Garmin Approach R50 vs Trackman 4
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the Garmin Approach R50 is the better buy for most people at $20,995 less, unless you need tour-grade accuracy.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
What the tour radar costs over an all-in-one consumer studio — the aspirational comparison serious buyers run.
Buy the Garmin Approach R50 if…
- You want to spend $20,995 less ($4,500 vs $25,495)
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the Trackman 4 needs $1,100/yr for full features
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the Trackman 4 measures spin by radar on any ball
- You play GSPro — the Trackman 4 doesn't support it
Buy the Trackman 4 if…
- You want tour-grade accuracy (vs the Garmin Approach R50's game-improvement class)
- You want more genuinely measured ball data (8 of 9 ball metrics measured vs 5)
- You want the lighter carry (6.6 lb vs 9 lb)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | Garmin Approach R50 $4,500 | Trackman 4 $25,495 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $4,500 | $25,495 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Photometric (camera) | Doppler radar |
| Radar type | None | Dual Doppler |
| Camera frame rate (fps) | — | 60 |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Radar (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Tour-grade |
| Data points per shot | 16 | 40 |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Measured |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Measured |
| Descent angle | Not reported | Measured |
| Offline distance | Calculated | — |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Measured |
| Attack angle | Measured | Measured |
| Club path | Measured | Measured |
| Face angle | Measured | Measured |
| Face to path | Calculated | Calculated |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | Measured |
| Impact location | Not reported | Measured |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Behind the ball |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 10 | — |
| Lefty / righty | — | No repositioning |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | No |
| E6 Connect support | Supported | — |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | — |
| TGC 2019 support | No | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | Home Tee Hero (43,000+ courses; Garmin Golf membership required) | Trackman Virtual Golf / Trackman Performance Studio (TPS) |
| Sim software | [object Object] | — |
| Included sim content | Built-in simulator on the 10-inch touchscreen (no PC/tablet needed); driving range, training modes and impact video are free on-device; Home Tee Hero course play requires Garmin Golf membership; third-party titles run via Wi-Fi from a Windows PC and are sold separately (no Garmin membership required). | Shop Indoor Golf in-box list includes 'Trackman Golf Simulator Software (subscription)'; 'Virtual Golf works only with TM4 and TMiO and requires an up-to-date software license.' (shopindoorgolf.com, 2026-09-14) |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $100/yr | $1,100/yr |
| Works without subscription | All launch-monitor metrics, driving range, training modes and high-speed impact video work without membership; third-party sim connections (GSPro, E6, Awesome Golf) do not require Garmin membership. Membership gates Home Tee Hero course play, multiplayer (up to 4), weekly tournaments, cloud video storage and premium analytics. | — |
| Subscription trial | 30-day free trial (Top Shelf Golf) | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | Windows |
| Built-in display | Color touchscreen | — |
| Screen mirroring | HDMI out | — |
| Connectivity | WiFi, Bluetooth, USB-C | WiFi, Micro-USB, Ethernet |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 9 | 6.6 |
| Dimensions (in) | 16.5 x 10.6 x 7.5 in (W x H x D) | 11.8 x 11.8 x 1.8 in |
| Battery life (hours) | 4 | 4 |
| Power source | Battery or mains | Rechargeable battery |
| Alignment | — | Auto-calibration |
| In the box | Approach R50, carrying case, club tracking stickers (250, per Top Shelf Golf), AC adapter | Trackman 4 unit, power cable, Trackman simulator software subscription |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | — |
Buy the Garmin Approach R50
Buy the Trackman 4
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
Garmin Approach R50 vs Trackman 4: FAQs
Which is newer: the Garmin Approach R50 or the Trackman 4?
The Garmin Approach R50 is newer, released in 2024, versus 2016 for the Trackman 4.
Which is cheaper: the Garmin Approach R50 or the Trackman 4?
The Garmin Approach R50 costs $4,500 and the Trackman 4 costs $25,495, making the Garmin Approach R50 $20,995 cheaper.
Does the Garmin Approach R50 or the Trackman 4 need a subscription?
The Trackman 4 needs a subscription for full function ($1,100/yr for full features), while the Garmin Approach R50 works fully without one.
Which measures spin better: the Garmin Approach R50 or the Trackman 4?
The Garmin Approach R50 has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The Garmin Approach R50 measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball. The Trackman 4 measures spin by radar from the ball's flight, on any ball.
What is the main difference between the Garmin Approach R50 and the Trackman 4?
Based on recorded specs, the Garmin Approach R50 leads on price ($20,995 cheaper) while the Trackman 4 leads on accuracy tier (Tour-grade accuracy class).