Blue Tees Rainmaker vs Square Golf Launch Monitor
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
Why Blue Tees Rainmaker is better
- Price: $199 cheaper (499.98 vs 699)
- Environment: Works indoors and outdoors (Indoor + outdoor vs Indoor only)
- Lefty / righty: No repositioning for left-handers (no_reposition vs reposition_required)
- Built-in display: Built-in display (lcd_readout vs none)
Why Square Golf Launch Monitor is better
- 3-year cost: $38 cheaper over three years (699 vs 736.98)
- Spin measurement: Measured spin (with marked balls) (Measured spin (with marked balls) vs Estimated spin)
- Measured ball data: 5 of 9 ball metrics measured (vs 3) (5 vs 3)
- Measured club data: 3 of 5 club metrics measured (vs 1) (3 vs 1)
- GSPro support: GSPro: native (Native vs Supported)
- Sim software: 1 more sim title supported (3 vs 2)
- Battery life: 2 hours longer battery (8 vs 6)
Specs Comparison
Blue Tees Rainmaker $500 vs Square Golf Launch Monitor $699
| Specification | Blue Tees Rainmaker $500 | Square Golf Launch Monitor $699 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $500 | $699 |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Doppler radar | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | None |
| Spin measurement | Estimated | Marked balls only |
| Marked balls | Titleist RCT balls | — |
| Accuracy tier | Game-improvement | Game-improvement |
| Data points per shot | 20 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Spin axis | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Carry distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Calculated | Calculated |
| Descent angle | Calculated | Not reported |
| Offline distance | Calculated | — |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Not reported |
| Attack angle | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Club path | Calculated | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face angle | Not reported | Measured (marked ball) |
| Face to path | — | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | — | Measured (marked ball) |
| Impact location | Not reported | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Not reported |
| Club data unlock | Included | Included |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor only |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Beside the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 5 | — |
| Hitting zone | — | 5.9 x 5.9 in (15 x 15 cm) |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Supported | Native |
| E6 Connect support | Supported | Native |
| Awesome Golf support | No | Supported |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | LAUNCH 3D Range | Square Golf app (credit-based course play, free range) |
| Included sim content | E6 Connect promotional offer included in box (Shop Indoor Golf listing). Blue Tees' own full-course simulation is planned 'as part of a future membership package later in 2026' - not live as of 2026-09-14. | Square Golf app with 1,000 welcome credits (~55+ solo rounds; 1 credit per hole per golfer, refills from ~$0.02/credit, under $1/round) and free driving range, closest-to-pin, putting practice and game modes. Course count claims differ: PlayBetter's product page lists '10 ultra-realistic courses with 10 more coming soon' while Golfible (2025-11) counts 16 courses, all fictional. GSPro, E6 Connect and Awesome Golf connect via free official plug-ins with no device-side fee (titles sold separately). |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | $79/yr | None |
| Works without subscription | Standalone without membership: 13 on-device metrics on the 4.3-in display, 1,000-shot onboard storage, Practice / Target Distance / Swing Speed modes, magnetic remote, multiplayer - no phone required. Third-party sim integrations are stated to come without extra fees (Shop Indoor Golf). First year of the $79.99 AI/analytics membership is included with purchase. | No subscription exists: full ball/club data, driving range and third-party sim plug-ins (GSPro/E6/Awesome Golf) are free with the device. First-party course play uses one-time consumable credits instead of a subscription - 1,000 included, ~55+ solo rounds, refills under $1 per round. |
| Subscription trial | 1-year AI/analytics membership ($79.99 value) included with purchase | — |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android | iOS, Android, Windows |
| Built-in display | LCD readout | None |
| Connectivity | — | Bluetooth |
| Offline mode | ✓ Yes | — |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 1.59 | — |
| Dimensions (in) | 9.0 x 5.2 x 1.3 in | 7.5 x 2.8 x 2.8 in (19 x 7 x 7 cm) |
| Battery life (hours) | 6 | 8 |
| Removable battery | — | ✓ Yes |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Charging port | USB-C | — |
| Alignment | — | App-guided |
| In the box | protective carry case, USB-C charging cable, magnetic remote, quick start guide, E6 Connect promotional offer | Square Golf launch monitor, swing stick (70 cm), 3 dotted marking balls, club shaft marking stickers (20), remote control with li-ion battery, removable li-ion battery |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | — | 24 |
Buy the Blue Tees Rainmaker
Buy the Square Golf Launch Monitor
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
Blue Tees Rainmaker Blue Tees
Full specs & prices Square Golf Launch Monitor Square Golf
Full specs & prices
More ways to decide
Best Golf Launch Monitors Under $2,000 Ranked picks by use case Best Budget Golf Launch Monitors Ranked picks by use case Blue Tees Rainmaker vs Garmin Approach R10 Blue Tees vs Garmin Square Golf Launch Monitor vs Garmin Approach R10 Square Golf vs Garmin Square Golf Launch Monitor vs Rapsodo MLM2PRO Square Golf vs Rapsodo