapalua Plantation, Valderrama, Sea Island Seaside, Pelican Hill, Chateau Whistler, Latrobe CC. Optional 12-course E6 premium upgrade $250 one-time. GSPro, Awesome Golf and Creative Golf connect with no device-side usage fees (FlightScope 2026 comparison blog). | Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | All 20 base parameters, FS Golf app (iOS/Android/Windows), firmware updates and the lifetime 8-course E6 bundle are included with the hardware - 'no subscription required' (flightscope.com). Pro Package/FIL are one-time unlocks, not subscriptions. | All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. |
| Subscription trial | — | 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, Android |
| Watch app | Apple Watch | — |
| Built-in display | None | Color touchscreen |
| Screen mirroring | — | HDMI out |
| Connectivity | WiFi | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C |
| Offline mode | ✓ Yes | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 1.1 | 9 |
| Dimensions (in) | 6.9 x 1.2 x 5.6 in | 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) |
| Battery life (hours) | 6 | 4 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Battery or mains |
| Charging port | USB-C | — |
| In the box | power supply, USB-C cable, carry case, quickstart guide, 100 aluminum stickers | Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | 12 |
Buy the FlightScope Mevo Gen2
Buy the Garmin Approach R50
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
FlightScope Mevo Gen2 vs Garmin Approach R50: FAQs
Which is newer: the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 or the Garmin Approach R50?
The FlightScope Mevo Gen2 is newer, released in 2025, versus 2024 for the Garmin Approach R50.
Which is cheaper: the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 or the Garmin Approach R50?
The FlightScope Mevo Gen2 costs $1,299 and the Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500, making the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 $3,201 cheaper.
Does the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 or the Garmin Approach R50 need a subscription?
Neither — both the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 and the Garmin Approach R50 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
Which measures spin better: the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 or the Garmin Approach R50?
The Garmin Approach R50 has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The FlightScope Mevo Gen2 measures spin by radar outdoors with full ball flight; indoors it needs RCT balls or stickers for measured spin. The Garmin Approach R50 measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
What is the main difference between the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 and the Garmin Approach R50?
Based on recorded specs, the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 leads on price ($3,201 cheaper) while the Garmin Approach R50 leads on spin measurement (Camera-measured spin on any ball).