SkyTrak ST MAX vs TruGolf LaunchBox
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Why SkyTrak ST MAX is better
- Price: $1,304 cheaper (1695 vs 2999)
- Club data access: Club data included (standard vs not_available)
- Weight: 1.0000000000000002 lb lighter (1.7 vs 2.7)
Why TruGolf LaunchBox is better
- Subscription: No subscription needed for full function (Not required vs Required)
- 3-year cost: $496 cheaper over three years (2999 vs 3494.97)
- Sim software: 1 more sim title supported (1 vs 0)
- Environment: Works indoors and outdoors (Indoor + outdoor vs Indoor only)
- Battery life: 2 hours longer battery (6 vs 4)
- Built-in display: Built-in display (lcd_readout vs none)
Specs Comparison
SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695 vs TruGolf LaunchBox $2,999
| Specification | SkyTrak ST MAX $1,695 | TruGolf LaunchBox $2,999 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $1,695 | $2,999 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Dual Doppler | None |
| Spin measurement | Optical (any ball) | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | Not required | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Not reported |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | — |
| Attack angle | Not reported | Not reported |
| Club path | Measured | Not reported |
| Face angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | Not reported | — |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | — |
| Club data unlock | Included | Not available |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor only | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Beside the ball | Beside the ball |
| Min room depth (ft) | 12 | — |
| Min room width (ft) | 12 | — |
| Ceiling height (ft) | 9 | — |
| Hitting zone | ~4 x 4 in (ball placement zone, skytrakgolf.com) | 4 x 8 in ready zone (2 in nearest the unit is the tee area) |
| Lefty / righty | Repositioning required | — |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | No | No |
| E6 Connect support | No | Native |
| TGC 2019 support | No | — |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | SkyTrak Course Play (Foresight and Trackman licensed course packs inside the SkyTrak app; 95+ courses on Elite) | E6 CONNECT (TruGolf's own title; 27-course E6 CONNECT Home license included) |
| Included sim content | Shop Indoor Golf: 'The ST MAX only integrates with SkyTrak Golf Simulator Software!' SkyTrak officially dropped third-party support (GSPro, E6 Connect) for new customers in 2025-26; existing SkyTrak+ owners were grandfathered, but a new ST MAX buyer gets first-party software only (Breaking Eighty). GSPro's official supported list carries no SkyTrak model and its FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported. TGC2019 retail listing: 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+'. FSX Play is Foresight-hardware-only; the Core: Foresight membership licenses Foresight COURSES inside SkyTrak's own software, not FSX. 14-day trial of Sweetens Cove course play included; End of Summer Sale bundled 1 year of Core membership free. | E6 CONNECT Home product key (PC + iOS) with 27 owned courses, multiple game modes and driving/chipping/putting ranges included; $3,499 Premium package adds Pebble Beach, Oakmont and St Andrews. Optional paid upgrades to premium courses / E6 2026. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $600/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | Free Basic plan: SkyTrak Driving Range with ball and club data, Sim Club membership and PinSeeker access ('You can use SKYTRAK at a minimal level without a membership' - skytrakgolf.com FAQ). Course play and the improvement suites require a paid tier. | No subscription required: full ball data on the built-in e-ink screen plus the included 27-course E6 CONNECT Home license ('No Subscription Fees' / 'no Annual Subscription Required' - Shop Indoor Golf). Optional paid E6 upgrades unlock premium courses, skill challenges and online tournaments. |
| Subscription trial | 14-day trial access to play Sweetens Cove plus improvement features; End of Summer Sale included 1 year free Core (Foresight) membership | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows, macOS | iOS, Windows |
| Watch app | None | — |
| Built-in display | None | LCD readout |
| Connectivity | WiFi, USB-C | WiFi, USB-C, Ethernet |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 1.7 | 2.7 |
| Dimensions (in) | 6.875 H x 5.75 W x 2.5 D in | 9.53 x 7 x 5 in |
| Battery life (hours) | 4 | 6 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Battery or mains |
| Charging port | USB-C | USB-C |
| Alignment | Manual target line | Auto-calibration |
| In the box | — | LaunchBox, power cord, power adapter, battery pack, USB-C cable, HDMI cable, E6 CONNECT Home product key (27 courses) |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 6 | — |
Buy the SkyTrak ST MAX
Buy the TruGolf LaunchBox
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.