Garmin Approach R50 vs Square Golf Omni
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Square Golf Omni is the better buy for most people at $2,900 less.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
Garmin Approach R50 and Square Golf Omni sit in overlapping budgets and are cross-shopped for the same setups.
Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…
On recorded specs alone there is no clear reason to pick the Garmin Approach R50 over its rival here — compare the full table below.
Buy the Square Golf Omni if…
- You want to spend $2,900 less ($1,600 vs $4,500)
- You need longer battery life (6 hours vs 4)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 | Square Golf Omni $1,600 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $4,500 | $1,600 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | None | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | — |
| Data points per shot | 16 | 15 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Measured |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Calculated |
| Face to path | Calculated | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Calculated |
| Impact location | Not reported | Measured |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 10 | — |
| Hitting zone | — | 10 x 10 in ready zone; ball must sit in the front half (~5 in depth) for club data (Golf Simulator Videos review) |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | Native |
| E6 Connect support | Supported | Supported |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | Supported |
| TGC 2019 support | No | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) | Square Golf built-in simulator (credit-based course play; 1,000 free credits included) |
| Sim software | [object Object] | — |
| Included sim content | Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). | Built-in simulator with multiple courses and 1,000 free credits included (pay-per-play credits after); third-party sim connectivity carries no extra cost from Square (PlayBetter FAQ). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. | No annual subscription: full ball + club data, built-in display, and third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6 Connect, Awesome Golf) at no extra cost from Square. Built-in simulator course play uses a credit system (1,000 credits included, pay-and-play after). |
| Subscription trial | 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Built-in display | Color touchscreen | LCD readout |
| Screen mirroring | HDMI out | — |
| Connectivity | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 9 | — |
| Dimensions (in) | 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) | 2.8 (W) x 2.4 (D) x 14.2 (H) in with tripod |
| Battery life (hours) | 4 | 6 |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Battery or mains | Rechargeable battery |
| Alignment | — | Manual target line |
| In the box | Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter | launch monitor, tripod stand, Li-ion battery, charger and cables, target line alignment stick, shaft stickers, clubface stickers |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | — |
Buy the Garmin Approach R50
Buy the Square Golf Omni
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Garmin Approach R50 vs Square Golf Omni: FAQs
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R50 or the Square Golf Omni?
The Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500 and the Square Golf Omni costs $1,600, making the Square Golf Omni $2,900 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach R50 or the Square Golf Omni need a subscription?
Neither — both the Garmin Approach R50 and the Square Golf Omni work fully without a subscription, per their recorded subscription models.
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R50 and the Square Golf Omni?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R50 leads on built-in display (Built-in touchscreen) while the Square Golf Omni leads on price ($2,900 cheaper).