FlightScope Mevo Gen2 vs SkyTrak ST MAX
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 is the better buy for most people at $396 less, unless you need camera-measured spin on any ball.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
The two current mid-tier flagships: portable radar versus dual-sensor photometric for a dedicated sim room.
Buy the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 if…
- You want to spend $396 less ($1,299 vs $1,695)
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the SkyTrak ST MAX needs $600/yr for full features
- You want more genuinely measured ball data (8 of 9 ball metrics measured vs 5)
- You play GSPro — the SkyTrak ST MAX doesn't support it
Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX if…
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 measures spin outdoors but needs RCT balls or stickers indoors
- You want club data included — the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 needs a $1,499 one-time unlock for it
- Your space is tight — it needs 12 ft of room depth vs 16 ft
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | FlightScope Mevo Gen2 $1,299 | SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $1,299 | $1,695 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Radar + camera fusion |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | Dual Doppler |
| Spin measurement | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | RCT balls or stickers | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Simulator-grade |
| Data points per shot | 20 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Measured | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured |
| Face to path | Measured | — |
| Dynamic loft | Measured | Not reported |
| Impact location | Measured | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Basics included; full set paid ($1,499) | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor only |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Beside the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 7 | — |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | — |
| Min room depth (ft) | 16 | 12 |
| Min room width (ft) | — | 12 |
| Ceiling height (ft) | — | 9 |
| Hitting zone | — | ~4 x 4 in (ball placement zone, skytrakgolf.com) |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Native | No |
| E6 Connect support | Native | No |
| Awesome Golf support | Native | — |
| TGC 2019 support | No | No |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | FlightScope FS Golf | SkyTrak Course Play (Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs inside the SkyTrak app; 95+ courses on Elite) |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | — |
| Included sim content | 8 E6 courses owned for life (iOS + PC): Kiawah Ocean, Torrey Pines South, Kapalua Plantation, Valderrama, Sea Island Seaside, Pelican Hill, Chateau Whistler, Latrobe CC. Optional 12-course E6 premium upgrade $250 one-time. GSPro, Awesome Golf and Creative Golf connect with no device-side usage fees (FlightScope 2026 comparison blog). | Shop Indoor Golf: 'The ST MAX only integrates with SkyTrak Golf Simulator Software!' SkyTrak officially dropped third-party support (GSPro, E6 Connect) for new customers in 2025-26; existing SkyTrak+ owners were grandfathered, but a new ST MAX buyer gets first-party software only (Breaking Eighty). GSPro's official supported list carries no SkyTrak model and its FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; the Core: Foresight membership licenses Foresight COURSES inside SkyTrak's own software, not FSX. 14-day trial of Sweetens Cove course play included; End of Summer Sale bundled 1 year of Core membership free. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | $600/yr |
| Works without subscription | All 20 base parameters, FS Golf app (iOS/Android/Windows), firmware updates and the lifetime 8-course E6 bundle are included with the hardware - 'no subscription required' (flightscope.com). Pro Package/FIL are one-time unlocks, not subscriptions. | Free Basic plan: SkyTrak Driving Range with ball and club data, Sim Club membership and PinSeeker access ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the improvement suites require a paid tier. |
| Subscription trial | — | 14-day trial access to play Sweetens Cove plus improvement features; End of Summer Sale included 1 year free Core (Foresight) membership |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, Android, Windows, macOS |
| Watch app | Apple Watch | None |
| Built-in display | None | None |
| Connectivity | WiFi | WiFi, USB-C |
| Offline mode | ✓ Yes | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 1.1 | 1.7 |
| Dimensions (in) | 6.9 x 1.2 x 5.6 in | 6.875 H x 5.75 W x 2.5 D in |
| Battery life (hours) | 6 | 4 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C | USB-C |
| Alignment | — | Manual target line |
| In the box | power supply, USB-C cable, carry case, quickstart guide, 100 aluminum stickers | — |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | 6 |
Buy the FlightScope Mevo Gen2
Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
All SkyTrak vs FlightScope comparisons
FlightScope Mevo Gen2 vs SkyTrak ST MAX: FAQs
Which is cheaper: the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 or the SkyTrak ST MAX?
The FlightScope Mevo Gen2 costs $1,299 and the SkyTrak ST MAX costs $1,695, making the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 $396 cheaper.
Does the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 or the SkyTrak ST MAX need a subscription?
The SkyTrak ST MAX needs a subscription for full function ($600/yr for full features), while the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 works fully without one.
Which measures spin better: the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 or the SkyTrak ST MAX?
The SkyTrak ST MAX has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The FlightScope Mevo Gen2 measures spin by radar outdoors with full ball flight; indoors it needs RCT balls or stickers for measured spin. The SkyTrak ST MAX measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
Which needs less space: the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 or the SkyTrak ST MAX?
The SkyTrak ST MAX needs less room: the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 lists a vendor minimum of 16 ft of room depth and the SkyTrak ST MAX lists 12 ft.
What is the main difference between the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 and the SkyTrak ST MAX?
Based on recorded specs, the FlightScope Mevo Gen2 leads on price ($396 cheaper) while the SkyTrak ST MAX leads on spin measurement (Camera-measured spin on any ball).