FlightScope Mevo+ vs SkyTrak (original)
Side-by-side comparison of specs, features, and pricing
Specs updated
The SkyTrak (original) compared here is the original — the SkyTrak+ has succeeded it.
SkyTrak (original)
SkyTrak
Which should you buy?
Bottom line: the FlightScope Mevo+ is the better buy for most people, unless you need camera-measured spin on any ball.
We may earn a commission on purchases made through links on this page.
The classic home-sim matchup of the early 2020s; both now discontinued but heavily cross-shopped used.
Buy the FlightScope Mevo+ if…
- You don't want a subscription — it works fully without one, while the SkyTrak needs a subscription for full features
- You want club head data at all — the SkyTrak doesn't offer it
- You play GSPro — the SkyTrak doesn't support it
- You want more sim software choices (4 of the 5 major titles vs 0)
Buy the SkyTrak if…
- You want trustworthy spin — it measures spin optically on any ball, while the FlightScope Mevo+ measures spin outdoors but needs RCT balls or stickers indoors
- You need longer battery life (5 hours vs 3)
Verdict generated from the recorded spec differences shown in the table below — when a spec is missing for either product, it is left out rather than guessed.
Specs Comparison
| Specification | FlightScope Mevo+ $1,099 | SkyTrak |
|---|---|---|
| Price | ||
| Price | $1,099 | — |
| Measurement | ||
| Tracking technology | Radar + camera fusion | Photometric (camera) |
| Radar type | Single Doppler | None |
| Spin measurement | Radar outdoors; marked balls indoors | Optical (any ball) |
| Marked balls | RCT balls or stickers | Not required |
| Accuracy tier | Simulator-grade | Simulator-grade |
| Data points per shot | 20 | — |
| Ball data | ||
| Ball speed | Measured | Measured |
| Launch angle | Measured | Measured |
| Launch direction | Measured | Measured |
| Spin rate | Measured | Measured |
| Spin axis | Measured | Measured |
| Carry distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Total distance | Calculated | Calculated |
| Apex height | Measured | Calculated |
| Descent angle | — | Calculated |
| Offline distance | Measured | Calculated |
| Club data | ||
| Club speed | Measured | Calculated |
| Attack angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Club path | Measured | Not reported |
| Face angle | Measured | Not reported |
| Face to path | Measured | Not reported |
| Dynamic loft | — | Not reported |
| Impact location | Measured (marked ball) | Not reported |
| Smash factor | Calculated | Calculated |
| Club data unlock | Basics included; full set paid ($1,499) | Not available |
| Space & environment | ||
| Environment | Indoor + outdoor | Indoor + outdoor |
| Placement | Behind the ball | Beside the ball |
| Setback (ft) | 7 | — |
| Min ball flight (ft) | 8 | — |
| Lefty / righty | No repositioning | Repositioning required |
| Installation | None (portable) | None (portable) |
| Sim software | ||
| Simulator capable | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes |
| GSPro support | Native | No |
| E6 Connect support | Supported | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| Awesome Golf support | Supported | — |
| TGC 2019 support | Supported | Dropped (legacy users only) |
| FSX Play support | No | No |
| First-party software | FS Golf | SkyTrak app practice range and course play (legacy Game Improvement / Play & Improve packages) |
| Sim software | Creative Golf 3D | — |
| Included sim content | Exclusive 12-course E6 Connect license (iOS & PC) included - Pebble Beach, Old Course St Andrews, Bethpage Black, Bay Hill, Harbour Town, The Greenbrier, The Belfry, Banff Springs, Panther Lake, Wade Hampton, Oslo GC, Aviara - plus 17 ranges and a mini game, 'no additional license fee or subscription required' (flightscope.com, 2026-09-14). | Historical third-party lineup (MyGolfSimulator): The Golf Club 2019, E6 Connect, Creative Golf 3D, World Golf Tour (iOS), Fitness Golf, ProTee Play. Current state 2026: TGC2019's retail listing says 'Not compatible with SkyTrak or SkyTrak+', SkyTrak family third-party support (E6, GSPro) was dropped for new customers in 2025-26 with existing connections grandfathered (Breaking Eighty), and GSPro was never officially supported ('I don't believe you can use Skytrak with the GS Pro software program' - MyGolfSimulator; GSPro's FAQ names SkyTrak as unsupported). Whether legacy Creative Golf 3D/ProTee connections still function is unverified. |
| Subscription | ||
| Subscription (per year) | None | From $100/yr |
| Works without subscription | Core data will 'always be available free of charge without a subscription fee'; firmware/software updates free. Optional one-time paid upgrades: Pro Package, Face Impact Location, Badger AI, Planning Tool (flightscope.com, 2026-09-14). | Basic practice range with full shot data works without a plan; course play and game-improvement features historically required a paid package (the author 'pays just under $100 a year for the Game Improvement Package' - MyGolfSimulator). |
| Connectivity & apps | ||
| Apps | iOS, Android, Windows | iOS, Windows |
| Built-in display | None | — |
| Connectivity | WiFi | WiFi |
| Physical & power | ||
| Weight (lb) | 1 | — |
| Dimensions (in) | 6.8 x 1.2 x 4.6 in | — |
| Battery life (hours) | 3 | 5 |
| Power source | Rechargeable battery | Rechargeable battery |
| Alignment | App-guided | — |
| In the box | 100 aluminum metallic spin stickers, USB charging cable, power adapter, 12-course E6 Connect license | — |
| Warranty | ||
| Warranty (months) | 12 | 6 |
Buy the FlightScope Mevo+
SkyTrak (original) availability
Keep shopping
Jump straight to full specs and where to buy either model, or keep exploring related picks.
More ways to decide
All SkyTrak vs FlightScope comparisons
FlightScope Mevo+ vs SkyTrak (original): FAQs
Which is newer: the FlightScope Mevo+ or the SkyTrak (original)?
The FlightScope Mevo+ is newer, released in 2020, versus 2014 for the SkyTrak (original).
Does the FlightScope Mevo+ or the SkyTrak (original) need a subscription?
The SkyTrak (original) needs a subscription for full function, while the FlightScope Mevo+ works fully without one.
Which measures spin better: the FlightScope Mevo+ or the SkyTrak (original)?
The SkyTrak (original) has the stronger recorded spin mechanism. The FlightScope Mevo+ measures spin by radar outdoors with full ball flight; indoors it needs RCT balls or stickers for measured spin. The SkyTrak (original) measures spin optically with its cameras, on any ball.
What is the main difference between the FlightScope Mevo+ and the SkyTrak (original)?
Based on recorded specs, the FlightScope Mevo+ leads on subscription (No subscription needed for full function) while the SkyTrak (original) leads on spin measurement (Camera-measured spin on any ball).