Skip to content

Garmin Approach R10 vs Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro

Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing

Specs updated

Which should you buy?

Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R10 is the better buy for most people at $100 less.

Garmin Approach R10 at Amazon· $486 Prefer the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro? Where to buy ↓

We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.

Screen-on-device SC4 Pro against app-based R10 — whether skipping the phone is worth the price gap.

Buy the Garmin Approach R10 if…

  • You want to spend $100 less ($500 vs $600)
  • You want club head data at all — the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro doesn't offer it
  • You play GSPro — the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro doesn't support it
  • You want more sim software choices (4 of the 5 major titles vs 1)

Buy the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro if…

On recorded specs alone there is no clear reason to pick the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro over its rival here — compare the full table below.

Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.

Specs Comparison

Specification Garmin Approach R10 $500 Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro $600
Price
Price $500 $600
Measurement
Tracking technology Doppler radar Doppler radar
Radar type Single Doppler Single Doppler
Spin measurement Estimated Estimated
Marked balls Titleist RCT balls Not required
Accuracy tier Game-improvement Game-improvement
Data points per shot 14
Ball data
Ball speed Measured Measured
Launch angle Measured Measured
Launch direction Measured Measured
Spin rate Calculated Calculated
Spin axis Calculated Calculated
Carry distance Calculated Calculated
Total distance Calculated Calculated
Apex height Calculated Calculated
Descent angle Calculated Not reported
Offline distance Calculated
Club data
Club speed Measured Measured
Attack angle Calculated Not reported
Club path Calculated Not reported
Face angle Calculated Not reported
Face to path Not reported
Dynamic loft Not reported
Impact location Not reported Not reported
Smash factor Calculated Calculated
Club data unlock Included Not available
Space & environment
Environment Indoor + outdoor Indoor + outdoor
Placement Behind the ball Behind the ball
Setback (ft) 6 5
Min ball flight (ft) 8 10
Lefty / righty No repositioning No repositioning
Installation None (portable) None (portable)
Sim software
Simulator capable ✓ Yes ✓ Yes
GSPro support Supported No
E6 Connect support Native Native
Awesome Golf support Supported
TGC 2019 support Supported
FSX Play support No No
First-party software Garmin Home Tee Hero E6-bundled; Voice Caddie S app 3D driving range (practice)
Sim software Creative Golf 3D OptiShot Orion
Included sim content Bundled E6 Connect course content on iOS; Breaking Eighty notes the R10 is the only unit offering Bandon Dunes free on E6 Connect Complimentary E6 Connect package: 5 courses + 1 driving range (Aviara Golf Club, Bandon Dunes, Stone Canyon Club, Sanctuary, Wade Hampton), no subscription. Official page says E6 is 'available on iOS and PC'; Breaking Eighty (2026-03) reports the bundled 5-course license as mobile-only. Full E6 library via optional E6 subscription (third-party cost). E6 integration was broken at the December 2024 launch (PlayBetter) but is documented working in 2026 reviews.
Subscription
Subscription (per year) $100/yr None
Works without subscription All 14 metrics, driving-range mode and third-party sim connections work without a membership; the Garmin Golf membership is only needed for Home Tee Hero course play (43,000+ courses), weekly tournaments, aerial imagery and green contours. Complete without any subscription: 8 metrics on the built-in display with voice output standalone; free Voice Caddie S (VCS) app adds the 3D range, spin axis/sidespin/backspin and dispersion. Only optional spend is expanding the E6 course library (third-party title cost).
Connectivity & apps
Apps iOS, Android iOS, Android
Watch app Garmin watch
Built-in display None LCD readout
Screen mirroring Casting (AirPlay/Chromecast)
Connectivity Bluetooth Bluetooth
Offline mode ✓ Yes
Physical & power
Weight (lb) 0.33 1.3
Dimensions (in) 3.5 x 2.8 x 1.0 4.88 x 7.59 x 1.14 in
Battery life (hours) 10 10
Power source Rechargeable battery Rechargeable battery
Charging port Micro-USB
Alignment App-guided Alignment stand
In the box Approach R10 device, tripod stand, phone mount, carry case, micro-USB cable SC4 Pro launch monitor, magnetic remote control, USB cable, user manual, alignment stand, E6 Connect 5-course license
Warranty
Warranty (months) 12

Buy the Garmin Approach R10

Buy the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro

Keep shopping

Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.

Garmin Approach R10 vs Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro: FAQs

Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro?

The Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro is newer, released in 2024, versus 2021 for the Garmin Approach R10.

Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R10 or the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro?

The Garmin Approach R10 costs $500 and the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro costs $600, making the Garmin Approach R10 $100 cheaper.

Does the Garmin Approach R10 or the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro need a subscription?

Neither — both the Garmin Approach R10 and the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.

What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R10 and the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro?

Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R10 leads on price ($100 cheaper) while the Voice Caddie Swing Caddie SC4 Pro leads on 3-year cost ($200 cheaper over three years).