Foresight Sports GCQuad vs Garmin Approach R50
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R50 is the better buy for most people at $11,499 less, unless you need tour-grade accuracy.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Foresight GCQuad and Garmin Approach R50 sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the Foresight Sports GCQuad if…
- You want tour-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R50's game-improvement class)
- You need longer battery life (6 hours vs 4)
Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…
- You want to spend $11,499 less ($4,500 vs $15,999)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Foresight Sports GCQuad $15,999 | Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $15,999 | $4,500 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | None | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Tour-grade | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | — | 16 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Measured |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured |
| Face to path | — | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Measured | Not reported |
| Impact location | Measured | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Min ball flight (ft) | — | 10 |
| Hitting zone | 18 x 14 in (vs 7 x 10 in on GC3/Launch Pro) - no repositioning after divots outdoors (foresightsports.com comparison table; PlayBetter 2026 review) | — |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | Supported |
| E6 Connect support | — | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | — | No |
| FSX Play support | Native | No |
| First-party software | FSX Play / FSX 2020 / FSX Pro Performance / Foresight Fairgrounds (25 courses included) | Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) |
| Sim software | — | [object Object] |
| Included sim content | FSX Play + FSX 2020 + FSX Pro Performance Software + Foresight Fairgrounds with 25 golf courses included (10 on both platforms, 15 FSX Play only); PlayBetter's 2026 review additionally lists an Awesome Golf lifetime membership bundled with the GCQuad. Premium FSX courses (Pebble Beach, St Andrews) ~$500 each, owned for life. GSPro is official but requires an FSX 2020 or FSX Play license (GSPro device list) and purchase through Foresight's site (~$250/yr to GSPro). Essential Putting Analysis is a paid add-on (+$2,500 per PlayBetter; basic sim putting works without it). | Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | Fully enabled out of the box with zero recurring costs: 'Clubhead Measurement included' at no extra cost on Foresight's current listing, the full FSX software suite with 25 courses ships in the box, and PlayBetter's 2026 review confirms 'there are no annual subscriptions' (explicit contrast with the Launch Pro's $500/yr model). | All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. |
| Subscription trial | — | 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, Android |
| Built-in display | LCD readout | Color touchscreen |
| Screen mirroring | — | HDMI out |
| Connectivity | WiFi, USB-C, Ethernet | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 7.5 | 9 |
| Dimensions (in) | 7 x 4 x 12.5 in (W x D x H) | 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) |
| Battery life (hours) | 6 | 4 |
| Removable battery | ✓ Yes | — |
| Power source | Battery or mains | Battery or mains |
| Alignment | Manual target line | — |
| In the box | GCQuad carry bag, power adapter & cable, USB-C cable, alignment stick, club markers, Bushnell Pro X3+LINK rangefinder (current promo) | Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 24 | 12 |
Buy the Foresight Sports GCQuad
Buy the Garmin Approach R50
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Foresight Sports GCQuad vs Garmin Approach R50: FAQs
Which is newer: the Foresight Sports GCQuad or the Garmin Approach R50?
The Garmin Approach R50 is newer, released in 2024, versus 2017 for the Foresight Sports GCQuad.
Which is cheaper: the Foresight Sports GCQuad or the Garmin Approach R50?
The Foresight Sports GCQuad costs $15,999 and the Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500, making the Garmin Approach R50 $11,499 cheaper.
Does the Foresight Sports GCQuad or the Garmin Approach R50 need a subscription?
Neither — both the Foresight Sports GCQuad and the Garmin Approach R50 work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
What is the main difference between the Foresight Sports GCQuad and the Garmin Approach R50?
Based on recorded specs, the Foresight Sports GCQuad leads on accuracy tier (Tour-grade accuracy class) while the Garmin Approach R50 leads on price ($11,499 cheaper).